We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the reviews!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chycara House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chycara House
Ranked #1 of 36 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than the reviews!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Having read some of the reviews we expected it to be good, but all expectations were exceeded! The reception by Linda was very friendly and the whole experience was "homely". Chycara is more of a home than a B&B and we can wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who enjoys peace and quiet, and fantastic breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    49
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
142
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

A B&B you will want to return to. A warm and friendly welcome, perfectly cooked breakfast, close to the coast to coast cycle route, the unbeatable bonus of a heated indoor swimming pool to relax in at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonGillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This has to be Cornwalls best kept secret. A b&b where you can have a pleasant swim or sauna or simply wander somewhere remote( yet only four miles from bustling Truro).
Both Linda & David excell in giving a warm welcome to there beautiful home. You feel like one of the family as you sit round the breakfast table, as the food is brought to you. Even in the evening tea or coffee is served either indoors or their delightful patteo. We are so very pleased we managed to get in. Sadly we could only do three days here this time ,but have prommissed ourselves we must get back . There are a couple of places to eat at, or places to visit nearby. Another lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We arrived on 10th July 2011 late afternoon. As our caption above reads we found Chycara poetic, peaceful, charming and with both host and hostess exceptionally obliging in all we required. Excellent service and meals ensured we stayed an additional day and night. Our Sincere Thanks to David and Linda with our appreciation expressed in this poem. "Chycara"

"Chycara"
David and Linda, you touched both our hearts
At your haven near Truro, oh, where do we start?

We start at “Chycara” down Cornwall way
Where a magic is made at the close of the day;
To walk through your woods, we found was a must,
With Mother Nature nurturing all she would trust.

Revealing her presence, essentially the essence
Of a peace near sacred, a simple transcendence
Transforming spirits so spent by the fray
So fraught with deeds deemed urgent each day.

Comforting our souls, silently, with care,
As leaf laden boughs caress the still air;
With barely a movement mauve colours cascade
From flowers ensuring more magic is made.

To pause and to listen; for us it did seem
Our minds became mindful of a new wistful dream;
For dancing in gold in deep glistening glades
Were white spotted deer dappled by shades

Of shimmering sunlight flickering through branches,
Enhancing dark contrasts challenging our chances
Of spying two badgers outside their sett;
And scarcely moving, for there’s more for us yet.

Small squirrels scamper scurrying up trees;
Alert white tailed rabbits seek scent on the breeze;
And birds twitter quietly as darkness descends
Still gurgling the brook babbles a peace which transcends
Nature so green to your “Chycara” serene!

“Chycara” … Doug Morris 10072011 © All Rights Reserved July 2011


In July of 2011 Doug and Gina from Australia toured Southwest England.
They stayed two days and nights in the magical haven of “Chycara”
near Truro, Cornwall, United Kingdom. Both Doug and Gina found their stay to be delightful, with hosts David and Linda warm and welcoming. “Chycara” inspired the Poem above.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doug m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here in September when it was my birthday, there were lots of us and we managed to secure two cottages which over looiked the grounds and an adylic lake. We had a fab stay, we used all the facilities incluing the hot tub and the inddor heated pool, everything was really nice and clean and the owners were very welcoming! Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remich, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Chycara House isn't a B&B like most of the others. This is much more. We booked the Garden Lodge and we got nearly a complete house with all facilities you can imagine. Welcome was warm. And then we went trough the garden ... It is really a pleasure to walk around and each time we came back to the lodge we said "isn't this amazing". We had to look for our breakfast ourselves, but this wasn't really a disadvantange. There is a Spar not far from the B&B and the lodge offers a complete kitchen. We enjoyed the swimming pool. Thanks a lot for everything, Linda and David. We can strongly recommend your B&B! And of course we hope coming back on our next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in the House for B/B. Accommodation was very comfortable and homely. The welcome was warm and inviting. Nothing was too much trouble in order to put us at ease.
Breakfast was of a high quality offering a range of options. The grounds are superb to wander around and to just sit and muse. We loved the setting and will return. It was well placed for comparatively short trips to most of the popular holiday spots. After a day out it was always refreshing to return to Chycara.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barmar023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
3.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
800 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
702 reviews
3.0 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
421 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
565 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 36 in Truro
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chycara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chycara House

Property: Chycara House
Address: Chycara House Quenchwell | Carnon Downs, Truro TR3 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chycara House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chycara offers bed & breakfast and self catering lodges, with extensive leisure facilities, which include an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, sauna and tennis court. This beautiful country house is set in 16 acres of outstanding picturesque gardens and woodland, this is an oasis in which to relax. Our aim is to make guests feel they're staying in a friend's house by creating a comfortable and informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chycara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chycara House Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing