We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More a Homestay than a B&B.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Truro Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truro Lodge
Ranked #11 of 38 Truro B&B and Inns
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More a Homestay than a B&B.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

"Staying at Rob and Moyra's house" basically sums up what happens when you book in at the Truro Lodge. I had a Xmas works do and it was cheaper to stay the night than get a taxi back home to St Agnes. What a great choice I made. Instead of getting ripped off by some grumpy taxi driver I was made to feel at home from the moment I arrived until i'd finished helping myself to breakfast in the lovely kitchen. Great value, loads of character, great location and very welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GilesinKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we chose Truro Lodge for 2 nights whilst exploring Cornwall. Anyone who has travelled will know a great value place when they find it and this is one of them! Run by a lovely couple who provided local information the house is typically British whilst also being functionally sound. Nice size room with TV and clean bedding, great shower and large bathrooms (2 to choose from), old style kitchen with all equipment needed and a free start up breakfast thrown in. Only downside is the lack of parking, but all guests seemed to manage and helped each other out. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend, especially for the £'s..Many thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Truro Lodge was a wonderful find for part of a choir singing the services at Truro Cathedral for a week. We were made to feel so welcome that it really did feel a "home from home." There were eight adults and three children in our group, with so much space that we never felt we were falling over each other. The country-style kitchen was a delight and it was great to be able to use it when we liked, particularly with the children in the group.
With free wireless, good showers and comfortable rooms, plus the close proximity to the centre of town, it would be hard (nay, impossible) to find anything which comes near Truro Lodge in terms of comfort, welcome and value for money.
Finally, as someone else has said, Truro Lodge possesses a "quirky" character which makes the stay even more memorable and fun. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maldontraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I came Truro with six friend to celebrate a sixtieth birthday. The booking was done by a third party. What a result. I love this place. It is quirky and excellent. Rob is so laid back he resembles the property. Clean, marvellous hot showers and enough breakfast to start the day. Free wireless and easy proximity to the City. £28 for a single and £35 for a double (negotiated) just great.

Room Tip: I had the twin room on the ground floor. This building is Victorian terrace that has been left, as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireDickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob N, Owner at Truro Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thanks for the review Guys, but you paid £40 for the twin/double. I'm not that laid back!

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is by far one of my favourite BnB's I've ever been to!
The house is a cozy little dream with vintage and shabby chic interior. The kitchen is sweet and available to use any time. There is no typical "BnB breakfast" where food is served to you but you can have toast, preserves and everything else by yourself - you can even cook yourself an egg. We liked this idea a lot, as it makes for a much more flexible dayplanning.
The room and bathrooms are clean and wonderfully decorated. It's very quiet so you sleep well.
The owners are very friendly and helpful and were patient with us even though we were a bit chaotic with everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Absolutly perfect easy to find thanks to robs text directions great for a quick overniter for hfc friendly hosts warm comfortable beds lovely kitchen great bathrooms cheap price couldn't have had a nicer time cheers rob

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lustforlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great place to stay I stayed there on the easter weekend and rob & moyra where very pleasant with some hotels with managers have been unsociable but this hotel/lodge very social I will definitely come back again! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomw112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.3 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Donnington Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truro Lodge

Property: Truro Lodge
Address: 10 The Parade, Truro TR1 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade ll listed Georgian townhouse. A few minutes walk from City centre, close to shops restaurants and pubs. Parking available. Close to a river walk and Boscawen park. Small family run business, with homely atmosphere. Very close to Hall For Cornwall and Truro cathedral. Public services close by. Five minutes from bus station and fifteen minutes from Truro railway station. Enterprise boats just around the corner for a trip down the river Fal, to Falmouth and St Mawes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truro Lodge Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing