We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,080)
Filter reviews
4,080 results
Traveler rating
2,667
942
306
106
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,667
942
306
106
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk in wardrobe dressing room star hotel ovo restaurant quiet pool half board plaza area sea view gran canaria beautiful hotel house band thalasso spa breakfast and dinner resident band room safe separate shower evening entertainment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 4,080 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

The hotel looks amazing. I love the lobby. It's my kind of style, so I was really impressed when we first got there at night. The hotel is big and there are a lot of tourists, hoewever you do not feel like it crowded, you can almost always find a place at the pool, which are are clean. There are not many kids in the hotel (at least when we were there), so there is quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The food at the restaurant was really good. I would not recommend desserts, as most of them tasted like ready-bought cakes. Nevertheless creme brulee was really nice and if you eat there, you should try it. The fruits sweet and juicy. The shrimps were amazing. The lady over there was great, smiling and very very friendly. Most of the waiters were great and very welcoming, there was one person who made us feel like we are not welcome there, just because some people from our group did not behave like they should. The rooms were clean and very big with nice view of a garden. The cosmetics were not replenished, however it did not cause a big problem to us as we bought some cosmetics in the town.
Most of the people there speak English so it is easy to communicate. People there are really friendly and they seem to lead unstressful life, which is calming and really pleasant feeling. If I ever come back to Gran Canaria I will probably stay at this hotel again.
Oh! and I loved the little treats at the desk every night with a saying of a famous person. I really loved it.
The TV did not work

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Jay D,

Our main objective is offering excellent service to our clients. We work hard day after day to be able to achieve this and there is no better reward than reading an opinion as positive as the one which you have written. Thank you.

We hope to maintain this connection in the future and have the pleasure of a visit from you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Stayed here in August during the busiest time...

In fairness, the hotel is lovely, the service is spot on, the friendliness of the staff is also spot on but it what spoilt it for us is if the fact that on most days we were unable to get a sunbed by the pool unless we went straight after breakfast. On to occasions we just gave up and sat on the balcony.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for value, the bar drinks are very reasonable, as is the mini bar in the room and the laundry is so cheap it was worth my getting most clothes washed prior to our departure so minimum dirty laundry when home!

Two big positives as follows...

After being delayed for 7 hours we arrived at 1AM, tired and hungry, the hotel had set out a section of the restaurant with cold food and water for us and others who were arriving late.
When we woke the following morning our balcony view was overlooking a car park, I spoke with reception that morning and they were able to move us to a better location.

Prior to arriving I changed the dates twice due to a death in the family and having to make funeral arrangements, the hotel were super understanding and helpful with no extra costs.

During our stay I made various requests for extra pillows, a duvet (to make the sofa bed more comfortable for my daughter) , a light bulb which had gone, and I can honestly say each request was expedited very quickly and efficiently.

Due to changing holiday, we were here only sons 12th birthday, I did not mention this to the hotel as we had arranged to go out for dinner on the night but the hotel sent a card and cake to the room !!!

THANK YOU XXX

I always like to mention the housekeeping, which was tremendous, the hotel is spotless as was our room, great job.

We ate out three times during our seven night stay but there is quite a nice dinner service / buffet if you are on half board like us... food was good and fresh , we just needed a bit of a change over a few nights.

see my further reviews of where to eat ?

All in all, a good stay, however, I might try the sister hotel next time due to it having a better location.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TraceyFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear TraceyFinn,

At Lopesan Hotel Group we know that the holidays are some of the most important times of the year and that is why it brightens our day to read opinions as positive as yours.

Thank you for having gone to the trouble of sharing your experience with us and with other users.

If you decide to holiday on Gran Canaria again, it would be our pleasure to see you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Traveled with family in August 2017. Traumatic experience at this hotel. On day before leaving, left monies and smartphone in locked room whilst having lunch. When returned all euros, sterling and phone had been stolen. Hotel staff and police were called. Key entry system showed two entries by members of hotel staff whilst we were not in the room. It was implied that we had left the door open - WE HAD NOT!!!! We were told to go to the police station but had no means to do so. We had to insist the hotel paid for a taxi, after being told to go to the cash machine!!! Showed little empathy or compassion by hotel representatives. Insurance will not pay out since there was no sign of forced entry. Trying to get the hotel/hotel group to accept responsibility is proving very difficult since they say they cannot accept responsibility for items which were not in the safe. Ridiculous that guests are expected to pay in a '5*' hotel for this basic right. I have since been reading on Trip Advisor the poor and terrible reviews by other guests in which they have experienced the same thing happening to them. You should be able to leave all of your belongings in your locked room, safe in the knowledge that they will be there throughout your stay, not 'vanish into thin air'!!!!
So my advice is do not stay in this hotel and if you decide to whatever you do hire the safe. This experience cost us a lot of money, completely ruined our holiday and now I am having to deal with repeated communications between different agencies, which is proving to be very stressful. Lopesan Villa del Conde you have a lot to answer for!!!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
13  Thank sarahC2706EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelconde, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear Mrs. Havard,

We can understand your discomfort. We also want to resolve your case as quickly as possible. As there is no evidence such as forcing signs on door and window locks, and once the formal complaint has been made to the authorities, both, you and us, have no choice but to wait for the results of police investigation. Our collaboration with the police and our interest in resolving your case is maximum. Sensitized with your complaint, and in parallel to the enquiries, of which we have no more information than we have already provided to you, we are analyzing your case in a very unique way, looking through our procedures, conditions and usual methods of action, due to the infrequent of your case in any of our establishments.
Procedures that include, as you know, communication to our customers that the hotel is not responsible for money or valuables objets not placed in the safes.
Despite this, and deeply regretting the damage, confusion and discomfort that this may have caused you, and being aware of the exceptionality of your case, we would like to express our most sincere apologies.

With the above we do not want to conclude anything. We remain very interested in being able to offer you new explanations, enough to regain your confidence.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

So having stayed at this hotel before and greatly enjoyed it it is hard to credit it is the same hotel. There appears to have been a wholesale change of staff, not for the better.

As noted by many there is a large and RIGOROUSLY enforced rule set in evidence. Staff were checking were ankles showing for gentlemen queuing for the dinner service, ankles deeming that the trousers were too short and so back to the room! That seems to be the height of pettiness for a so called 5* hotel.

Most problematic however were the rude and dismissive staff we encountered. Not three days in we found ourselves bearing the brunt of a waiter's ire. Having been seated for breakfast outside we found ourselves out of coffee. Ten minutes of attempts to get more having failed, my wife went to the door manager and asked for some. Moments later no coffee but a very upset waiter who loomed over us and berated us for the temerity to have taken matters into our own hands. Despite asking him to go away he wouldn't, raising his voice and upsetting our 5y old son.

We saw other examples of the staff being rude to guests and were part of a party where something similar happened one evening. Staff were, to put it mildly, "pass remarkable" about guests making derogatory comments about their nationality and appearance.

Other facets have been noted by poor reviews here - the towel police, the extreme rapidity of plates and cutlery disappearing from under your nose, the entertainment having moved to a balcony- but what also struck us was the depressing food. What was there was good, but it remained pretty much the same throughout our two weeks. There were some "theme" nights but these were sad and limited affairs. A small plate of tacos does not a Mexican buffet make. There was nothing kid-friendly to eat bar spaghetti and tomato sauce. It shouldn't be beyond the competence of a five-star hotel to have a varied and exciting menu for all ages.

We sensed a degree of retribution visited upon us when we complained. Rooms remain uncleaned, soap containers not refilled (and why are they using squeezy soap in a five-star?), queues closed when we appeared, tables not being made available to us when they were free etc. This may be our imagination but we also spoke to others who sensed something similar.

We asked from the start for a late checkout as our flight was leaving in the evening. I have never had this request, for which you usually have to pay, refused in any hotel I have ever stayed in, until here. They point blank refused, and only under special pleading did they allow us to stay on for an extra while. But the keycards and services cut off at noon....

There was a sense of penny-pinching also - the wifi had to be paid for and was pretty anaemic, no tea or coffee facilities in the room, the safe had to be paid for etc.

Overall it was a grave disappointment, stressful and negative. This was in large part down to what we knew it to have been. Customer service has dissapeared. We did make some complaints to the reception but there was a sense of talking into the void.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelconde, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Dear blucey,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel and also for letting us know your personal experiences via Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that you haven´t enjoyed your stay with us and that you had to leave our hotel disappointed. As we take customer reviews very seriously, we have already forwarded your comments to our department managers for closer investigation and to take in consideration to improve them.
We are worried,your experience in the restaurant and in the hotel has been so negative. But please be assured, as we have mentioned before, that we will have a close look in the service quality in our restaurants. We are sorry that the Public Relations Department hadn´t knowledge of your complains to solve them during your stay.
Once again we want to apologize us for the inconveniences during your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any suggestions or additional comments you might have.

Best regards
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

I stayed in September 2017 , I have to say this was the best beach hotel I have stayed in. I usually like to visit the surrounding area but the hotel was so nice I did not want to leave.
Already planning my nest visit

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank markj0sephk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear markj0sephk,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Lopesan Villa del Conde for your recent stay in Gran Canaria and also for your participation in Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that we could match up with your expectations and would like to inform you that we have already passed your comments to the hotel management with the objective to improve the hotel facilities every day. Thank you for your nice comments, we will continue working to improve our service and accomplish the client's requirements.

For your next reservation, in case of any requirements, do not hesitate to contact Public Relations for any room request of others,

Regards,

Public Relations


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews