We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review from a Mancunion”
Review of Kathmandu Palace

Kathmandu Palace
Ranked #4 of 175 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted in the 20 top Curry restaurants in the UK. You will find the Kathmandu in the shadow of the Cathedral in the heart of Truro. A cosy and relaxed establishment in Truro, the Kathmandu is hosted by charismatic and friendly hosts Raj and his family. Fresh herbs and ingredients are used to ensure the best curry experience, so that you can enjoy eating healthier and exotic Nepalese flavours. As a result the mouthwatering dishes are a lot lighter and more subtle than traditional Indian fayre.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Review from a Mancunion”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Coming from Manchester I've had my fair share of curries from the famous curry mile in Rusholme. None, however, come close to the quality of food you will find at Kathmandu Palace, the service was excellent, the staff pleasant and friendly, go and check it out if you're in Truro. Tonight I had the Kukhura ko Tarkari and it was absolutely delightful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    112
    40
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, tasty”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant again this evening. The welcome was warm and friendly and the food was fantastic. Would defiantly recommend a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyluju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sonny is a legend”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

After discovering Kathmandu we have never searched for another takeaway restaurant. The staff are pleasant and remember you as a customer - making the whole experience a little more personal. You feel genuinely valued as a customer. The food is delicious and you cannot help but say "mmmmm" as you take each mouthful. The flavours are distinct and yet delicate. A definite must-try restaurant for locals and tourists alike. Thankyou all for years of tasty eating.
J.Martin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonjandJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what's all the fuss about!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Average food, service was ok but we've had better and the atmosphere was ok too but nothing special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfhappy765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely welcome and lovely food - A must visit.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went to the restuarant anfter reading the reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. We turned up at 10:45 and were a little worried that we might be too late. We were welcomed in and shown to a table. The staff were fantastic and made us feel very welcome. I was undecided as to what to have, so the owner made up my mind for me and it was great.

My partner had lamb jalfrezi. I normally streer away from Lamb as I find it bit fatty, but this was out of this world. No fat and still pink in the middle, fantastic. If we go back, I'm ordering the lamb.

And you must try the Nann Bread. Light as a feather.

If you like curries, this is a restaurant you really should visit if you have the chance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobamorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Palace also viewed

Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Kathmandu Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing