We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved this hotel so much , was sad to come home .,so much work has gone into making this hotel , the design is amazing . The rooms were comfortable and loved the walk in shower . We were half board and looked forward to the meals . So much choice , everything from roast meats , carved in front you to curry. , Chinese , tapas , Spanish , salads, fish, chocolate fountains ,and all sorts of desserts . The list is endless . You can also eat during the day at the pool bars , toasted sandwiches and also get meals at the piki piki restaurant or get a takeaway pizza and to eat by the poolside . The bar staff will bring your drinks to your sunbeds . The service was excellent , the staff worked really hard and always were friendly and the toilets by the pools were cleaned all day long . I ordered a kettle for my room and it seemed to get there before I did , now that's magic !! At night we enjoyed going up to the Richard Burton bar , great ambiance , loved the singer and atmosphere . Great cocktails , and bar staff were fab ! Also Free Wifi at that bar and the other bar by reception . Outside hotel lovely shops and a couple of supermarkets . Some nice restaurants nearby , some showing football in big screens . But as such a nice area , it's not rowdy or anything , but very relaxing . As for the hotel , we spent our days round the lazy river and the kids loved it . The only thing I think the hotel could add would be some pool tables and ice hockey tables , around each pool area for older kids and adults. Apart from that would definately go back and would recommend this hotel . The Lopesan group lives up to its reputation of being a great company with great staff !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coolcatcazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,562 - 2,568 of 6,026 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a week at the Baobab (26 Aug - 3 Sept 13). It is a stunning hotel, and looked spectacular at night when we arrived.

The reception areas are comfortable, very clean and spacious. Checking in was fast, efficient and friendly. Our room (2 adults and 3 children) was great - bigger than any other family room we have ever stayed in, comfortable beds, terrific shower/wet room, terrace, mini bar etc. We bought bottles of mineral water from the supermarket just outside the hotel and kept them in the mini bar.

The buffet-style food (half board) was amazing, an unbelievable array of really fresh food and food cooked to order by a chef (eggs in morning, meats, fish, sea food at dinner). Fantastic range of salads, fruit, pastries,. The choice was amazing and there was plenty to suit all our preferences (meat-loving son, fruit loving daughters, me a vegetarian and my husband just loves plenty of good fresh food). Chocolate donuts for breakfast became a bit too much of a habit!

The pools were our children's favourite part of the holiday - they were very clean, uncrowded and varied. Some pools were quiet and other were more suited to families. Our favourite spot was by the 'beach' as it is very shallow and good for small children. We always found 5 sunbeds right next to the water - generally I went down at around 8 am to grab some beds and there were plenty available. This was on the busiest holiday week of the year. We bought inflatables in a local shop for the children to use at around 12 euros each. With the deeper pools ,lazy river and waterfall, the children played happily for hours and worked off most of their breakfast donuts! We planned to do a couple of trips outside the hotel but it was so comfortable and relaxing that none of us wanted to leave.

The entertainments team were great - lots going on but low-key so no pressure to become involved. The evening entertainment was good - usually a show on an open-air stage and a band in one of the bars.

My son who at 13 is hard to please, declared the Baobab "perfect in every way". Some people will always find fault wherever the go. I have stayed in lots of 5* hotels and this hotel is certainly as good as them all and better than many.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pjc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel with African atmosfere,was there a week with two children that didnt want to leave the swimming pool...breakfast and dinner simply fantastic with an enormous range of everything !!!!!!the night shows could be better but if i wanted to see a better show i wouldnt expect it in a hotel...the live band is great for people that loves music from the 80 and 90.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Lopesan Baobab and can't wait to rebook for next year - it's that good! We were full board and all the food was excellent, always something different each day.

We spent the majority of our week relaxing by the lazy river pool, which was lovely! We bought a lilo which was great fun for this pool. Staff were all so friendly and the whole resort was immaculate!

Rooms were great, and location of the hotel was brilliant. Highly recommend the icecream shop called Pinguino Soul which is on the sea front.

I read on here moans about never getting a sunbed - but we never had any problems with this. Yes you had to reserve one, but do it on your way to breakfast in the morning and you will be fine! The only thing I can find to complain about is the price of soft drinks.. €2.60 for a tiny bottle of coke or fanta is ridiculous and so is €2.10 for 0.5l of water. We bought all of our soft drinks and water from the supermarket across the road and kept them in the fridge in our room (which they don't charge you for!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jules355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Lopesan from the 5th-19th Aug with husband and two boys aged 3 & 8. We had booked a Junior Suite and upon checking in we had been upgraded to a Senior Suite. We were allocated room 0085 which is on the first floor of block 9. The room is large with separate living area, this is where the boys slept, large bedroom with another pull down couch as well as the double bed ( 2xsingles). Bathroom large with separate bath, shower and toilet. Large wardrobes with plenty of space, and for the ladies it had a proper hairdryer in the bathroom, large full length mirror in the dressing area with a socket directly underneath. Small mini bar which you could fit your own cold drinks in if you chose to do so. Balcony was large too and had access from both the living and main bedroom. Negatives of the room: very dim, poor view. Location wise we were more than happy as access to the restaurants and pool areas was really good and quick, and we were far enough away from all the bars so it wasn't too noisy at night.
The pools (9 of them) are great. We spent most of our first week around the kiddies pool. Two small pools with slides and water shoots etc. Surprisingly you could get a bed here at almost any time of the day, this was a huge positive. We based ourselves here and nipped to other pools throughout the day.
The second week however we wanted a change and so tried the pool with the "beach". First, it is not sand, it is a very coarse grit like substance which is hard on the feet and obviously gets very hot. Second, if you want a bed on the "beach" you had to get there for between 5-6am to guarantee! The hotel have seriously got to get a grip on this problem. Yes we did it too, but if you don't you will have no beds. I have been to many other hotels were this problem is swiftly dealt with by leaving a warning card on reserved beds, and if not used or removed the hotel do so.
The pool at the beach is perfect for little kids as has a gentle slope into the water. Mini disco in the pool each day too at about 1pm. Water polo too for adults and kids.
We ventured to all pools throughout our stay and all lovely. If you want quiet there are two pools that are recommended as this, although they are not adult only so anyone can go in them. Much to the sheer horror on peoples faces when we tipped up (3x families with all kids an inflatables!!)on our last day to have a dip in each pool.
The lazy river is also nice for a peaceful float around.
There is a waiter service at the pools, but no call button on the umbrellas, so you just have to wait till they come by.
We stayed HB, a first for us as we usually opt for B&B only. 2 restaurants to choose from, both serve the same foods, and right next to each other. The food was ok. I personally got sick of eating in the same place after a week, and seeing the same things. The puddings were visually stunning but after you had tasted a few they all seemed to taste the same. Having said this there is ample choice to suit everyone, and a small kiddies section should they want the typical nuggets, pasta etc. We chose to eat out of the hotel in the evenings a few times and had some lovely meals.
The entertainment at the hotel was in a range from good to terrible. They had a kiddies disco each night from 8pm at the Plaza Marimba. This was followed by a show, anything from The Lion King (!!!) to a magician, to flamenco. The seats were without doubt the most uncomfortable in the world. We always managed to get a seat and waiter service was quick enough.
Upstairs in the Richard Burton Bar there is a resident band and then an 80's group once a week. Both were really good ( for a hotel) and it was a great atmosphere in here, and the chairs were incredibly comfortable.
The hotel grounds are lovely and well maintained, it is a huge hotel but you soon find your bearings. It is in a good location, 10 mins walk to bars, restaurants and some very nice high end shops. There is an open air cinema very close too showing all the latest films. The beach is about 20 mins walk, again very nice and clean, sea was very rough though.
We had a great 2 weeks at the Lopesan, but I'm not sure why I wasn't blown away by the place as so many other people are. Lots of people we spoke to had been before and said they would definitely be back. I don't think we will be.
Bad points:
We had 2 items go missing from our room, my sons teddy (Sully, monsters inc) and his Toms ( boys pumps). I honestly felt that the staff thought we had lost them and they were not too helpful. The teddy never left the room, he slept with it and that was it.
You have to pay for the safe and to change your towels for the pool. ( Not 5*)
Free wifi was available in the bars, but you could never get online. If you wanted to pay it was 8e a day.
The toilets in the public areas, although clean needed a revamp, broken handles and the taps never worked.
This may be a personal thing but I find being called "lady" by the staff really annoying, surely Miss or Madam is a term more widely used???
If you have young kiddies then you will no doubt have a great time, especially if you can travel outside school holidays. It surprised me how many couples were here, I certainly wouldn't go here if I didn't have kids.

Room Tip: Blocks 1 & 9 are furthest from bars for quiet, blocks 4 & 6 are closest to reception and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TiggerOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Gran Canaria, staying at Lopesan Baobab.

The hotel was centrally situated and within walking distance of the beach, shops and restaurants. Its African-themed décor gave a real wow factor and the grounds look stunning when lit up at night. The range of pools available was great for all ages and there was something for everyone when it came to entertainment. Inside the hotel, my room was modern and well equipped. I was particularly impressed with the wet room shower and large bath.

I must mention the food and the service in the restaurant. I have coeliac disease and this is often a problem when eating out. Chef Alex went out of his way to cook my meals out the back (to avoid cross-contamination), even though the food for everyone was a self-service buffet. He also made me fresh desserts most days, which were delicious. He was a very pleasant and courteous individual and his efforts meant I needn’t worry about being ill while on holiday.

All the staff were very polite and helpful and spoke good English. All in all an excellent and relaxing holiday. A hotel I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having already read the previous reviews I was expecting this hotel to be wonderful and I wasn't disappointed. This hotel is definitely worth the money, however they do need to sort out the issue with the sun loungers. I totally disagree with people reserving beds but you are left with no choice unless you want to hunt around all seven pools to get at least two beds together. We needed four but decided to only take three, as our kids spent most of the time in the pool. I did witness an incident were someone had reserved some loungers but when they got to them someone else had moved their towels and taken the beds for themselves. They denied doing it of course but it made for some uncomfortable watching.
We really enjoyed all the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our children can be fussy eaters but there was always something for them to eat, even if it was chips! If we decided to return to this hotel we would only go half rather than full board as staying around the hotel just because you've already paid for lunch can restrict you from doing other things. There is a snack bar which serves pizza, sandwiches etc or you can nip over to the supermarket across the road and buy a prepacked sandwich.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mummyx297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#5 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,181 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
7.3 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range: $182 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing