We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel but oh so very cold and windy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel but oh so very cold and windy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel ticks so many boxes - its stunning in its design and the staff were wonderful but if you feel the cold, you will find this hotel very uncomfortable in the restaurants, bars and lobby due to the architects design which means that the areas are open to the outside elements with partial walls and roofs and its been designed so that a cold wind blows through the corridors. We had a fantastic room on the 1st floor in the main block but when we came out of our room for breakfast and evening meal we were greeted with a very cold wind.

I had to go and buy some winter clothes to wear in the hotel as we had booked for two weeks but we often went out in the evenings as this was much warmer than the inside of the hotel.

We also found that the hot food was often only luke warm too.

Room Tip: 1069 on the 1st floor in the main block was perfect with a lovely view over the dunes and quiet but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valena18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,398
    1,197
    418
    119
    102
See reviews for
2,297
2,198
66
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my family consisting of six adults, we had 3 rooms. Honestly I can say this is in the top 2 of the best hotels I have ever been. I am not going to repeat all the things said here previously, so here is a short list about some things I like to point out:

Negatives:
- poor soundproofing. Walls were thin between the rooms and a noisy neighbour can be a problem if you are a light sleeper. This is something that should have been thought more in the construction phase and there is very little that the hotel can do for this anymore.
- poor WIFI. A free WIFI worked only in two of the bars and was terrible. In a 5* hotel you would nowadays expect better
-Pili pili - restaurants speed and accuracy - there were some messups with our takeaway pizzas two times, although the staff solved it well
- the lighting in the rooms. Not dark in my point of view, but the light switches were very difficult, for us it took many days to learn what happens in each switch :)

Positives:
-Rooms. Spacious, well designed, large comfortable bed, cool shower area and a big bath tub, huge balconies
-Surroundings. Beautiful garden, always spotless and amazing especially in night time. (though they should consider buying another music cd for christmas time since I heard "last christmas" at least 20 times)
-Pools. Amazing, and will be better during summer time when the water also in the not-heated ones is warmer. Always pool chairs available
-The staff. Very polite
-The location. In the middle of meloneras, all the nice shops in two-minute walking distance, supermarked just around the corner
-The gym. Better equipped than most hotel gyms, clean, water and towels available
-The food. We stayed half board, and honestly I think that if you can't find anything to eat from the buffet, it may not be the buffet's fault... Food always warm enough and amazing surprises occasionally. The breakfast buffet is also amazing.

In conclusion, we had a perfect holiday and I would recommend this to almost anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week over New year. It was a fantastic hotel, the food was of the highest standard especially new years eve. The staff were great, helpful, and never wanted you to stand at the bar you were told to sit back down and the drinks would be brought too you.
If i stayed again i would like to stay on the same side of the hotel, looking over towards the 2 riu's that are on the sea front. There you get the sun on your balcony from around 1 o'clock right up untill sun set. Great evening entertainment, bands, dancing acts amongst other things.
I do agree with other people about the sun beds (People reserving beds and it been hard to get a lounger) but again at the back side of the hotel there is no sun up untill around 1 oclock and there are two pools that are deserted, these are actually the best pools to be around, you have sun all afternoon and you dont feel any breeze!
Would definitely stay again for the new years eve party alone.

Room Tip: Dont bother with a swim up room, no sunshine until late on. Do get a room facing the opposite way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went expecting a wonderful family holiday and for the most part it was OK however the buffet food in the restaurants was always cold and had to be placed in the microwave to be heated. The staff did not engage at all and when we mentioned this were advised that they were tired. The exception to this was the animation team who were always cheerful and upbeat. The bins around the pool and lift areas overflowed with rubbish. The rooms were reasonable but the bath dirty, shampoos etc. not replenished and one of our rooms had ants.Overall not a good holiday but the surrounding area was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSea001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear SunSea001

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort and also for sharing your opinion on the internet.

We are truly sorry that your stay has not been to your full satisfaction and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience during your holiday. Please be assured that we have already forwarded you comments to the responsible department managers.

We would also like to thank you for your constructive criticism and hope that you will visit Gran Canaria again in the near future

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff at this impressive looking hotel were wonderful. They were polite, friendly and supremely helpful. We had a free room upgrade and the room was very clean and spacious. The food was good and the entertainment quality high, especially the African band, Orquesta Rafikis. The only problems were that only four of the pools were heated, and there were never any free sun loungers. People clearly got up at the crack of dawn to reserve them, although they were asked not to. We never got a lounger, and I wish they had heated more of the pools, as that may have spread people out a bit. I agree about the Pogues though - I got to hate that song by the end of the week!

Room Tip: Ask for one that is nearer reception - some of the others were a good hike away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HonestTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Baobab for 1 week in November with our 18 month old daughter.
We had a family room which was huge, our room overlooked the 'chocolate pool'. We were very pleased with our room, the hotel and the food. There are some lovely places to eat just a short walk away at the beach or the complex just down the road so wouldn't go full board next time.
We had room service a few times and this was good too.
Plenty of sunbeds around the 'chocolate pool' and 'palm pool' the main pool was busier but there always seemed to be beds available. The pool was a little too cool for our toddler but she did enjoy the childrens pool with the slide and see-saw.
Only issues we had were that our balcony had no sun at all (so couldn't sit in the sun whilst the baby napped) and dinner was a little late for the baby who was ill whilst we were there so needed early nights.
Overall an excellent holiday and so good we've already booked a return trip in March!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceeferace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've been to Gran Canaria about a dozen times and always stay in the Meloneras part. This is the best hotel I've stayed in so far with the Meloneras Spa/Casino coming a close second. Always thought the Baobab looked very ugly from a distance and wondered how anyone could want to stay there, but it's not until you walk inside that you really appreciate it for what it is. The hotel reception and surrounding areas are very grand and are like nothing I've ever seen before. The hotel is very dark but this adds to it's atmosphere. The scent around the reception area is very welcoming.

I was upgraded from a standard room to a room with a view for free which was very unexpected but welcomed! The view from the room was outstanding and well worth paying extra for next time if it doesn't add too much to the overall cost of the holiday. The room itself was very modern but the lack of lighting did make it a little difficult to get ready for nights out.

The food (I stayed there half board) was good, but the hot food (as some other reviews have confirmed) was not always "hot", warm at a push. Great choice of food though and an excellent selection of cheese on their cheese board.

The cocktails in the hotel bars must be tried! They were by far the best I've tasted and I'll definitely be trying more during my next stay at a Lopesan. It did, however, take some time to be served as the bar area at the back of reception didn't seem very well staffed.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely rank it above the H10 and the Riu's. I've just booked for 11 nights in May at another Lopesan, safe in the knowledge that I've booked quality!

Room Tip: Room facing the Dunes on the 3rd or 4th floor! Can see for miles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Property: Lopesan Baobab Resort
Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing