We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection on a Plate”
Review of Kathmandu Palace

Kathmandu Palace
Ranked #5 of 177 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Voted in the 20 top Curry restaurants in the UK. You will find the Kathmandu in the shadow of the Cathedral in the heart of Truro. A cosy and relaxed establishment in Truro, the Kathmandu is hosted by charismatic and friendly hosts Raj and his family. Fresh herbs and ingredients are used to ensure the best curry experience, so that you can enjoy eating healthier and exotic Nepalese flavours. As a result the mouthwatering dishes are a lot lighter and more subtle than traditional Indian fayre.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection on a Plate”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I consider myself well travelled and I love my food. Kathmandu palace serve the best I have ever tasted. Firstly all the staff are welcoming and friendly. The food arrives quickly after you have ordered. It looks and smells great and tastes fantastic. My wifes family came to Truro for a family event and totally agreed with me. All eight of them had different dishes and said they loved every mouthful. PersonallyI can highly recommend the lamb balti. It has the perfect combination of flavour and passion that all good food should have. It has now become a weekly treat for me. I can't recomend it highly enough. Has to be tried to be believed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    115
    41
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Simply one of the best restaurants you could find!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I first visited this wonderful restaurant with my husband about six months ago, and we have been coming back regularly ever since ! The food is outstanding and the quality of service is fantastic. Every time we go, it is busy and the atmosphere is buzzing! Prices are incredibly reasonable too! It is one of our most favourite places to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geniussue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Little Find”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Really enjoyed the evening here. Great welcome and hosting combined with the best curry I have had in Truro. What more could you ask for? Fresh and fragrant dishes, relaxed and genuinely funny staff and all for a price that I will be happy to go back and pay again. Five of us had a beer, poppadoms, starter and main for less than £20 each... happy days.
Thank you.... we will be back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neptuneshorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So welcoming”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Got to be the best restaurant in the South West. Raj and his lovely team are so welcoming and they make the BEST food, especially the butter chicken. Would definately recommend a visit :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucyluju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visiting from St Austell”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Been past this place soooo many times, and finally gave in to the beguiling aromas spilling out of the street. We were not disapointed! Great food, and really friendly service - all that's needed for a lovely evening :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jellyjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Palace also viewed

Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Kathmandu Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing