We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious eating experience”
Review of Bustophers Bar Bistro - CLOSED

Bustophers Bar Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Cape Cod meets Cornwall is how we'd describe this city centre Cornish bistro which is renowned for its progressive and seasonal modern British menu. Decorated in stylish rustic colours with minimalistic hardwood furniture, a zinc-topped bar and a glass-roofed atrium, Bustopher's Bar Bistro is a cosy family-run venue that is a hit with both Truro locals and visiting gourmands alike. The kitchen specialises in creating bold dishes from Cornish produce and simple British traditions, and the wine list here is excellent. Popular dishes include the seared tuna steak with a warm side of sugar snap peas, cherry tomatoes and spinach with sauce vierge; the bowl of River Fal mussels; and the pork belly with seasonal vegetables.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious eating experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is my second trip to Bustophers in as many months and it didn't disappoint. Great ribeye steak, cooked to perfection with scrummy giant chips on the side. The service was even better than last time which did take longer in spite of the restaurant being less busy. One fly in the ointment was a sudden change in policy re my TasteCard being unable to use the 2 for 1 deal on the steak dishes. It was honoured on this occasion but won't be next time, so will think twice about heading back here if I wanted to use the card again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    116
    56
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“GOING DOWNHILL”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Bustophers about 5 times in the last 2 years, because of the atmosphere, however the food quality and value for money is going rapidly downhill. They ought to send their chef to the Rising Sun in Truro to find out the sort of food a good gastro pub/bar is providing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laniley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polruan,Fowey,
2 reviews
“Great eating experience in Truro.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went to Truro to shop and meet friends for lunch, they had been recommended to try this bistro for the first time and we were pleasantly surprised, it is a wonderful eating experience with delightful staff a relaxing atmosphere the food is varied very tasty and well presented.We would recommend it from our experience today and will go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Happy Diner”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Only our 2nd visit to Truro & Bustophers. As on the previous visit, we found the food & the atmosphere very good & our waiter on Saturday night was very attentive when needed.When we are back in town will certainly visit again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPM634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch there on 27 March. Our French onion soup was completely tasteless and when we mentioned it the waitress merely said that she would inform the chef. Not another word was said. Main courses okay . When it came to pay the bill the waitress had the temerity to ask if we were going to leave a tip and if so explained in detail exactly where the amount should be entered on her card machine!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TOOAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bustophers, Manager at Bustophers Bar Bistro, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience here at Bustophers.
Since your visit and review we have undertaken a great deal of change, starting with a new head chef, kitchen team and new menu. There have also been a number of changes to our front of house team.
I agree that you should not of been asked if you would like to leave a tip, this should be a discretionary procedure and should not be an expectation. There has been an injection of training into the front of house team to improve product knowledge, standards of service and customer care.
I believe that with the changes that have been made since the time of your review a lot of the points you raise have been addressed and put right.
We hope that you do come back and give us another try one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bustophers Bar Bistro also viewed

 
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing