We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Donnington Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 36 Truro B&B and Inns
London,UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had a very comfortable stay here. The single en-suite was small but very clean and warm. The cooked breakfast was tasty and it is very conveniently located for the town and the station. I would highly recommend it, especially if travelling on a budget as the price was excellent for the quality and friendliness!

Room Tip: I had a room at the front of the property and slept well but I have been told the rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratchet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
28
32
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wendover
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Donnington and would recommend it for comfortable rooms, great big breakfasts and friendly, helpful team. A large selection of rooms of different types, great value for money while offering a truly magificent breakfast experience, with warming fire and full English on the menu!

Room Tip: Staying at a room in the back was peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is a real gem. Found it relatively last minute. Spoke to the man on the phone who was very polite at answering all of my questions. They were very accommodating of myself and my family of 5 people and made efforts to give us rooms that were adjacent to one another. The rooms also, very comfortable with kettle, complimentary teas and coffees as well as a fridge and microwave in each room! Breakfast was also enjoyable with a wide selection of foods to choose from and the option of a cooked breakfast made to our individual requirements. Again efforts were made to seat all 5 of us together at breakfast. Parking was also outside the B&B in their driveway so no concerns about safety. Close to the local supermarket, but a bit of a further walk into town itself about 15-20mins.
Overall, a wonderful and very comfortable stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family and I stayed here with some friends. We were made incredibly welcome from start to finish. Breakfast is the highlight, with ample of almost whatever takes your fancy. The room was large and light, and the bathroom was impeccably clean. All 4 of us slept extremely well. Its located slightly out of town, but easily accessible from the train station or by car. Walk downhill into town, cab back would be my advised strategy.

All in all, a great stay, and many thanks to Darragh and Michelle for their hosiptality and willing advice for a newcomer to Truro.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Donnington accommodated us when we were let down at short notice by another hotel (Cliftons) The rooms were clean and comfortable (though our twin beds squeaked when we sat down or turned over). The showers were excellent ! Breakfast was good. The hotel staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very convenient to County Hall, and the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huckleberrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thanks to darragh and the staff for making working down in Truro a much less stressful affair. We have stayed as a business on and for the past mth whilst working at the hospital and were sad on the nights they were full and had to stay elsewhere. , If we are ever down that way again we will make sure we are staying at the Doddington.Rooms were clean and spacious. Thanks Paul @ PD Access Flooring

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pudge74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed at the Donnington in January, the room was great value for money, it was clean, comfortable and warm. I would definately stay here again. The breakfast was delicious and the owners were so accomodating. If you are staying in Truro to enjoy the city or just need a place to stay to explore Cornwall, I would highly recommend the Donnington.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cliftons
Cliftons
#4 of 36 in Truro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donnington Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donnington Guesthouse

Property: The Donnington Guesthouse
Address: 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donnington Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donnington Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Donnington Guesthouse Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing