We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaklawn Farm Zoo

Oaklawn Farm Zoo
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Aylesford
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went with my son and grandaughter. we all enjoyed the day,animals are well cared for, and there were alot of animals, more than I expected. The camels and llamas are able to be pet. Price was very affordable,and grounds clean. Highly recommend this attraction

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Invisiblediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    37
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
AUBURN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Biggest little Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I visit this zoo at least annually. I have always left with a satisfied feeling & telling myself "I've got to get over here more often". I love watching the Big Cats: I.e. Tiger, Lion, Puma, Panther, Leopard, & a few smaller ones. The primates are a hoot. The variety of animals here is surprising. The grounds are like a well cared for picnic grounds. The animals look well cared for. A visit to this very special Park is a real treat. I drag visitors to this Zoo & then can't convince them to just make a cursory circuit. They become entranced with various displays & afterward every one of them have expressed their joy at the visit. (This is not Kenya, but you'll see more cats here than there!). It's a great place to visit.
,

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IAMCDNMOUNTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos I've ever visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Oaklawn Farm Zoo last summer as part of our week-long Annapolis Valley/Fundy Shore trip. I'm not sure why, but I did not have high expectations of this zoo before arriving. But once we got there, I was pleasantly surprised and delighted with how clean and well-run this zoo is. The animals all looked like they had plenty of room to roam within their enclosures, and they also had lots of toys, pools, platforms, etc., to keep them stimulated. I didn't see a single animal doing the awful pacing back and forth that I have seen in so many zoos. I especially enjoyed all the big cats (whom we could hear calling out even before we entered the zoo). I highly recommend this zoo for any animal lover: singles, couples or the entire family!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“City zoo in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have never been to a "zoo". I have been to many wildlife parks that had many animals. This place is excellent. Prices are very cheap. We went during a hot day so most of the animals were hiding or sleeping in the shade. We expected this. The park showed us many animals We would never see. We had a great time avd seen most of the animals missing only the kangaroos. I recommend thus park to anyone wishing to see exotic animals that you wouldn't see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 300Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value and as nice as any Zoo we have seen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The grounds were clean and attractive. The gardens were lovely and we could easily see all of the animals. You could spend the day or if in a rush get a good visit in a little over 2 hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaklawn Farm Zoo also viewed

Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Kingston, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia
Port Williams, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Oaklawn Farm Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing