We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lopesan Baobab Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We visited here in Sep 2012. Lovely hotel. Looking at it from the outside it looks amazing! On arrival we unfortunately didn't get our welcome drink which was disappointing.

Numerous pools with plenty of sun beds. Couple of nice bars on site to chill out in the evenings although drinks were a little over priced.

We ate by the sea most evenings which was a 5min walk. Lots of variety and lovely beach area.

Hotel had an amazing lazy river which we sat by most days. We had lunch a couple of afternoons in the restaurant next to the lazy river which was really nice. Not cheap but was great quality and lovely to eat whist looking out over the water.

Room was really nice - all seemed brand new and very clean.

Breakfast was really nice each morning which champagne as part of the package! We did need to wait most mornings to be seated but not a big deal.

On the whole we had a fab week and would defo stay here if we were to go back to Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,348
    1,175
    411
    119
    100
See reviews for
2,252
2,167
66
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great hotel. Not far from maspalomas beach and local bus station. Very nice staff and great pool areas.
Only downside was the buffet. We grew tired of it after a few day.
But they have á la carte.....







  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Having stayed at other Lopesan hotels in Meloneras, I was curious how the Baobab would be. And I was not disappointed although it is not as great as some reviewers write.
The African theme is good - the plastic flamingoes, elephants etc. are maybe too much.
The hotel is huge yet you don't feel it - only at breakfast where it can get rather crowded. The breakfast is excellent - with a perfect choice of everything, The staff are very friendly.
The pools are great - just like the whole hotel, rather windy.
The rooms are large, a bit dark and in January cold. The walls and doors are not very good sound proofed… There is no free wi-fi in the rooms, something that should be automatic in 21st century…
The beach of Maspalomas is approx. 15 minutes away.
I do not think I will stay the Baobab again, but it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boris2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I spent 10 days in the Baobab hotel what a wonderful experience,friendly staff the restaurant served so many different dishes something for everybody.The rooms were very clean.The reception staff with Naria Adan always gave help and any information you needed,i found this hotel one of the best i have stayed in .I will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welder503904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Overall very pleased as they noted our room request and we had a great room.
African theme of the hotel we thought was really good.
Excellent food for both variety and quality but occasionally the temperature of the food needed to be addressed; we had to use the microwave to heat the food at times. Not what you expect in a 5 star hotel.

Wardrobe rails are very high and my wife (who is not short) struggled to reach them.

Lovley pools and garden areas.

We would certainly consider going back and are happy to recommend the hotel and resort to our friends l

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by friends and it was brilliant! There was a good choice of well-prepared food; five beautiful pools, some with 'beaches'; spectacular gardens; friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. The only drawback was the Internet connection which was only available in the reception area and was EXTREMELY slow! Apart from that one reservation, we would recommend the hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms facing the Riu hotel as they bathed in evening sun. Also, we were on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eve812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by friends and we weren't disappointed. The decor is stunning; everywhere is spotlessly clean and well-maintained; for the first time EVER we had a choice of sunbeds even later in the morning; the pools are spectacular; the food - we were spoilt for choice; every member of staff we met was very friendly and eager to help. We have been looking for a 'bolt-hole' we can disappear to when we feel in need of sun, rest and relaxation and this is the first hotel we feel may just fit the bill!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne Madline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Property: Lopesan Baobab Resort
Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing