We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,715)
Filter reviews
6,715 results
Traveler rating
4,341
1,535
540
158
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,341
1,535
540
158
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviews african theme wet room richard burton huge bath the wow factor star hotel pili pili half board stunning hotel family room moonlight cinema separate toilet gran canaria sand dunes news channels kids club the lazy river pool
Filter
Updating list...
3,435 - 3,440 of 6,715 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I went to this hotel with all my family as it was my 40th birthday and what a fantastic time we all had ! . It was very clean and the staff were all very friendly . on arrival we were given a non alcaholic glass of fruit coctail and our cases were taken up to our rooms . the rooms are very spacious with comfy beds a , a mini bar inside the wardrobe but you will be charged if you use it .we found it useful for keeping our alcahol cold and the kids drinks .their are 9 pools although our kids prefered the lazy river and their is always plenty of sunbeds available.the food was fab with plenty to choose from each night and was always hot .My daughter loved the freshly cooked pancakes and the chocolate fountain in the evenings.On my birthday the hotel gave us a free bottle of champagne and my husband had asked them if the local bakery could make me a cake and they did which was beautiful . My only complaints were the evening entertainment was a little drab ,the lift doors close on you very quickly and you get no sun on your balconies but overall i wouldnt hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharon_r555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel for your family vacation and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your 40th birthday and we are proud that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate this special event. We also like to thank you for your praise about our staff and food quality. We are paying special attention to the service level in the hotel and we are very happy that we met your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon and remain.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Wow, what a fantastic hotel!! Best hotel we have ever been to. Great African theme throughout, great pools, loads of food, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. There were always loads of free sun loungers around the pool. The rep said the hotel was 80% full but the hotel had so much room that it was never crowded. Room had a nice bathroom/shower. We rang down to reception to borrow and iron and ironing board. The light in the bedroom had its own reading light on it. There was a bag in the wardrobe which you could use for each towels. They supplied beach towels which you could change by the pool when you wanted to. We went on two trips with Thomson - Music Hall Tavern (drag night) and Sioux City. Both were good and well organised. The resort of Maspalomas was very clean, and upmarket. There are a few supermarkets five minutes walk away, and a shopping mall. We popped in to look at the other hotel owned by Lopesan which was over the road, we went and played mini golf there for 2 euros each. All in all a fantastic holiday, we will definitely be going back. We went as a couple but the hotel is ideal for families. They showed films late afternoon on the big screen, children's films, also show the football etc. I was very impressed they had facilities for the disabled including a hoist at the pool. Only thing that could have been improved would be some more tv channels in English to watch whilst getting ready in the evenings, nothing major as you don't go away to watch tv!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor, it was overlooking the road, could see part of a pool but it was not overlooking the main pools, they wanted 45 euros a night to upgrade to one of these
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L8177ETalisonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort for your holiday here on Gran Canaria and to share your experiences on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you spent relaxing sunny days here on the Island during your stay at our Hotel and that we fulfilled your expectation.

It has been our pleasure and honor being your host and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Lopesan Baobab Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel immediately exceeded my expectations! The hotel was lovely, very clean and the staff were very helpful and polite. They were brilliant on both check-in and checking out, offering us a complementary drink. The food was always hot and there was lots of choice and different choices available every night.
The pools are very clean, spacious and they never feel full. Plenty of sunbeds around all of the pools, but have to say the Lazy River Pool is by far the best for both families and couples.
Fantastic hotel with fantastic views and is great for kids, especially the mascot and the mini disco every night!

As other people have said the walls are thin, but it wasn't noisy where we were.
Only downfall was the nightly entertainment, it was more catered for kids or older couples, so me and my partner often went elsewhere for enterainment.

Thomson rep Pete was fantastic, was always helpful and pointed us in the right direction for local reliable excursions and trips. He would often stop for a chat!
Would definatley return to this hotel!! Brilliant overall!

Room Tip: Higher floor = Better view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear guest

We would like to thank you very much for evaluating your recent holidays at the Lopesan Baobab Resort on Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure for us to read that you have been fully satisfied with all the mentioned aspects of your stay and we would like to thank you in particularly for your appreciation concerning our mascot “Panchi”.

Moreover, it is a delight to know that you were especially satisfied with our staff’s work and service, as we always do our utmost to accommodate our guest’s needs.

We are glad that we have been able to live up to your expectations and would be very happy to welcome you back soon.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My daughter and I booked a week here for a relaxing holiday by the pool. Set in a lovely quiet resort is this impressive hotel. Only three years old despite its size due to the excellent design you never feel overwhelmed or crowded in. Eight pools and a lazy river set in tropical gardens in and around the hotel are amazing and provide a spot for everyone. There are areas ideal for families with children as well as areas ideal for adults wanting a bit of peace and quiet with plenty of beds for everyone. Food is excellent with something for everyone, hot and cold dishes and the deserts are amazing. Staff can not do enough for you, everything is spotlessly clean even the pool toilets. The standard of rooms is excellent, well laid out, plenty of space, proper hairdryers with everything you could possibly need though walls and ceilings are thin. I will definately be going back.

Ideal if all you want is a relaxing time in luxurious surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor to alieviate the noise of people walking about.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel for you and your daughter and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

We highly appreciate your positive comments about your stay, especially about the food quality, the facilities and your appreciation about our family concept. We attach great importance to the well-being of families with children and we are very happy to hear that our efforts met with your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon and remain.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I went here on my own with a special deal for a single occupancy. The reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was perfect. A separate toilet and large shower area were apart from the basin/mirror which was incorporated in the main room, but in a very efficient way.
The room was very clean and linen and towels were replaced often (I kept receiving two of each if I wanted, every day, even with single occupancy).
The beds were very nice, large and not too hard and not too soft
Breakfast was abundant and so was dinner, having a different variety of food every night.
When checking out, there was some confusion about the minibar, which I had not used but was billed for, although only about 5 Euro.
The employee at the desk made this no problem and took it of the bill immediately.
When I stayed here, a lot of families with children were also present.

I certainly had a wonderful experience and will come back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the streetside (West) were quiet as the main pool area is on the other side.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DubbelDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the Lopesan Baobab Resort we wish to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay.

It is a pleasure to hear that you fully enjoyed your holidays and that you have been satisfied with our services and installations.

We also hope that you will return soon to give us the chance to provide you again an unforgettable stay and remain.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews