We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, but not perfect”
Review of The Rowan Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rowan Tree
Ranked #15 of 19 Truro B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Guest house conveniently situated between the train station and city. Spacious first floor bedroom with lovely bay window overlooking Truro with it's cathedral. Good value. Cleanliness could be improved. Victorian houses are notoriously difficult to heat but the radiator was not adjustable and only seemed to be luke warm. The weather was cold so unfortunately I never felt warm the whole time I was there. Hostess pleasant and friendly. Breakfast only average.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holitrolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowantreetruro, Owner at The Rowan Tree, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

I was really sorry to read this reiview. In over 6 years of trading I have had nothing but praise from my guests who tell me how much they have enjoyed their stay. and I have some wonderful write ups in my Guest book. However I am really sorry that you were cold. I left the heating on all the time that month but obviously too low although an elderly gentleman who came later that month said he was too hot! If you had told me a I would have put up the heating. I am also sorry you didn't find the room clean enough as I always go through thoroughly between guests.
I can't remember what you had for breakfast but I do buy the best ingredients. I make my own bread, marmalade and mix my own muesli. My eggs come from my friend's chickens so can't be fresher. Anyway my final apologies for a stay that wasn't as pleasant as it should have been. I will try and take exra care with my future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for The Rowan Tree
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

I went to this B & B for two days while attending a festival in Cornwall.I t was a great B & B.Four minutes walk from the train station, ten minutes walk from the bus terminus and city centre and restaurants.The hostess was very pleasant and was willing to get up extra early to make my breakfast.The room was beautiful to look at, the bathroom was very clean with energy saving devices.My room had fantastic view overlooking the town centre and the Truro Cathedral- the view from the bedroom is to die for, you will have to see it to believe.The hostess also makes a great English breakfast.This B & B is truly fantastic ,

Room Tip: call by telephone and book early
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lennoxmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

stayed here at the end of june this year..wat a delightful b&b...the landlady was very helpful and made the most delicious breakfasts..lovely rooms too..well worth a visit if you ever get chance.definitly worth staying if your here for a few days or more..not far from railway station either

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graybagsinoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank jadenmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Karolina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
586 reviews
154.2 mi away
The Pontac House Hotel
The Pontac House Hotel
#2 of 3 in St. Clement
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The City Inn
#12 of 19 in Truro
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rowan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowan Tree

Address: 3 Parkvedras Terrace, Truro TR1 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range: $74 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rowan Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rowan Tree is a three star bed and breakast, situated in a quiet road with off street parking opposite the house. We are a few minutes walk from the railway station and about eight minutes walk to the centre of Truro.Our room is a twin ensuite with excellent views over the city. Full English, or continental, breakfast is served each morning in the dining room.Cyclists are welcome ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rowan Tree Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing