We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$271
$262
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,566)
Filter reviews
6,566 results
Traveler rating
4,240
1,502
526
157
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,240
1,502
526
157
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican themewet roomrichard burtonhuge baththe wow factorstar hotelpili pilihalf boardstunning hotelfamily roommoonlight cinemaseparate toiletgran canariasand dunesnews channelskids clubthe lazy river pool
Filter
Updating list...
3,359 - 3,364 of 6,566 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

cannot put into words what a truly exhilarating experience this hotel provides. yes its quirky but thats what you get with an african themed hotel .. nothing can truly prepare you for the experience..the food is simply outstanding i couldnt really get passed the bread selection and the vast array of desserts is overwhelming. breakfast also incredible... smoothies ..where else would you get these as part of the standard fayre? great hotel for exploring, set in vast grounds loads of different themed pools some with sady beaches, one for toddlers, one adults only, lazy river.
rooms to die for, huge, massive balconies, oversized baths , separate wet room power shower
whole complex is spotlessly clean.
the only people complaining obviously come from that brigade that always want something for nothing. i have stayed in lots of different hotels and this puts the lot of them in the shade, especially the ones in sharm.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
9  Thank jakeyboy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear guest,

We highly appreciate your comments published on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Lopesan Baobab Resort.

We are also very content to hear that you savored the quality of our breakfast and dinner buffets as well as our desserts. As the welfare of our guests is extremely important to us, we are eager to provide our guests with a personal and competent service at any time. The service level is of great importance for us and we are delighted that we met your expectations.

We hope that you will return soon and remain.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is really good,some very nice touches here and there do make a big difference to your holiday and sometimes go unnoticed,the service was 1st class,we were upgraded to a superb pool view room it was fab,excellent food,the swimming pools are fantastic although one pool area was ruined by the arrival of a fat foul mouthed woman with dyed blonde hair and black roots who tore into a guy calling him "a tard" (there was a disabled child sitting behind her) who splashed her with water in the swimming pool cause she didn't want get her crows nest of a hair do wet a truly disgusting woman who sat there smoking in front of her 2 young daughters had no right being in such a fine hotel I saw her partner buy the guy a beer to apologise for his wife's behaviour, she sat next to the bridge so everyone had to walk past this thing to get back to there rooms,she could easily have been removed from the hotel but even she couldn't spoil the enjoyment of this superb hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steviejojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear guests
We would wish to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel and to share your experiences on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you fully enjoyed your holidays and that you have been satisfied with our services and installations.

Once again, we thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back at the Lopesan Baobab Resort on a future holiday.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have just returned from ten days at the Baobab and we were just blown away by this hotel!! I looked at loads of photos and reviews here before we went but nothing prepares you for the reality of this visually stunning hotel. It must have cost a fortune to build and the attention to the African theme is amazing. Our luggage was taken from our taxi on arrival and brought to our room. The welcome cocktail we had as we checked in was a lovely touch and a great way to start the holiday! We had booked a family room and were given a bigger than usual family room, which instead of having the two double beds , had a standard size room with a seperate double bedroom attached! It was at the end of block nine. Really great family room. Lots of storage space and always cleaned to a spotless standard, although we never got one of the famous chocolates left on our pillow :(. No need to bring shower gel cause they supply a full size one in the wetroom.

The pools are all amazing. Cleaned every day and were a pleasent temperature. Plenty of activities all day organised by the animation team. Gym classes, aqua aerobics, yoga and zumba available in the morning. Vollyball with the lovely Laura at one. French boules and football in the afternoon . Kids had plenty going on in the great kids club. Evenings started with the kiddie disco at half seven, followed by the resident band and then the main show at nine thirty. Different show each night. Il Divo were brillant and the magician was also was very good. Then after the show the band came back on again till eleven thirty. There was also a kids movie shown every afternoon in one of the upstairs bars. The last two days we were there they had a bouncy castle in the plaza, which the kids loved!! Panchi the hotel character was loved by all. He came into the restaurants at night and was around during the day too. You can buy a Panci toy and all the kids had one. He was really popular!!

All the staff we encountered where really lovely and could not do enough for you. Full marks to them all! As for the food, "WOW" is the only way to describe it! We were on half board and had planned on eating out a couple of nights but in the end we were so happy with the buffet we never went anywhere else. Choice and quality was excellent!You could have upto five courses if you wanted. Starter, soup, main, dessert and then cheese to finish off! Four of the nights we were there were Gala nights and on these nights you get a glass of cava on arrival and the chocolate fountain is out ( only complaint is there was no strawberries or marshmallows available for the fountain!! They only have cake or jellies to dip!). Penty of choice of meat and fish dishes and changed every night. We never ate the same thing twice! I thought the Marula restaurant was the quieter restaurant for breakfast if you want to avoid queues for the food or coffee. Try the freshly made fruit smoothies, they are delicious!!!

We didnt find the hotel dark or too sprawling and we were at the very end of the hotel! Also, a previous reviewer said that they didnt think this hotel was suitable for couples. I really dont agree with this. There was plenty of couples of all ages there and they were all enjoying themselves. We spoke to an older couple who were on thier second visit in six months and they loved it there! We would go back as a couple. There is plenty of quite spots but in saying that I never saw any screaming children running wild! Only plenty of well behaved children having fun with thier families. Its a great hotel suitable for everyone! Eat a bit later if you want the restaurant to be a little quiter. The Marula is open from seven and the Baobab 6:30 to 7:30 and reopens again at 8:15 to 10. There is free WI FI in the Samual Baker bar.

To sum up, we loved this hotel. It exceeded all our expectations! Would we go back? Definitely! Missing you already Baobab! Thanks for a great holiday!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor right at the end of block nine and we had no noise from other rooms. Room 2195 for the extra large family room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IrelandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and also for choosing our hotel for your holidays.

The Lopesan Baobab Resort defines itself as a family friendly resort, but our goal is to provide also a relaxed holiday for couples and/or singles, so we are extremely glad that you have been pleased with the services and facilities provided and we really appreciate that you will come back as a couple also.

Thank you very much for especially highlighting the quality of food produced as well as the friendliness of our employees.

Best personal regards from Gran Canaria,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I went to this hotel with all my family as it was my 40th birthday and what a fantastic time we all had ! . It was very clean and the staff were all very friendly . on arrival we were given a non alcaholic glass of fruit coctail and our cases were taken up to our rooms . the rooms are very spacious with comfy beds a , a mini bar inside the wardrobe but you will be charged if you use it .we found it useful for keeping our alcahol cold and the kids drinks .their are 9 pools although our kids prefered the lazy river and their is always plenty of sunbeds available.the food was fab with plenty to choose from each night and was always hot .My daughter loved the freshly cooked pancakes and the chocolate fountain in the evenings.On my birthday the hotel gave us a free bottle of champagne and my husband had asked them if the local bakery could make me a cake and they did which was beautiful . My only complaints were the evening entertainment was a little drab ,the lift doors close on you very quickly and you get no sun on your balconies but overall i wouldnt hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharon_r555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel for your family vacation and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your 40th birthday and we are proud that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate this special event. We also like to thank you for your praise about our staff and food quality. We are paying special attention to the service level in the hotel and we are very happy that we met your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon and remain.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Wow, what a fantastic hotel!! Best hotel we have ever been to. Great African theme throughout, great pools, loads of food, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. There were always loads of free sun loungers around the pool. The rep said the hotel was 80% full but the hotel had so much room that it was never crowded. Room had a nice bathroom/shower. We rang down to reception to borrow and iron and ironing board. The light in the bedroom had its own reading light on it. There was a bag in the wardrobe which you could use for each towels. They supplied beach towels which you could change by the pool when you wanted to. We went on two trips with Thomson - Music Hall Tavern (drag night) and Sioux City. Both were good and well organised. The resort of Maspalomas was very clean, and upmarket. There are a few supermarkets five minutes walk away, and a shopping mall. We popped in to look at the other hotel owned by Lopesan which was over the road, we went and played mini golf there for 2 euros each. All in all a fantastic holiday, we will definitely be going back. We went as a couple but the hotel is ideal for families. They showed films late afternoon on the big screen, children's films, also show the football etc. I was very impressed they had facilities for the disabled including a hoist at the pool. Only thing that could have been improved would be some more tv channels in English to watch whilst getting ready in the evenings, nothing major as you don't go away to watch tv!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor, it was overlooking the road, could see part of a pool but it was not overlooking the main pools, they wanted 45 euros a night to upgrade to one of these
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L8177ETalisonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort for your holiday here on Gran Canaria and to share your experiences on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you spent relaxing sunny days here on the Island during your stay at our Hotel and that we fulfilled your expectation.

It has been our pleasure and honor being your host and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Lopesan Baobab Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews