We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,051)
Filter reviews
4,051 results
Traveler rating
2,643
938
305
106
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,643
938
305
106
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk in wardrobe dressing room star hotel half board quiet pool ovo restaurant plaza area sea view gran canaria beautiful hotel house band thalasso spa breakfast and dinner resident band separate shower evening entertainment room safe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 4,051 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
villadelconde, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
villadelconde, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We were very astonished about the Very poor service at the reception:
- staff took nearly 1 h to register us and despite the fact that we paid our both rooms in advance we received 2 times letters in our room asking misleadingly that we still had not paid!! At the bar we were denied drinks with the argument that we had not yet paid. When we clarified it at the reception showing our receipt proving the payment the staff did not excuse but was quite unfriendly!
- after having ordered paid and confirmed a shuttle to the airport for 10.30 am, when it did not arrive at 10.45 we complained at the reception staff said we just had to wait 7 more minutes. When at 11 am the taxi was still not there and in order not to miss our plane we had to take a new taxi tha lady at the reception not only did not apologize, she refused to pay the taxi (even though we had already paid the shuttle) and was very unpolite and unfriendly.
- room service was very poor :
in our 2 rooms we astonishingly found foreign spots on our bed sheets.
Staff members came into the room without knocking/ asking and reacted in unfriendly way when asked not to enter

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelconde, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Charlotte K,


first of all thank you very much for your visit at Lopesan Villa del Conde.

In our daily improvement process the comments of our guests are one of the most important part for being able to continue fulfilling wishes and expectations and we are sorry that on this occasion we didn't manage to satisfy all your expectations.
We apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room cleaning and also the reception staff and of course we have taken note and given this next to the persons in charge in order to have a close look in the mentioned situations and to improve in future.

Also we have always very positive feedbacks especially regarding the helpfulness and kindness of our staff and suppose that maybe there were a miscommunication because of the language.
Thank you also for your constructive criticism, which helps us to improve our services every day.


Please in further cases get directly in touch with our public relation department that we have the chance to improve your stay and create you an unique experience

We hope to welcome you soon back and to correct the image you have taken from the Lopesan Villa del Conde.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

This is our 8 visit in 8 years and one we very much look forward to.
Anybody visiting for the first time will not be disappointed- wonderful location and superb food. However, on returning to the hotel with the high expectations that we have been use to from the Lopesan Group there are several aspects that would make us reconsider returning again next year.
Firstly the unfriendly welcome upon arrival from the reception, secondly the standard of the Rooms are very poor, tatty and dark with bad lighting, we are aware of the rooms being refurbished but for a 5 star hotel it's not acceptable, we are paying a premium price which brings us to the next point concerning the Unique club, where guess are paying for the privilege of certain aspects of the hotel "a them and us situation".
This will put us off in the future if this trend continues as a 5 star hotel, A La Carte should be just that.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank LindaT860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelconde, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Dear Linda,

thank you very much for your visit and kind word to our staff.

First of all, we regret the inconvenience caused by the improvement works in some areas of our hotel. This works can cause occasional inconvenience, although our team tries to minimize any inconvenience.

We are in an ongoing process of improving facilities and service, which derives from our ongoing commitment to provide the best service to our guests so that their stay will remain unique and memorable.

We sincerely apologize for the uncomfortable situation.

It is definitely not the intention of Lopesan our guests in any way to classify between different class society.
Since the hotel market is constantly changing, we try to keep up with these in order to offer our guests always new offers and services and to be able to keep up with the service of the competition.
Of course always without neglecting our customers, as our hotel has enough space and staff to meet the needs of all our guests.
The Hotel have several pools and also have a lot of spacious areas so that we always have enough sunbeds available for each guest.
In case a guest do not find a free sunbed, our lifeguard is always at the disposal of our guests to find a free space.
Furthermore, our hotel always offers the possibility, if the there is a room available in the Unique category to offer guests a room upgrade with the corresponding additional tariff if they wish to stay in this category and to use the additional services.


Thank you very much for your constrictive criticism which helps us to improve our standards and have been passed to the corresponding departments.

From the other hand, we hope in future you give us a second chance to correct the imagen you have taken from our hotel.

Kind regards,

Guests relations
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

This was our third visit to this hotel our first two visits were great this time was disappointing we were giving the room we requested it was now upgraded new extra large tv and a new really small slim mini bar which was useless it never kept anything cool that’s if you could fit anything in it the air conditioning was set at 22 deg you couldn’t get it any cooler we slept with the door open as i could not sleep we asked to be moved to a room with the old air conditioning here was much cooler and also we had a large mini bar that kept drinks cold.There is a lot of work going on at this hotel up grading rooms and also work at the pool restaurant a lot of noise This is a beautiful hotel the food is really good and the staff are very helpful but we won’t be going back because of all the changes but the most annoying was their new unique system I think we are all unique

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Mcandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelconde, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Mcandk,

thank you very much for your visit and kind word to our staff.

First of all, we regret the inconvenience caused by the improvement works in some areas of our hotel. This works can cause occasional inconvenience, although our team tries to minimize any inconvenience.

We are in an ongoing process of improving facilities and service, which derives from our ongoing commitment to provide the best service to our guests so that their stay will remain unique and memorable.

Due to the air conditioner, unfortunately, this is in line with the new Spanish law for hotels which does not allow to install air conditioners which are working under 22 degrees celsius. (Safety reasons).

We sincerely apologize for the uncomfortable situation.

Thank you very much for your constrictive criticism which helps us to improve our standards and have been passed to the corresponding departments.

From the other hand, we hope in future you give us a second chance to correct the imagen you have taken from our hotel.

Kind regards,

Guests relations
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews