We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,531)
Filter reviews
6,531 results
Traveler rating
3,916
1,739
550
167
159
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,916
1,739
550
167
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool palm trees ambassador restaurant half board huge hotel beautiful hotel lopesan costa a la carte restaurants separate shower senior suite tennis courts designer shops resident band breakfast and dinner per day sand dunes evening entertainment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 6,531 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel but there is nowhere to get away from smokers!!! As a family with a 3 year old child and a pregnant wife we are unable to find anywhere free from smokers!! Even by the kids pool!! We have been to other hotels in the area and they have always had the kids pool smoke free area which is common sense to us. Still have 5 days left of our holiday and we are tempted to leave the hotel during the day to find somewhere to get away from the chain smokers. Such a shame, but has ruined our holiday greatly and won’t be returning because of this.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
5  Thank trob1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMeloneras, Manager at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear guest Trob1uk,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Lopesan Costa Meloneras to spend your holidays on Gran Canaria and also for taking the time to post your comments in tripadvisor.

We are very sorry that you haven’t been satisfied with the atmosphere in our hotel, our guests should feel always cozy and welcome in our hotel and we truly regret that for you this wasn’t the case.

Please excuse the inconveniences regarding the smoking on the pool areas. We would like to inform you that spanish law allows smoking in open public areas, however we understand the no smokers guests and that's why we forbade smoking in Restaurants and on all buffet terraces. One more time we do apologize, thought for the inconveniences about of another smoking guests. Please understand us, that is very complicated to satisfied all the guests in the same time.

We would like to let you know that you can contact our Public Relations Department for any question or doubt during your stay or in advance, they are always delighted to help you.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in your future holiday.

Kind regards,





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

interior designers nightmare dream, irritating list of extra charges, excelent team delivering great service.
as we arrived we thought "wow", when walked in the room it was "what a shame...", obviously dark colours came from mountain theme but its very gloomy, next time you have refurb switch to bright spectrum, it can be very modern style or classic royal palace gold/white theme. but not a dark cave. we coming for bright sunshine here.
there is no reason to pay for wifi and safe box. room price is over the top online and matches price of those places on luxury collection books and fit for royal pocket, but lopesan is not there yet. also hotels website may have normal prices and offers often.
Yet the infinity swimming pool is best in the area, and hotel is on of the best.
It will be very nice to see spoiled and pampered and looked after cats on the grounds. if you authorise one person from kitchens give food leftovers ones a day like late eves and have sign "our cats vaccinated, and receive food. please dont feed them".that will sort out problem of fussy clients and make happy pet lovers. in other places we even saw a wooden cats house in the hotels garden. Please, take action and do engage with your local volunteers for TNR(trap, nuter, return programme with regular antiparasite control) and make some info available for tourists about adoption (its very easy in gran can as vet gets everything free when adopt and flight to europe short, cheap, direct but knowbody knows about it) or have liflet on your free info stands with social midia link for your local animal helping centers to help them unload and increase adoption rates. we would like to know how can we help, adopt, donate.and we would love to see happy healthy cats walking around.
otherwise, the place is good to come back and one of the best in the area.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank llilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMeloneras, General Manager at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Dear M I,

We would like to thank you very much for your detailed and very interesting review on Tripadvisor and of course for having chosen the Lopesan Costa Meloneras in the first place.
We would also like to thank you for mentioning the good and also the bad points, all this helps us to improve our services every day.

Some of your comments, like wifi or water supplies are actually part of the Lopesan Hotel Group policy and we are sorry that in some of the other mentioned aspects we couldn’t match your expectations on our hotel.
We regret that you do not agree with the decoration of the Hotel. With respect to cats, we are prohibited from giving cats food. We would also like to inform you that the hotel works with an association that takes care of the hotel's cats.

We would like to apologize for the possible inconveniences caused during your stay and we want to inform you that we will transfer your comments to the relevant departments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
With best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Stayed ten days in June half board.
A family of 16, four of them under six.
We had a wonderful time. Food good. Rooms good. Pools excellent. Staff very good.

we thought it might be a problem eating together, but the Staff done wonderful in the dining room.
With the children being so young, we ate as soon as the restaurant opened. that also ensured us a seat together on the Plaza on an evening before Mini Disco.

Pool party went down well, to celebrate the start of summer with midnight Firework display.

My wife and I had problems with our key card: ROOM 1124.
Having to return to reception on eight occasions in ten days to replace them.
I asked for them to have a look at our lock, but they never did.
Apparently it was our fault. One more niggle. The outdoor childrens play area. not a tree insight for shade. It was totally unusable during the afternoon.

We would highly recommend this Hotel and it's staff.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMeloneras, General Manager at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Dear Hopper, Thank you for choosing us for your last visit to Gran Canaria. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with other holidaymakers and for your comments giving us ideas for our future. We hope that we will see you again at the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Stayed her previously and it never fails everything about the hotel is first class would fully recommended this hotel to anyone who wishes to enjoy the wonderful settings and how welcoming the staff make you feel

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonydeputydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMeloneras, General Manager at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear tonydeputydog,

At Lopesan Hotel Group we know that the holidays are some of the most important times of
the year and that is why it brightens our day to read opinions as positive as yours. Thank you for having gone to the trouble of sharing your experience with us and with other users. If you decided to holiday in Gran Canaria again, it would be our pleasure to see you stay with us again.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

On arrival The Costa Melonares Hotel makes a very good impression. It is rather large but well organised. Difficult as it is to give a personal touch the staff are obviously very well trained and provide an excellent pleasant service. The standard rooms have excellent marble bathrooms (separate shower)are spacious with comfortable beds, large balconeys and well designed though not plush.
Breakfast included is the usual buffet expected in resort hotels. The gardens are suberb with a variety of palm trees shrubs and Flowers. There are plenty of sunloungers although many are in the shade which can be a good thing. A variety of small cafes are situated on the grounds for daytime snacks and lunch. There are a variety of wonderful swimming pools to suit all tastes. At least 2 have facilities to assist people with disabilities. Overall the hotel is disability friendly.
There is a wealth of entertainment both day and evening. We sampled a few if theses and had great fun. Latin Dancing with the lovely Magdalena was a particular favourite.
The back entrance exit from the garden leads to the lighthouse and the fab Maspalonas beach is a few minutes walk. There are walks along the sea and lagoon promenades too. A good selection of cafes and restaurants are to he found near the beach and the promenade. For bus trips further afield to Las Palmas, Puerto Morgan and inland a bus station can be located 3 minutes walk from the front entrance. Bike hire is also available locally as well as a starlight cinema serving drinks and snacks for a different evening.
There are a few little niggles which could be subtracted from 5 star ratings but overall it is excellent value and very enjoyable. Recommended.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank steaknchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMeloneras, General Manager at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Dear Steaknchips Thank you for giving us a perfect rating. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us 100%. For our part, we can only commit to continuing to improve going forwards so that you can continue enjoying your time in our hotel in the future. With kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews