We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 2, 2012

While I really liked this Hotel, I'm not sure if I would return. While I do rate it 5 stars as I enjoyed my holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it there was a couple of niggles that bugged me.

Positives:

- Building very different & interesting, gardens immaculate & beautiful with scented flowers
- Food varied every night & very good. Although if you are not keen on salads, veg & fish you will struggle. There is a meat choice every night as well.
-Inside & outside eating areas. Outside eating areas are low lit (which I liked) with very novel & pretty lamp like heating things.
- Staff very pleasant & helpfull
-Sun beds & umbrellas plentiful, good quality & comfortable.
-Bedroom & bathroom immaculately clean.
-Surrounding area very pleasant with a supermarket within two minute walk. Good selection of cafes & restaurants.
-Beautiful beach 5 - 10 minutes walk away.
-Pool areas Excellent.
-We don't have children. The child pool looked excellent and I could image the Hotel being a fun place for children. The children's reps and animation team seemed to be very good.

Not so keen on:
-With the design of the rooms very few balconies that i could see get any sun at all. Due to this I found the room very dark and actually quite cold at times.
-There are no double beds only two singles pushed togeather and made up with seperate sheets. The beds are on coasters and the floor tiled so tend to travel if you lean against the headboard to read.
-Sound proofing in the rooms is very poor, this + tiled floors + high heels & heavy footed children = a lot of annoying noise.
-Due to the Hotel being in a fairly built up area you may have a high degree of traffic noise in your room. (not so much around the pool though).

Overall I loved the food and communal areas of the Hotel as everywhere there was something different to look at. The building itself inside and out really is very clever and beautiful. For me it fell down at the bedrooms I found the decor of the rooms quite boring & lacking in comparison. I really very much disliked the colour and style of the room. I just found it not very relaxing and a little depressing.

However given the price we got the Hotel for I felt it was exceptional value and really did enjoy my time here.

Room Tip: Ask for as high as room as possible. This is the only way to have any chance of sun on your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank flossie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,113 - 3,119 of 5,946 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here in September 11. We have two kids who at the time were 3 and 1. When we arrived at the hotel it had a real wow factor - the audible effects and the visual wow really made the long trip (two kids on a plane) worth it.

We were given the wrong sized room but after talking tor reception they swapped us immediately. The room was comfortable with large beds, clean and lots of room.

The real wow of this hotel is the outside areas. A swimming pool for everyone! kids pools, quite pools,bar pools and the lazy river. The kids loved it!

We were half board and the food was great. The staff even heated our kids milk bottes while we ate ready for bed. The staff in the restaurant entertained the kids with good banter and were always very attentive.

Awesome hotel and we will be going again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Spent a week here half-board late January. Staff were very welcoming and friendly - entered across a very impressive wooden bridge to the sound of piped monkey calls which set the 'African' theme. Restaurant food was good and generally easy to get a table. No real problems with sun-loungers (nice not have to have to get up at 6am to reserve!), although the sunnier spots did tend to go earlier. The 'river' pool was fantastic and just the right (refreshing!) temperature, unlike the lower pool which was very cold.

Only small issues, some noise from adjoining rooms, very limited free wi-fi and most of the bars were too cold to sit in comfortably in the evenings without wrapping up (unless you could bag one of the heater lamps). However we were there in low season and would envisage in the summer that the breezes are most welcome. Overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms have the better view, but try and get one towards the top end of the complext to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have just returned home from a week stay with our 2 year old son & felt compelled to write a review having booked this hotel off the back of other reviews.

It was fantastic, hotel was stunning, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly hotel staff, the kids facilities were brilliant our two year old had a great time playing in the kids pool, ball pit & mini disco with panchi every night.

We stayed in room 0123 that was a family room which was on the ground floor it faced the shopping centre so got the sun in the evening. Very spacious rooms with wet room bathroom.

The area of meloneras was beautiful, very chic and upmarket, designer boutique shops & delightful promenade. Visited puerto mogan and thought that was very pretty & well worth a visit, stay well clear of playa de ingles - tacky, dirty with cockroaches. You can't beat the area we stayed in.

The only fault with this hotel was there was no live daytime music while your sipping your cocktails, which would have been an added bonus but no big deal. Can't think off anything worse to say than that. Do not hesitate BOOK IT! Will certainly be back. Exceeded all expectations. Just stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NattyWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Very interesting style of Hotel. Looks unusual very African in looks and décor jungle sounds are play over a PA system on entrance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBootland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, fantastic in generel! We just came back from a week, our first vacation with our 9 mths old daughter. We got a crib and a water boiler on request, extra towels, the restaurant is filled with high chairs, the staff was very friendly to kids. The rooms are nice, do not have the typical old smell since the hotel is new. We will definitely recommend everybody with or without children to go to Lopesan Baobab. The resort is so big that there is a lot of secluded areas around, and you can always find a quiet place. For sure not the last time we stayed there....and if you go to Gran Canaria be sure to go to Costa Meloneras; class act area compared to close-by Playa del Ingles

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

well where to start,this is not just a hotel its an experience,from the minute you arrive and walk through the door you know this is something special,the rooms are superb,the food excellent with a good choice,the pools have there own beach,if you have children i am sure that they would have a great time.i know that a few people have mentioned the hotel being dark and it is but that adds to the experience,i have really been trying to find something to moan about but the only thing i can think of is,the entertainment could be better,so pack now go and have a holiday that you will never forget (for all the right reasons).

Room Tip: high up pool view worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nessyNewcastleStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#6 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,167 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
#9 of 218 in Maspalomas
3,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range: $175 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing