We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find the Granary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cornish Barn Holidays at Higher Grenna Farm
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a find the Granary”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I were so happy we found this gem of a cottage. It was luxuriously cosy, warm, comfortable and had everything we needed for a perfect holiday. The views and surroundings were stunning.
The bed was comfortable and the deco very tasteful. Julie was so helpful from start to finish and made our stay special with the added extra touches. We appreciated alot that Julie went to the trouble of finding out dates and times for all the local bonfires/fireworks for us.

We left feeling relaxed and very happy. We already want to go back. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit Cornwall to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Cornish Barn holidays also runs another nearby property known as The Snug. We stayed for three weeks recently and could happily have stayed another three.
It is a small cottage in the grounds of a house, surrounded by the most beautiful gardens. Squirrels and rabbits ran amongst the bluebells. A flock of white doves settled on the lawns each day, and a field carpeted with primroses gave us huge joy.
The cottage is so well equipped and attractively furnished. There is one double bedroom, but also a pull out sofa-bed. All the linen and towels are very good quality, and the bed was made up reeady for occupation. A gas fire means that if the evenings turn chilly there is always warmth. The kitchen has everything one needs, with cooker, fridge and microwave.
If there is one thing I would change, it would be to add a shower in the bathroom.
Other than that it is a perfect little jewel of a holiday cottage, with a helpful owner who lives in the main house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddythePlod, Owner at Cornish Barn Holidays at Higher Grenna Farm, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
16/03/13 Just to let everyone know, that we now have a shower in The Snug bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at The Granary for a week and found it to be the best self catering property that we have stayed at in Cornwall. We have previously stayed at Roundhouse Barn which has been voted the best self catering cottages in Cornwall but after this holiday we would have to disagree and believe that The Granary deserves the title by far. If you want a relaxing break but are only 15 minutes from both Truro and Falmouth you need look no further. The attention to detail cannot be faulted in any way

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoldfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights; choosing The Granary in order to be within 20 minutes' driving distance of family in Truro. We were hoping for a peaceful spot - and were delighted with every aspect of this superb conversion. In harmony with its rolling countryside surroundings, The Granary is warm, comfortable, luxurious contemporary accommodation. A sensibility is apparent in the overall design - both artistic and practical - and in the welcoming touches: fresh daffodil arrangement on the table to greet us; Cornish cream tea ingredients with baker's scones and a generous dollop of the best raspberry jam; locally-produced biscuits were a generous addition. The owner's own painting artwork on the wall. Oak woodwork and natural stone abound. Open views from all rooms. Thoughtful selection of coat hangers incuding clip types for skirts in the cleverly concealed utility area. The large tiled bathroom pleasantly warm even in the coldest weather. All combine to convey an original sense of place and purpose. My husband used the washing machine once; I cooked simply in the spotless kitchen. It was a haven to return to each evening. We ate one evening in the local Perranwell pub - that too was a warming and welcoming experience on a very cold night. I liked best the warmth and overall ambience of The Granary. I liked least ? I can't honestly think!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terroir12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbards, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This is a hidden gem ! A beautiful large livingroom looking out over the fields. A kitchen that includes every appliance, utensil and condiment that you could ever dream of using. The bathroom with a heated floor, huge tub, walkin shower with double heads and all linens and lotions included. WOW !!! We could have stayed forever. Julia has definately done an exceptional job of providing a warm and cozy retreat. The cream tea on arrival was a delicious surprise !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foulis-fp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Was looking for a solo getaway. Just wanted to find a quiet place, to rest, read, sleep and really found what I was looking for here.
Spent most of the time relaxing on the chez longe and looking out over the fields.
Place was really well furnished, all open plan. Kitchen had first class everything. Very warm and cosy. Easy to be totally with yourself and at rest but I also imagine would be perfect to be there with someone special or a small family. Truro and Falmouth are fairly close if you want a bit of life and the local pub in the local village (10 mins walk) is very very friendly.
The host, Julie is very helpful and friendly, could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The accommodation was first class, the location was perfect, peaceful with beautiful countryside views. Yet close to many lovely beaches, gardens and attractions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
3.9 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#3 of 4 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 4 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norway Inn
Norway Inn
#1 of 2 in Perranarworthal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornish Barn Holidays at Higher Grenna Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornish Barn Holidays at Higher Grenna Farm

Property: Cornish Barn Holidays at Higher Grenna Farm
Address: Higher Grenna Farm Silver Hill | Perranwell, Truro TR3 7LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Truro
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A perfect place to unwind" total privacy and restful surroundings, Cornish Barn Holidays offer high quality accommodation for couples in either of our three tasfully converted barns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornish Barn Holidays At Higher Grenna Farm Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing