We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace(Maspalomas)(Great Value!)
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$272
$262
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,568)
Filter reviews
6,569 results
Traveler rating
4,242
1,502
527
157
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,242
1,502
527
157
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican themewet roomrichard burtonhuge baththe wow factorstar hotelpili pilihalf boardstunning hotelfamily roommoonlight cinemaseparate toiletgran canariasand dunesnews channelskids clubthe lazy river pool
Filter
Updating list...
3,375 - 3,380 of 6,569 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Just returned from a 1 week stay at this hotel..(May 2012)...with partner and our 4 year old daughter...All three of us had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday here....The pools are fantastic and the grounds are kept immaculately clean.
Our family room was very comfortable and again exceptionally clean.
The food both at breakfast and evening meal was always fresh and with a varied choice to sort most palates....Minor niggle was queues for coffee machine in the morning...I don't like to wait for my caffeine injection for too long...
The childrens mini club was very good - The young people working in the mini club were enthusiastic and the children were very comfortable in their company.
The evening entertainment was a little tame but having said that it is definitely not a lager and karaoke resort - if you are looking for that take a taxi into Playa...
Would highly recommend this hotel to both couples and young families....I do understand that some people prefer children to be seen and not heard but I have to say that we never once were troubled by unruly children in this hotel....on the contrary the relaxed nature of this hotel made for a very happy and relaxing break..
Try it for yourself.....

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear guest:

On behalf of the entire team of the Lopesan Baobab Resort we wish to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you spent wonderful days here in our hotel and that you had been very pleased with the service and facilities provided, especially with the friendliness of our employees in the mini club and the quality of food prepared by our chefs.

Once again, we appreciate very much that you have chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are looking forward to welcome you back to the Lopesan Baobab Resort.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My partner & I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Baobab, we're both in our thrities. This is our second visit to the Baobab, our first visited was in the initial year of opening in 2010. We fell in love with the relaxed, modern and luxurious feel of the resort so decided to return.
What we immediately noticed this time around was the increase in the number of people at the hotel, especially families with young children (1-5 year olds). I can hardly remember any children during our first visit so can only assume this was because the hotel was still getting on its feet.
Unfortunately for us this put a real dampner on the holiday this time around, you could not have a meal or a drink at the bar without hearing a child screaming or crying somewhere. It didn't seem to matter what time you went down from dinner in the evening there were still children in the restaurant.
During the welcome meeting the rep told us that they encouraged families to go into the second restuarant as this had more space for families but this wasn't enforced.
Its a shame really because the layout and design of this hotel isn't really suited for young children due to the amount of glass, water, steps and trip hazards yet because it is classed as 'African' themed and they've added a few concrete giraffes, zebra and crocadiles I assume families are drawn to it as they would a Disney hotel.
The hotel remains the newest on the island and is appartently the second biggest resort in Spain (the Lopesan Costa Melonaras opposite being the biggest). It is visually stunning but if you are a couple looking for a quiet holiday away from children and familes I would choose one of the other hotels in the area but come and have a look around this hotel when you get there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrV101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and also for your choosing our hotel for the second time.

We are sorry to hear that this time we could not meet a 100% with your expectations.

The Lopesan Baobab Resort defines itself as a family friendly resort, but our goal is to provide also a relaxed holiday for couples and/or singles and not only to satisfy the needs of families with children. For this purpose we have established a relax area with two separate pools on the backside of the hotel and also a special family restaurante in times of higher family ocupation.

Even so we would be delighted to welcome you again for the third time and remain

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from Lopesan Baobab. A weeks break and my wife and I are looking to go again next year! Great resort, great food, great service, beautiful modern rooms, you couldn't want anything better. The Lazypool is fantastic, there's something for everyone here. If you're considering staying, book it!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank m1nder77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear guest

We highly appreciate your comments posted on Trip Advisor and we would like to thank you for your confidance in us by choosing our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was to your full satisfaction and that you enjoyed every detail of our hotel.

It was a pleasure for us having you met as guests of the Lopesan Baobab Resort and we hope to welcome you back on future holidays.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our first experience of full-board and we were definitely a bit nervous, particularly about the food and the restaurant. However, it was amazing. I cannot say enough positive words about the staff, especially in the restaurant and on the front desk. They were all very friendly and welcoming. The cleaning staff were *always* working and there was never, ever any litter or dirt anywhere. We were also worried that the African theme might be cheesy, but it is very well done -- the lighted baobabs are particuarly good, and there is a huge range of interesting chairs. The range of pools is good, although the weather was not conducive to sitting around the pool all day, unfortunately. The only minor complaints I have are that the second, fold-out bed was not particularly comfortable -- it was clearly used most often by a single person, so when two people tried to sleep there it was awkward; the second minor niggle is that the rep says on the first day that the staff do not allow reservations of sunbeds and that they would clear any towels or items left there -- this definitely did not happen, so it was early down to the poolside for us. Overall a 5-star experience -- would definitely recommend to the pickiest of travellers.

Room Tip: You can definitely hear the music at night in the poolside rooms, but they are worth it for the view. Definitely no other noise issues.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LovelyTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear guest

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel for your recent vacation and also for posting your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted, that your first experience of full-board has been in our hotel and we are relieved that it has been a positive one. We would also like to thank you especially for your nice comments about our staff. Please be asured that we will forward your praise to each and one of them.

It has been indeed a pleasure to be your host during your vacation and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is best suited to families (kids will love it) but the gimmicky theme quickly becomes tiresome. All the staff were great - as were the grounds. Lighting was poor, especially the switch layouts in the bedrooms. The bathroom wetroom drainage was really poor. Food was very good. The airconditioning throughout the hotel and rooms was very poor. Bedroom soundproofing was not good.

Not a refined (adult) hotel like the Lopesan Villa Del Conde or Costa Meloneras.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews