We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Nearby Hotels
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort(Maspalomas)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,293)
Filter reviews
6,293 results
Traveler rating
4,082
1,439
496
148
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,082
1,439
496
148
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican themewet roomrichard burtonhuge baththe wow factorstar hotelpili pilihalf boardstunning hotelfamily roomseparate toiletmoonlight cinemagran canarianews channelssand dunesbreakfast and dinnerkids club
Filter
Updating list...
2,870 - 2,875 of 6,293 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

stayed here for one week in late april and were not dissapointed the african theme this hotel adopted was stunning and something we had never experienced food was some of the best buffet food ever different choices every night staff very friendly and efficient nothing was to much trouble every where you went night or day there was someone cleaning only one thing to be careful of some waiting staff tendered to try and ignore you if did not tip well previously this was only a minority though

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craig g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Themed along 'African' lines this very large and interesting hotel provided a suitable base for a warm weather experience. Comfortable, clean room overlooking the large 'forested' pool areas and excellent buffet dining. Evening entertainment - if that's your forte, varied and ok. Bars large. Good service in all departments throughout. The chefs should be complimented on the range and quality of the food. Only issues were with heating and lack of light when dining outdoors in the cooler evenings.
One of the best bits of entertainment came watching people building pyramids of food on plates while circumnavigating the buffet layout. Absolutely no need as there's plenty for everybody, no matter how hungry you are.

Room Tip: Upper floors unsurprisingly have better views. Trees around the pools can obscure views from lower floors. Non pool facing rooms overlook a massive undeveloped area, but look across to similarly large seafront hotels and get the afternoon sun. Very much a 'pays your money' decision.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Gran Canaria before and have stopped on the bus to collect other people from this hotel, and have always wanted to stay there. We got a great deal, so that made it all the more appealing. We arrived, after many many stops to hotels on route, we did say that if we stayed again we would get a taxi from the airport, at around 7.30 on 4th May, check in was ok, very thorough, and there was a small queue. But you were given a drink, so it was ok. We were told as it was our first stay that we had been upgraded, I have to say the room was fantastic, but agree that it was a little dark, also no full length mirror, we had been given a bottle of sparkling cava for our anniversary, nice touch, hair dryer is fantastic so don't bother taking one ladies, as I did. (1800 watts) bathrobes, huge bath, very comfy beds etc. when you go into the restaurant you are asked for your room cards and all of them are swiped, this is slightly annoying, as we eat breakfast at 7 ish, then maybe have a coffee about 10, can't do this with that system. The food is among some of the best I have had in hotels abroad and I take my hat off to the chefs, well done. Excellent choice also, for both breakfast and evening meal. If you eat a bit later, say 8 pm, you are more likely to get. a table outside. We were half board so struggled at lunch time, not sure where you eat if your full board. We went out the first day for lunch, little bar on the sea front, pizza each, beer and mojito, came to 18 euros, second day we ate in the pili pili restaurant and both had sandwiches and two beers, came to 22 euros, mmmmm, third day we ate toasted sandwiches from the bar under the waterfall, not bad, but again those and two beers 19 euros, not impressed at that as they were nothing special and came with nothing, no salad or chips. We avoided eating in after that. We did have breakfast in our room on anniversary and that was just an extra 5 for the service which I thought was great value. Well worth doing as its a treat, and you get tons of choice. I have to say that the only thing for me that slightly marred the holiday was the screaming kids around the pool, I love kids, however, this was somewhat annoying, the parents did nothing to calm them, so were left to annoy other guests. we tried most of the pools, but the children seem to be around all of them, we heard other people complain, which was reassuring that it wasn't just us moaning!maybe make 1 or 2 of them adults only? Next holiday will be adults only. The pools are brilliant and plentiful sun beds. no need to reserve as hotel was full when we stayed and had no problem with this. To sum up then, great place, fantastic hotel, right in the action, and I'd give it 9/10. Would stay again if they made it adults only, or at least some of the areas adults only.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last June and had some worries prior to leaving due to the fact that the hotel had quite a few bad reviews at the time. However, as soon as we pulled up outside the hotel I knew I had nothing to worry about! On first sight the hotel is really amazing, which gets even better once inside! Small touches make the hotel what it is, such as African theme throughout the hotel (including African scents pumped out in areas such as the halls and lobby). Was also really pleased about the fact that despite arriving fairly late (10.30) we were told to go straight to the restaurant to get our evening meal before the restaurants shut and then come back to check in afterwards. Our bags were taken from the coach for us and we didn't see them until we went to our room after dinner and checking in. We travelled as a young couple (18) and despite it being a family hotel we still agreed this was the best hotel we had ever stayed in. There was no disturbance from young children as the hotel is so vast! Rooms are fantastic, large and modern with a lovely separate walk in shower. We also got upgraded to a pool view room on arrival which was an extra bonus! Overall a really amazing week at this hotel and I would not delay to book again in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

On first walking into this hotel we knew it was going to be something different.
Of course we had checked trip advisor and nearly all reviews were very good and the pictures made it look good, but WOW when we arrived the size of the entrance was amazing.
The whole hotel makes you feel if you have walked into Africa. This hotel has sounds and smells to add to the ambience that makes it so different to any other hotel. The main bar looks like a gigantic wooden tree house with wooden walkways joining it to a very different modern comfortable reception area. Most walkways have glass walls so everyone (adults and children) can see many parts of this unique hotel as you move around
The gardens and pools meander around the complex so you can wander around always being in a restful place. Watch out for some surprise animals hiding among the trees, obviously not real but certainly not tacky either.
Hotel spotlessly clean and staff always on hand to help with a smile.
Food very plentiful could never try all options available. Every possible choice at each mealtime of breads, starters, entrees, mains, deserts and cheese and fruits.
Rooms are large and again always spotless, loved the rainfall shower in wet bathroom. Good quiet air conditioning.
Extremely good value for money, we normally go all inclusive but this worked out much cheaper going half board and paying for drinks.
Some good entertainment in the evenings with varied themes.
Excellent children's entertainment especially mini disco each evening, great to watch even if you have no children, you will be humming those tunes for a while afterwards.

One niggle for hotel,staff gate needs a silencer to stop banging.

Room Tip: Almost half of rooms overlook either pools and gardens or the front of the hotel. Pools and gardens rooms also look over stage and restaurants, rooms that look out to the front look towards sea and small town. Your choice.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews