We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and very welcoming staff”
Review of The Riverbank

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Riverbank
Ranked #13 of 19 Truro B&B and Inns
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, and very welcoming staff”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed just the one night, very comfortable room. Good food on offer, with very friendly and helpfully staff.
Give them a go, it's only been going for three months so things can only get better. Will certainly be back, and that's the best recommendation possible from us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iant_infleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
12
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just had a long weekend at the Riverbank. Very nice rooms - spacious, clean and modern. All the staff were friendly, welcoming and very accomodating. The new owners have already made some great improvements, without spoiling the style and atmosphere. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is perfectly placed for the town and cathedral. Definitely recommend this small & friendly hotel as a great base for a long weekend in Cornwall

Room Tip: Room 4 has a nice view towards the Cathedral and the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stopped for one night for work. The room was nice, a good size, with a comfortable bed, flat screen tv and good shower. There is a lovely view from the window of beautiful church. The downside would be the the pub below is open till 11pm, and even on a very quite Monday night they still had music on which came up into the bedrooms, it was also a bit too warm - and I couldn't figure our how to turn the heating down. The food at the bar was ok, dinner was decent and reasonably priced, breakfast was a bit average.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi_abroad186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This small hotel is ideally placed for anyone wanting to visit Truro for shopping or sightseeing. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have good amenities. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar is spacious and the food menu offers something for every taste. There is a small amount of parking nearby and most of the city of Truro's attractions are close by. The Cathedral is next door to the hotel and the shopping area is only a short distance away.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here at short notice as Truro was very busy, got a double room and was only charged the single rate. The food in the Bar/ Restuarantwas the best I've ever had in Truro and I've visited the Town a lot. The rooms were spacious and stylish. Not sure about the comments I've seen here about noise from the Bar but then again I didn't leave it until it shut anyway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Booked this over a month ago, and when we arrived the place was closed for a private party!
Decided we would stay anyway but the noise was so dreadful, so checked into another hotel at 10.30pm!
Such a shame the management did not think to email us and save us the inconvenience, and them the cost

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingtutLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel was in a very central location in Truro. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was a little disappointed in the hotel, more like rooms over a bar/restaurant. Although the room was a good size and clean ( the bathroom had a terrible smell though) I couldn't quite put my finger on what was wrong. Breakfast was freshly cooked but I didn't like the veggie sausages, with only 3 choices of cereal (in the child size boxes) it could have been better. The staff made up for the disappointment of the hotel overall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.1 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pontac House Hotel
The Pontac House Hotel
#2 of 3 in St. Clement
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
The City Inn
#12 of 19 in Truro
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverbank

Property: The Riverbank
Address: Old Bridge Street, Truro TR1 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the cathedral in the heart of Truro is the Riverbank- now with the addition of an eight bedroom boutique hotel and completely refurbished licensed bar and restaurant, offering local, freshly cooked food. Each completely refurbished room is finished to a high contemporary standard. Single, double and twin occupancy available.We believe excellent service is paramount and endevour to provide the best level possible to each and every guest that comes through our doors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Riverbank Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing