We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“African Themed Luxury Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“African Themed Luxury Family Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We've just got back from a week staying at the Lopesan Baobab hotel in Meloneras, Gran Canaria. We travelled with our 11 month old son.
We had a wonderful stay, the hotel is huge, but fantastic, its immaculately clean, great african themed areas and art work, loads of swimming poolswith 2 small children's pools. The food is of a really good quality, we were half board and thoroughly enjoyed our lengthy breakfasts and evening meals. The rooms are modern, well equipped with comfortable beds. Service is very friendly and professional. Entertainment is provided and varied, there are some really nice relaxing bars for an evening drink too.
We'll definitely be back with our son, if you want a nice resort with a great family hotel, look no further.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globalduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,398
    1,197
    418
    119
    102
See reviews for
2,297
2,198
66
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel is rated 5* BUT
1. A/C control was a 3 speed fan switch so NO temperature control.
2. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room,
3. Hot Food was invariably cold (even under the hot-plates)
4. TV selection channels were only News for UK, other countries had entertainment channels,(and there were spare channels available),
5. The Bar areas were too large and seating spacious with some weird styles(some not even used by people) so you couldn't get to talk to others easily or see the "band" (which were not spotlighted or on a stage)).in the Dodori Bar.
The Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, the pool area very well laid out with an African Theme and the rooms are a very good size. Overall experience was GOOD but as above could be improved.

Room Tip: Block 3 2nd/3rd floor rooms overlooking pool area best for views to Maspolamas Dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 808Mike_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the moment you leave the transfer bus you are struck by the African theme of this hotel. Both the buildings and the interior design are amazing, with furniture, lights and fittings reflecting African villages. The gardens are full of beautiful plants and very well tended. Full size models of African animals set within the trees keep children interested. The restaurant has an endless selection of food of a high quality. Every member of staff is polite and willing to help. The lazy river which winds around the grounds is a relaxing experience as you swim with the gentle current. Bar staff wander past loungers occasionally, without pressure, and wait for a wave to take a drinks order.
Rooms are large and well designed. We would love to go back sometime.

Room Tip: All rooms are large with balconies. May be quieter in block two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Very relaxed two week stay with our two year old daughter, the mini club with Panchi is super for the little ones by the way.
The restaurant offers a wide variety of meals, something for everyone for sure.
The junior suite we stayed in was a comfortable one and the minibar was free of charge.
The overall African theme makes the hotel very impressive, both from the outside as from the inside.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a week at this five star ??? Hotel but unfortunately we did not think it lived up to the impressive entrance. Very dark and cold inmost places , no comfortable seats and only wifi in the reception. Some pools are heated if your able to get a sun bed as they were reserved very early. The restaurant was pleasant but quite dark. Large selection of food but not very hot. Deserts were excellent and they excelled for the children with large selection of chocolate Easter eggs and bunnies. Drinks were expensive 2.20 for a bottle of water. We got upgraded to a family room with twin beds and a settee, the bath was huge and the power shower excellent. The wardrobes were big but my wife had trouble reaching the hangers. We think there should have been tea and coffee making facilities and maybe an iron. The mini bar was full. We found it very noisy at times as we were surrounded by a lot of crying babies and children. On a positive note the staff couldn't have been friendlier and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryB476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Well, most of it's been said before...so will keep it brief!

The Good.
It's a fantastic hotel resort, loads of great pools, rooms are v good, food is excellent. Very well suited to our 4, 7 and 9 year old kids - we had an amazing 10 days over Easter. Very interesting architecture and artefacts dotted about and beautiful plants everywhere. Tasteful, relaxed and all together wonderful. Pools interesting, fun and varied. Richard Burton Bar in the evening really mellow. Fab chairs everywhere! Clean and well maintained grounds and rooms. All gorgeous.

The Bad.
We tried for 4 months to book interconnecting rooms which we were told did exist, then didn't exist, then did exist but you can't book then, they don't exist, oh, actually they do exist but only for disabled, yes, maybe you can have one, actually no you can't, actually we don't have any....actually yes we do, you get the drift.... reception spent the whole tome fobbing us off. Eventually a helpful honest girl moved us to a very odd room with a triangular extra room.... it was pretty good tho and we were happy. The suites looked wonderful but the hotel sadly couldn't upgrade us to a family room, suite or anything as it was full. So my main criticism was that we did not experience great service from the front desk on a number of levels....they lost our bags on departure bla bla bla....but they tried and to be fair it didn't spoil the stay one bit.

The Ugly. There was nothing ugly...!...(apart from the huge blocky entrance building)....but as soon as you were in the resort you were surrounded by beautiful, creative touches. Different. Lush. Interesting. 10/10.

So all in all a really good hotel. I'm not sure out of the Costa Meloneras or this we'd return to....both are beautiful in their own way....but we definitely shall be returning as they are such brilliant child friendly, relaxing and classy destinations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassatunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with an impressive entrance and reception area. Rooms are a good size and are clean. Swimming pools are clean and there are quite a few of them. Buffet food is good quality and varies each night. We found some of the meat joints quite fatty and chewy though. Staff are friendly and helpful. Good location, about 15 mins to the beach. Lovely area and lots of nice shops.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Property: Lopesan Baobab Resort
Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing