We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly”
Review of One Eyed Cat - CLOSED

One Eyed Cat
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A totally refurbished stunning 19th Century chapel is the home to One Eyed Cat. We're on two floors of this amazing piece of architecture, combining all the grandeur of the original building including its stained glass windows with modern contemporary design and furniture.
exeter
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“So friendly”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked this for my daughters birthday celebration. On arrival they had decorated the table with balloons and greeted my daughter with a complimentary drink. I thought this was a nice touch. The menu is varied, with a good choice. Our waitress for the evening was Jade, and her pleasant friendly personality made our night. We choose from the menu and was informed of the specials available. We had an excellent meal, finished with a baileys coffee recommended by Jade.all in all an excellent night. will be returning and we do not live in Truro.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    69
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Xmas shopping made bearable”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Was dragged into Truro by my wife to do our annual shop.
Went here for lunch and we didnt get any further. Great food, warm welcome. Promise to self to go there again soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yammyr6, Owner at One Eyed Cat, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We're delighted we made the shopping bearable! Glad you spent some time with us and enjoyed the experience. Happy New Year, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Once Again A Great Night Out”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's always great to go to the 'Cat'. Went last night for dinner and to see in 2014. Food was really good, the staff attentive and helpful. Thank you very much for a great night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weeterwomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yammyr6, Owner at One Eyed Cat, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for such a glowing review, it is v much appreciated. Happy New Year and good wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A birthday treat”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My friend and i went shopping on truro on my birthday and she suprised me with taking me to the one eyed cat. when we arrived we were greeted by staff and seated immediately. there was a fairly good choice on the main menu but we both chose the pulled pork and appleslaw chiabatta bread, i loved that everything was cooked to order so everything was warm and fresh when you got it. This is probably the best dinner i had had in a long time and would definately be back again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yammyr6, Owner at One Eyed Cat, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Happy birthday from the team!! We're delighted you enjoyed your surprise visit with your chum.
Thank you v much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor . We wish you a Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Found this restaurant on tripadvisor and decided to give it a try.

Walked in the door and had a very warm welcome from two members of the team. We were shown to a table and drinks ordered and brought to the table.

Ordered fish of the day and pulled pork which was superb. Great quality food, good sized portions and very tasty.

The staff and service was excellent. All the staff appear to be trained to a very high standard and that was really reflected in the experience. What a difference that makes to be treated well by the waiting staff. Well done One Eye Cat and individual thanks must go to Loz our waitress. An excellent example of how customer service should be delivered - well done!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justice_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yammyr6, Owner at One Eyed Cat, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I'm glad you found us through Tripadvisor, and we are delighted that you had a great all round experience at The Cat. Many thanks for the visit and the review. Happy Xmas and a prosperous 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Eyed Cat also viewed

 
Truro, Truro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing