We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and hearty food”
Review of The Fountain Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trelleck Grange
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fountain Inn
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and hearty food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a really great time at The Fountain last night. A beautiful, old building with a really good ambience and a good selection of local ales and ciders.

It was a quiz night (in aid of Help for Heroes) and we also had a meal. The food was very good and served beautifully. The quiz was great fun and the landlord was friendly and welcoming. All in all, highly recommended and I’m looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This Inn has been in serious decline for some time so it's good to see its resurgence under new ownerhsip.

We had a great Friday night there with good value food (home cooked fish and chips) and plenty of 'brewed-on-the premises' cider......

We'll be going back.

Well done!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Our local pub closes for a couple of weeks in February and The Fountain is next nearest so we headed down there last Friday - great atmosphere in pub, oak beams and roaring fire. The restaurant is a bit less cosy but the food and the wine were excellent and it was really good value for money - if this pub was within walking distance we'd be back again this Friday!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelovestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

It's a bit out of the way, especially on a wet and windy October night but well worth the trip. We were staying at Tintern Abbey Cottage about 6 miles away near the Abbey and The Fountain was recommended by the owners and previous occupants.

As I walked into the pub I must admit to being slightly wary. I had been told reservations were always required, but the place was empty apart from the landlord and his wife who only looked up from her crossword to see what the cat had dragged in!

Also, no menus. Hmmm, you don't get this up North. The landlord explained that everything was fresh so the menu (written in chalk on the blackboard) changed every day. 6 of us - 4 adults, 2 children - selected starters and mains and sat down.

It was a bit cold where we were as the heating had broken. Wood fires were burning merrily all over the pub area, but not the eating area. This gave us a chance to roam about till food arrived. The pub area is very warm and homely, steeped in history. The landlord explained that they ha only been able to open 3 weeks earlier and still had a few kinks (heating) to work out. He proved a very engaging and knowledgeable fella, and knew his beers.

Food arrived. The quality and quantity was superb. Orders varied: beautifully cooked tuna steak with a side salad (none of this drizzle nonsense either, just clean, crunchy salad); poacher's pie with big chunks of gamey birds; a fish stew where the ocean was literally leaping out of the bowl; a gammon steak that just about fit on the plate.

All this served up by the now beaming landlord's wife, who is obviously very proud of her culinary skills, and rightly so. The husband and wife team have definitely got the right skills to make a big success of this place.

The bill came to just shy of £120 for the 6 of us, which included 7 or 8 bar drinks, a bottle of wine, 6 starters, 6 mains. Terrific value for what was a truly excellent meal. Shame we were too full for dessert, but next time we're down there, I think I will skip a starter!

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The hosts of this lovely country pub have recently become its owners to the delight of those who know their food! Always a more interesting than most pubs menu and always freshly cooked. Our recent visit was no exception ( and the real local ales are great too), really good meal and a very good atmosphere and hospitality. There is a garden for the summer but we like the cosy fireplace.

Room Tip: There are bed and breakfast rooms but we are local so have never stayed . We just go to enjoy eating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walesvisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trelleck Grange
2.0 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
2.3 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
2.1 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ty Bryn Bed & Breakfast
Ty Bryn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Llandogo
184 reviews
4.2 mi away
BroadRock
BroadRock
#1 of 14 in Chepstow
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: Nr Tintern, Trelleck Grange NP16 6QW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Trelleck Grange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trelleck Grange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pub/Inn, Bed & Breakfast (Licensed) with 3 letting rooms in rural location. With car parking. No Smoking accept outside. Smart casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. A good variety of traditional ales and good home cooked food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing