We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in many hotels in Majorca, Ibiza, Tenerife & Lanzarote & this is the only hotel that we have returned to, in fact we have booked to go again this August 2014. As previous people have said, yes it is quite dark in certain areas around the hotel but this does not bother us as it is such an amazing looking hotel complex. It is very modern & the rooms are well laid out, I would highly recommend that if there are 3 or more of you going to upgrade to a family room as it is quite bigger with 2 queen size beds instead of 2 singles pushed together & a sofa bed. If I have to say anything negative is that we noticed on out last visit that parts of the rooms were looking a bit warn but again this has not put us of booking again! We have stayed full & half board & the food quantity & quality is excellent even my fussy vegetarian husband loved it! The desserts are to die for! Be prepared to put a few pounds on if you like your food as we do!! The hotel is within walking distance to a nice beach & the sand-dunes (be careful of the nudist part, my poor 12 year old daughter didn't know where to look!!). There are many nice little designer shops & bars & restaurants with a prominard that runs past them. All in all a fab hotel in a fab area, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Springybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Springybee,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to evaluate your stay on Tripadvisor and also
for choosing our hotel for your recent winter break again.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also that you were so satisfied with
quality of our buffet restaurants.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us in August.
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 5,803 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at Lopesan Baobab Resort for 2 weeks with our 18 months old son. We got a very nice impression upon arrival, as the building is quite impressive. It was approx 10 min walk from reception to our room, as we wanted to stay in a quiey area of the hotel. Luggage was brought to our room, so the short walk was no problem. The room was nice and spacious with a nice view to pool area. The hotel was clean and interior was a treat for the eyes. Staff was service minded and food was great. Very nice place to stay with children; numerous pools, play area, mini disco, etc. We recommend both the hotel and Meloneras itself for those who want to avoid the classic and noisy charter trips. We also visited Lopesan Costa Meloneras on the other side of the cozy shopping center, and we were not disappointed with this hotel either. All in all the best charter experience to date. Recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms not very well isolated, so try getting a room away from evening entertainment, especially if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torunn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Torunn T,
Thank you very much for your kind review and first of all for have choosen us for your recent holidays in Gran Canaria.
We are happy that you had a good experience with us and we are especially glad about your
comments about our staff and for our food offer, which are of enormous importance for us,
We would be honored to welcome you again soon and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Myself and my partner have just retunred back from the Lopesan, firstly I will give a few tips which may help you.
We went half board on a Thomson's holiday, as it was classed as "off peak" (end April /May), the weather was lovely at 28oc every day with full sun and no cloud & the resort itself was a bit more quieter than usually which was better especially the beach. We have been coming to this resort for the last 6 years but this was the first time we had stayed at this hotel. However the transfer should of really took 35mins it ended up been over an hour (this will be longer I would of thought in the peak season).
Please note we got to the hotel just after 10pm, so as soon as we went to our room we knew of a local supermarket we could go to to get some food bits but this had closed by then and of course as we were on a half board basis the evening meal had stopped to, so we went to reception and we could grab a toast at the bar downstairs which was fine. Please note this was now nearly 11pm and also the room service stops at this time to, so if you go in the peak season please note you won't get any food after 11pm.

The hotel is a "african themed" you walk from the slight incline into the main hotel where you can hear parrots or the sound affects of the tropics, the reception area is huge with free wifi in the area (though can be patchy). We were soon allocated into our room, please note we could only get a twin room which we thought 2 beds pushed together to make a double but this was impossible to sleep like this. We also faced the roadside and again to be honest it didn't bother us its not like your sat on the M25, you just see one road and a few other 4/5 star hotels. The rooms are quite big ample of storage space, Tv and mini bar all located behind cabinets. The bathroom has a lovely powerful shower. The beds themselves where to soft for me but thats my own personal choice and certainly wouldn't knock it down for that.

We were on a lat board basis and to be honest I have never eat so much in my life and to be honest I think full board would be just to much, but again thats my personal view. There is everything you needed and more for breakfast from there version of a "english" to meats, hams, cheese and fruit and cakes. You are giving a card which you are greeted by the lovely friendly staff at the door where you are shown a table and then you are asked if you would like a coffee. Here you get a big jug of coffee and then you can go and get the hot milk yourself from one of the machines or if you like you can grab a latte or cappuccino from another machine.

The evening meal (gentlemen have to wear long trousers and shoes), again the food was lovely however has to be said half way through our holidays the food was a bit hit and miss, but again that was our view (my partner works in the catering industry). Please note you have to pay for any drinks alcoholic or soft drinks, again though we knew this and for a hotel not overly priced.
From where we had our meal you can go to another bar where they use to have entertainment on (again was hit and miss, i.e. fantastic to see a young couple doing a flaminco dance but then a few nights later they had a river dance, yet Spanish and didn't see what irish dancing had to do with it but again if you like that sort of thing. However if you go to the main bar upstairs they had a group on every night with a lovely singer not to loud playing in the background more a chill out music and would recommend, here to there is free wifi!.

I also must state in all the hotels I have ever stayed at in Gran Canaria or any other Spanish hotels I have never had such good service, they were like the john lewis of the hotel world, you never seem to wait around in asking for the bill or even ordering drinks and even the cleaners of the hotels always smiled and said "hola".

The pools in the hotel were nice (however because of the really nice weather we infact went to the beach every day apart from our last day when we checked out so decided to stay around the pool. There are notices everywhere that you cannot reserve your chairs by placing a towel on them and they are very strict about this which can only be a good thing. Even around the pool (the lazy river), there are plenty of waiters around if you would like to order food or drinks which are brought to you which again is all part of your holiday I guess.
The day we checked out our flight as dues to later on that day so my advice to is the day before you check out go to reception and book a courteous room which they let you have free for 30mins however even on off peak I noticed the rooms where getting quit full so in peak season I gather this will be very popular and its nice to get a shower and change before you leave the beautiful climate and head back to the airport.

So thats all the good positive points out of the way with, however I did have to mark it down one star because of the following "screaming children", now please Im no Victor Meldrew, however it was really bad. Myself and my partner have no children and infact we do try and stay in hotels for couples, but this is certainly not and more aimed for families. However like families we do also save up all year for our holidays and yes there was a children's pool and children's enterntainment even on a morning a guy dressed as a dolphin would come around at breakfast and hi-five all the kids or wave at adults which is great. However whilst back at our room the walls were so thing we would even hear people on the toilet, receiving text messages or there TV's but most of all crying children at 6am on the morning. Not only that some of our lets say European cousions decided to let the children get dressed and basically run around the hotel corridors shooting and screaming at 7am. Of course we were going to complain to the hotel but we would of only been moved to another part of the hotel for the same thing to happen again.
As we went the end of April / May we thought we would miss the school holidays but these were infants to and never accounted for this. The noise was so bad infact the 3rd day we had to buy ear plugs which had a bit of an effect.
We use to go down for dinner late and go to the bar after that but again you would get toddlers even in the bar screaming or running around making a nuisance of themselves (which one bar man I think went over to a family as one child was trying to skate on his skate board in the bar).

So this what let the hotel down, you may say its not the hotel fault however more management should have been approaching familys about this noise situation as the hotel has been catering for children with pools, activities etc and think running around screaming at 6/7am (I actually thought at one point the child was in danger). Even there was a huge children's pool yet they came into the lazy river and I couldn't even read my book due to the noise and balls been punched about in the water (there was nothing lazy about it).

However if you are after a great family holiday with great food and good service then this is the hotel for you plus within walking distance of all the nice shops and restaurants. If you are a couple like us wanting to get away from it all then really I would look at other hotels (we usually stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort, please see my previous reviews on this hotel). It is a shame this let it down and sad to say we will probably not return but wanted to give it a go from the Sheraton in which we usually stay with which is more for a relaxing couple hotel than the Lopesan.

Room Tip: We had the roadside view, again did not bother us, I actually think if you get a ground floor room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAMPO75C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear CAMPO75C,
Thank you for spending your recent holidays in the Lopesan Baobab Resort and also for sharing your opinion about your stay with other travelers all over the world.
It is good know that in general you had a good stay but we are also thankful for your critical
comments.
We would just like to mention that we welcome all kind of guest, also families, and because we understand it can be strees for couples, we do have two swimming pools in the back of the hotel just recommended for adults.
Thank you again for your confidence in us and we hope to welcome you back in the near
future.
Kind regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

.. as the previous two visits.

This place does 'what it says on the tin!"

A first class hotel from start to finish. Well managed. Staff are excellent. Food is very varied, well presented and extremely good.

Rooms are very clean and well maintained.

Pool facilities are excellent. Very well positioned for short walking to shops, bars and the sea front by the lighthouse.

Cant speak highly enough.

Loved the cocktail making demonstrations!

Room Tip: Have stayed three times now. Would recommend a room on 3rd or 4th floor with pool view as this gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balders44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Balders44,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen again the Lopesan baobab resort for your
recent holidays and also for sharing your opinion on the web.
We are happy that you found the relaxation that you were looking for and we hope that you
will repeat the experience in the near future. Thanks for your loyalty Balders44.
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I've been here with my husband for a week ( after 4 days in Madrid )
Everything has been perfect .. the food was VERY VERY VERY good
The breakfast was incredible ,.. so many croissant ,.. biscuits .. cakes...and eggs... bacon .. everithing yu wanted .. it was there !
The staff was really polite
Rooms were really clean
The hotel is near to Dunas / sea and to the town ..5 minutes by walk
I really recommend this hotel to all of yu
5 stars FOR SURE !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Oriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Oriana B,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and also for your kind review.
We are happy to have met your expectations and we are very much looking forward
welcoming you back soon
Best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Incredible experience when you first arrive in the dark. Waterfalls, jungle sounds, lights, tropical forests. Amazing never experienced anything quite like it. You could be in Las Vegas! Really beautiful resort, pool and all the special effect lights so effective, lovely bars great entertainment like the kind you would hear at high end event in London. we were upgraded to a beautiful ground floor room near the pool. room was gorgeous though a double bed would have been preferable to two single pushed together. Stylish glass bathroom with huge bath and shower system. Toilet separate though a wash basin in the actual toilet would be useful instead of the basin in that main area. Balcony beautiful as twelve steps form a swimming pool. Numerous pools are scattered throughout the resort. Some of these were adult pools and unfortunately children are jumping and splashing in them so they did not respect this rule! We were there at a busy time where there were too many children so that was quite annoying. Sometimes we never got a sun lounger and walked round the entire resort looking for one. So I would recommend you choose this hotel at less busy time you would enjoy it much more. the breakfast was fantastic incredible choice. We were half board food was buffet style vast section and very good especially the lobster tails. My only gripe is that it was very noisy, trolleys with plates and bowls loudly clattering around as they replenished supplies and crockery. It was not exactly relaxing. This was especially noticeable at breakfast if you were dining indoors. Outside the bedrooms there is an enormous atrium with huge palms and exotic plants and ponds with terrapins and exotic fish swimming in them. Its truly amazing the design is just fantastic! Staff were all highly professional and polite. Service was first class. Perhaps just too many children at holiday time. The beach is a short walk away (10 to 15 mins) and really spectacular with amazing sand dunes. I think Grand Canaria has the best beaches in the Canaries! This hotel is definitely the best one on the island and Melonoeras is a classy and tasteful resort. No Club Ibiza here!! Go, just for the experience, at a quiet time for couples and if you have kids you will want to go at peak time to enjoy the liveliness!

Room Tip: Ground floor room near the smaller pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear HelenaScotlandUK,
It is good to hear that you have a good time with us and we thank you letting us know your
opinion.
We are very proud of our African theme and it is always nice to hear that our guests also enjoy
it.
Regarding your comment about the noise in the restaurant during the service, we do apologize for the inconveniences caused and I assure you I'll send them to the person in charge, in order the staff can improve it.
We are looking forward to your next stay and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel for a week from 21st apr 14 with our 2 1/2 year old and our 7month old girl. This is the 4th visit to the hotel in less than 2 years and it never fails to make us feel good. The hotel staff are fantastic and a real credit to lopesan. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always smiling.
The food is good quality, although the choice was not as good as previously, but maybe the time of year had something to do with this, and we don't have a problem with the food at all.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and this resort as the best resort on the island having stayed in others in the past.
Thanks lopesan, see you later in the year for our next holiday.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Powerkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Powerkut,
We are glad that you have enjoyed again your stay and also that you have found the time to valuate
us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you have met your expectations with us once more and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future and remain
Withy best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,672 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range: $189 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing