We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace(Maspalomas)(Great Value!)
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$272
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,569)
Filter reviews
6,569 results
Traveler rating
4,242
1,502
527
157
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,242
1,502
527
157
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican themewet roomrichard burtonhuge baththe wow factorstar hotelpili pilihalf boardstunning hotelfamily roommoonlight cinemaseparate toiletgran canariasand dunesnews channelskids clubthe lazy river pool
Filter
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 6,569 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2017

They always say you should never go back to a hotel, and now I can see why. Last time we were here we had a room near reception, this time it must have bee the furthest block away from the main hotel area. When you are getting on a bit in years this is not very helpful. Our experience of the main restaurant is not good we were two minutes late for the first sitting and they wouldn't let us in! We did go back at 8.30 but had to queue to get in and all the food was cold. We complained to the manager but he really didn't want to know, neither did the public relations. We then proceeded to go to the other restaurant at night and had to queue every night for 10-15 minutes on a very narrow path with people coming out with not enough room to pass. Inside it was very dark and we always had to ask for a seat with light! The food in this restaurant was hot and a good selection.
Half way through our holiday we were woken by very loud banging and I thought someone was trying to get into the room. I got out of bed and and went to the door and realised it was coming from the ceiling. We worked out it was the air conditioning and reported it the next day. Later that afternoon I asked if it had been fixed and was told they would look into it. Later that day we had a card in the room to say it had been fixed. Two days later just before midnight it happened again and I rang reception straight away and was told that they would send someone. After over an hour I gave up waiting and the next morning I went to customer relations who said that nobody would have come at that time of night!!! We were given the choice of moving room or putting up with it!! So we moved to a room which overlooked a busy road, you could only see the tops of the buses but you could certainly hear the traffic. I would say this is nowhere near a five star hotel is the customer service and food has let it down.
The pool areas and gardens are beautiful. Surely with all the pools they could make one adults only. The walk in pool rooms are a waste of time as there is no privacy as you are facing a public pool and you go into a public pool. I saw guests from other rooms take short cuts to their room in front of other peoples private space. One man was told off by the life guard for doing this and he was not very happy about being told and argued with him for a long time. Just to warn everyone the Lopesan group has bought the land opposite the hotel and is just waiting for planning permission to start to build a shopping centre. We heard some clearing work going on so don't think it will be long before that starts. The hotel has been up for a while and is now in need of a refurbishment, with walls, tables and some seating looking tired. There was some very good entertainment at night the group who did UK vs USA and It's a Kind of Magic, were excellent as was the Motown group, the rest we gave a miss to. The band in the upstairs bar were good but the same songs came up all the time and after 10 nights was waring. I would class this hotel as 4 star only and will not be going back.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the front of the hotel where building work is about to start.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank NannyNanNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
121baobab, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort for your second stay.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you had to experiment during your stay in our hotel.

If you give us a third chance, please write an email to our request department, and we will try to fulfill your wishes and put you near to the reception. There are many guests who prefer close to the reception and others who prefer closer to the gym, we just have to know about this.

After the problem you experimented with the air conditioning you were given a new room. Unfortunately there was a bigger problem, so the fixing was going to take longer. As we already said personally to you, we are very sorry for this.

We are very glad to inform you, that Lopesan is not going to build a shopping center near the hotel.

Also, in our hotel we have 3 calm pools.

Thank you very much for the nice words, all your comments and suggestions will be passed on to the departments in charge.

Best regards.

Thank you very much for the nice words, all your comments and suggestions will be passed on to the departments in charge.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

From beginning to end, we had the most brilliant experience at this hotel. We travelled as a family of 3 (10 year old daughter), staying in a family room, for a fortnight. Having lived in Africa, we are always intrigued by African experiences! However the hotel nailed it - a genuine high quality Africa experience. The rooms were spacious, had a cleaning service in the morning, towel, mini bar and toiletries top up before dinner and a turn down service. The hotel was immaculately clean throughout. The food choices were great and could accommodate the most demanding of eaters. We particularly enjoyed the fresh steaks and fish, along with salads. The staff were friendly, happy and well turned out. During the holiday we had an illness and the guest relations (Naomi) were amazing - thank you. Because of the landscaping and number of pools, you will not experience the nightmare of sunbeds packed around a single pool - there are lots of hideaway places.

We went to a couple of the entertainment evenings, but were happy that we could find a quiet spot if we simply wanted a drink.

Well worth hiring a car (from the shopping centre nearby), the sights around the island are beautiful!

Having only just returned, our daughter is already asking if we can return next year - and as a family who would not typically return to the same place - we think we might just make the exception. Thank you team Lopesan Boabab!

Room Tip: We had room 1104 which was very peaceful.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
121baobab, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Sara R.

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Lopesan Baobab Resort, during your recent holidays on Gran Canaria.

We are so glad to hear that you have passed a wonderfu time at our hotel and that you enjoyed everything.

We will pass your kind comments and mentions to our staff, where I am sure that they will be received with great excitement.

We hope to receive you soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

This huge African themed hotel is great. You will be given a site map when you check in. You will either like it or loathe it. We loved it. The hotel and grounds are kept very clean. Seven pools with plenty of seating and large umbrellas. The rooms are a very good size, The staff are very friendly and helpful. The dining rooms are very large, plenty of space, not all crowded in. The food is very good and well presented. Lots of walking between areas, so take comfy shoes. WiFi is only in the reception area, not in the rooms. Only 5 minutes from the beach and shopping area. Definitely will return to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
121baobab, Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear Mrs Carole,

Thank you for choosing us for your last visit to Gran Canaria. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with other holidaymakers and for your comments giving us ideas for our future. We hope that we will see you again at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

We have just had a week in this sensational hotel - everything about this place is special. From the moment you arrive you are greeted by a suspended walkway with the sound of waterfalls and surrounded by towering bamboos. The whole ambience is delightful. It takes awhile to explore this hotel with its different levels and multiple pools, bars, restaurants and entertainment. The long ribbon pool with circulating water set amongst trees - with its own beach - is a daily must! The food is excellent - we were HB - but decided to have the buffet lunch everyday - which at 19 Euros pp - is such good value - as the range of food is stunning, with many different meats and fish cooked in front of you. Finally all the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful - and genuinely keen for you to have the best time possible. One last thing - the hotel is situated 5 minutes from the most fabulous sandy beach that stretches for miles - just perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the ribbon pool - with excellent views out over the sand dunes.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank philipwoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
121baobab, Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear Mr Woolley,

Thousands of visitors stay with us each year, but we still feel as happy as the first day when a client lets us know that their time in the hotel was satisfactory. We would like to thank you for the trust that you placed in us. We hope that there are still some corners of Gran Canaria for you to discover and that you do so together with us again.

With kind regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

This hotel is excellent in every way. So much more than just a hotel, one could spend the entire holiday and never have to leave the place as it has lots of interesting grounds, pools, artificial beaches, bars and restaurants, evening entertainment, children's activities, and pretty much everything you could wish for on site. The design is clever and amazing, you often can't be certain whether you are actually indoors or outdoors and it has a real "wow factor". All the staff are helpful, friendly and efficient, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Food in the buffet restaurant is delicious and there is an incredible amount of choice. We very much enjoyed our time here and cannot wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lrichards2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
121baobab, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear lrichards2016,

We never fail to feel happy when we read how you enjoyed your stay with. We would like to thank you very much for having gone to the trouble of writing down and sharing your experience with other users. Specially all your kind words dedicated to our staff, facilities and our special and exclusive African themed design. If you wish to visit us in the future, remember that by making a reservation on our website, you can earn exclusive discounts.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews