We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our second visit to the Baobab was as fab as the first last year. Luxury bathrooms, amazing swimming pools, large rooms, lovely food, out door eating on the decking, beautiful palms and plants all rounds, great customer service from alll staff. Really is a relaxing holiday. We love cocktails in the Richard Burton bar after dinner and a stroll around the local area of Melonares, If you are wondering whether to book here - do it!

My only minor critcism would be that they shouldn't allow smoking in the outside area of the restaurant - but obviously that's my personal view.

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,724)
There are newer reviews for Lopesan Baobab Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,311 - 2,317 of 5,724 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel, which in my opinion was too large.

The lighting in the restaurant needs to be brighter or take a torch so you can see what your eating, in the summer they probably don't have this problem, but this time of year its dark by 5.30pm.

They cater for so many, the queues for the buffet are long, by the time you have taken what you want and get back to your table, the foods cold.

Room Tip: chose a room close to the restaurant and reception, for your in for a long walk to breakfast and din...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

After visiting Tenerife some years ago and staying in a supposed 4* hotel I was a bit weary of what a 5* would be like, I write this as I compare to the 5* hotels of the middle east and asia.
Yes it is 5*, yes it is merited. This is a wondeful resort, and resort it is, with several restaurants and a huge complex to explore and enjoy.
So lets start with the good points.
Drink on arrival, very nice after the coach trip and flight.
Rooms are spacious and exceptionally clean.
Breakfast is plentiful and good ( I have read some reviews about the food and compared to other places I have been this is of good quality and choice).
Lunch - either in the buffet restaurant where you can pay cash or charge to room. Or the other a la carte restaurant, it is a broad range of dishes and fairly priced.
Dinner - excellent choice again.
Staff - Excellent, every question is answered well, they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Each and every interaction was beyond reproach.

Things to be aware of:
The hotel is built in a Meloneras which apart from some shops near the hotel there is not much to do outside and after a walk up the beach coast you may need to escape a bit further or plan some trips.

There is no door separating the sink area from the bedroom, so despite it being a bit separated I was woken up each time my better half washed her hands. Maybe a sliding door or something might be a solution if your reading this management.

You have to pay for the use of the in room safe. Not really a big one and the rest of the hotel is well priced for things.

Internet use in the lobby was slow as this area was free, the internet in the room was another payable option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littledinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

HOTEL
We stayed at the Baobab from 14th - 21st November on a half board basis. There are lots of reception staff and on checking in we had Petra who couldn't have been more helpful as are all the staff. The hotel itself is fabulous photos don't do it justice you have to be there, the African theme flows throughout complete with animal noises coming from the foliage beneath you when you walk through the front door to the "African" scent wafted throughout (a sort of pleasant woody aroma)
ROOM
Despite the hotel being full we were upgraded to a 4th floor sea view room at the front of the main hotel building (high rooms at the back of the main building have views over the dunes towards the sea and i would think lower rooms prob have views of the gardens & pools) Note the hotel is not on the seafront and our view of the sea was between the Lopesan Costa Meloneras and the Riu hotels opposite, we were more than happy with this as got to see the sunset. The bathroom was divided into a separate toilet,a vanity area and a wet room with a really strong hot shower and huge almost square bath. I am missing the comfy bed and that shower badly now we're home! There was plenty of wardrobe space/hangers & we found a handy Lopesan beach bag & towels in one of them together with spare pillows (there is a pillow menu if you wish for a speciality pillow although there was a daily charge for these) The mini bar was colder than most we have come across and although we didn't use the drinks supplied we filled it with supermarket drinks & nibbles. We didnt use the TV much as there were few english channels and my hubby missed having a kettle although to be fair i bet we could have asked for one.
POOLS
There are 6 or 7 pools and it was great to wander round and find them all as its lovely coming across hidden corners and fish pools as you go around. We only went to the pools twice as not really big sunbathers but we never had a problem with getting beds for the 2 of us at any pool at any time, it may be a problem in school holidays when there are large families i suppose.
FOOD
The food was better quality than other 5 star hotels we have stayed in and apart from the usual fare seemed to have various evening themes, indian, japanese, spanish, french, english (turkey night!) etc. There is free cava at the entrance for breakfast & dinner. If you are gluten free like me at breakfast tell the waitress offering you coffee that you are gluten free ("sin gluten" in spanish) and they can supply you with your choice of GF cereal, toast, and bread (for evening they also have GF pasta & pizza). I used to have bacon, fruit & toast or bread. For dinner once you know where you are sitting, go to the staff at the restaurant entrance and they will call a chef up and he will walk you round the food letting you know what is safe to eat. If you tell them what you'd like, they then cook it separately at the back to avoid cross contamination, i believe you can also order GF food in advance with the reception desk although i was never sure what id fancy so didn't do this and was happy to wait while they cooked my food.There was sometimes some confusion with the language differences with some chefs and i once got a plate of everything i pointed to when all i was asking was if it was gluten free! Please note that the best english speaking chef told me not to eat any soups, salad dressings or ice cream (he said all ice cream in gran canaria had gluten in it) If you want to eat out we found an italian that did GF pasta called Time in Maspalomas (walk along the sea front until you get to the lake, turn left to walk along the lakeside, left at the top and the bistro is at the end of that road in front of the Palm Beach Seaside hotel)
ENTERTAINMENT & BARS
Hotel entertainment is not usually our thing as we prefer to play cards in a bar or wander around the resort, we did watch one show (so so) and a football match. The drinks service was good, i think cocktails were around E6 , brandy E4.30, tea/bottles fizzy water E2.10 you can charge to your room if you wish and pay at the end.
GOLF
My hubby took his own golf clubs (Thomson charged £15) & booked golf through the hotel to get the special rates - Meloneras E80/trolley E6 & Maspalomas E89/trolley E7. In his opinion Meloneras was more stunning with the sea views
RESORT AREA
Meloneras is the "posh" resort with 5 star hotels and lovely restaurants & designer shops. Its a well looked after area and is lovely to walk around especially the promenade along the sea and the street entertainers. If you walk to the sea turn left to walk towards Maspalomas where there are some beach bars/restaurants and the start of the dunes.
TRIPS
We took a taxi to Playa Del Ingles (E6) to have a look, our rep told us its a cross between Benidorm & Blackpool, ive been to neither but it was a great people watching place. If you want to walk back along the dunes by the sea it will take you about 2hrs to get back to your actual hotel and is so worth doing if you like beach walks it was one of our best times there. There are kiosks about every 30 mins as you walk along so you can always stop for a drink.
We also got a bus to Puerto Rico for a wander around, if you walk along the coastal promenade there it will lead to to a lovely beach.
WEATHER
Weather temps varied between 19 & 28 degrees, cardi weather in morning and jacket in couple of evenings due to the wind, the middle of the day though was lovely sunbathing weather :-)
Phew think ive written enough, im off to look at holiday brochures to plan the next one now....

Room Tip: It really depends on what view you prefer so do your homework before you decide
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LovelyJubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for one week in November, and from arrival to departure we were thrilled.
Reception was excellent, we were upgraded as we'd asked for a high floor and it was worth it! Room faced the front of the hotel and although there was a little road noise, it didn't stop us sleeping (with the French doors wide open). We saw the rear rooms looking over the pool, and they got the sun in the morning, we had our sun in the afternoon and evening, which we preferred. We were on half board and the meals were gargantuan buffets, so delicious we had to scale back in case we burst! Different dinners, one night Spanish, another British (with sprouts- UGH!), another Italian or French; all tasted catered for. Pools are, admittedly, not for long swimmers, except for the winding river where you can swim for as long as you want without stopping. TV is okay, but all English speaking channels were news, news and more news.
Bars are good, entertainment is good, one or two different shows every night (in different bars). Only thing I have to crib about is the free we-fi signal. Not a strong signal and I gave up on several nights when it was slow, slow, slow. You can pay for the internet if you want, but I paid enough for the accommodation, so I didn't want to annoy my wallet by coughing up more money.

Room Tip: High is good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comeuppance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lopesan Baobab Resort, 10th January 2013 for one week. The atmosphere and design was different to the usual hotels in the area. When we arrived we were upgraded, although we hadn't told them it was our Silver Wedding Anniversary trip. The new arrivals were given a bucks fizz welcome drink, which was appreciated after the coach journey from the airport. The staff were very warm and welcoming, which we found throughout our holiday. The food, particularly the evening meal was varied and of good quality, and also had a couple of theme evenings. The room was stylish and welcoming and very clean. The grounds and selection of swimming pools looked wonderful and inviting, but it was a shame that you couldn't swim in them, even the 'heated' pool. The first pool (unheated) that I went in, up to my hips, was so cold, it was like being in the arctic, even although it was quite a hot day (about 76F). I had to get out quick as I developed the most awful cramps in my legs. I'm an experienced swimmer, but this was just impossible. We ventured around to the 'heated' pool and this was just barely tolerable for about five minutes and I just had to get out. There were even children around the pool, but none of them were playing in it, which is very unusual as normally you can't get them to come out! It's all very well having a selection of pools that look lovely and inviting, but that nobody can swim in. I think the hotel was being a bit mean, as the heated pool, especially even in a canarian winter, needs to be like a warm bath. It was also very windy which did'nt help matters either. Swimming is a big part of many people's holiday, particularly if you don't have much time when you're working etc, so it certainly spoiled our holiday for this part. We enjoyed the 'moonlight cinema' nearby, eating our meal with a glass of wine whilst watching the film, plus a duvet to snuggle under. Very cosy! Also the Palmitos park is worth visiting with the zoo and dolphin show.

Room Tip: If travelling during the winter period, pack some warm jackets etc as the evenings can be chilly.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I went 27th October this year I haven't got a bad word to say about our holiday.
We arrived in the early hour with 2 children the reception staff were waiting for us and had everything ready. Our room was very clean, when we had all our meals all the staff were helpful and kind always asked were we wanted to set. The food was really nice and lots of chose.
There was no noise at night time which suited us. This is definitely a 5 star hotel we love gran canaria and have stayed in meloneras before but this was by far the best hotel we have stayed in.
Fantastic location, brilliant professional staff, amazing building.
We will definitely be returning again next year.

Room Tip: We booked the last family room so wasn't sure what we were getting. We couldn't of asked fo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,656 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range: $224 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing