We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Private Party Venue”
Review of West Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Private Party Venue”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A magical place to hold a special event. The owners make the event run like clockwork with no stress for the host. The food is fantastic. I choose to have the food served on silver trays carried by the hotel waiters. There was ample food for all my guests with each tray bringing a new delight. There is warmth and charm in the venue with ambient lighting, champagne for guests on arrival, chaise long in the lobby, lovely views over the garden. If you are looking for a special place to celebrate an important event then look no further.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    59
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
84
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have stayed at West Lodge twice in 11 weeks as my daughter was training then graduating nearby.
The hosts are charming and were particularly kind on my first trip when a local cab company let me down and they drove me to a time dependent appointment at RAF Halton.
On both occasions my room was clean, warm and very cosy.
Beautiful thick towels and bed linen. Breakfast fantastic so much choice.
This is such good value as it so lovely , Any one looking to stay in this area look no further.

Thank You for making me feel so welcome.CM

Room Tip: Very Near to RAF Halton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Second stay here, and will visit again. Rooms well furnished with everything I needed including comprehensive hospitality tray.

Made very welcome by Julie who showed me to my room and ensured everything was in order.

Best part of the stay was the cooked breakfast made to order with local ingredients. Real bacon served with the rind on, just as it should be.

It's obvious to me that the owners, Julie and Mike, really make a lot of effort to ensure guests have the best stay possible.

Locally, I would recommend the Thai restaurant up the road. Food and service excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gortonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

West Lodge is a truly charming building with a great deal of history and character, and is very comfortable inside. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and had an excellent dinner in the lovely dining room with views out over the pretty garden. Breakfast was equally enjoyable!

Julie and Mike are extremely good hosts who make you feel very much at home.

The hotel is very well situated for local attractions and with the delightful town of Wendover almost on the doorstep. We look forward to staying at West Lodge again.

Room Tip: Room 3, being at the back of the building, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glossop
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

just back from our second stayat west lodge good rooms good food and very helpful stayed here because it is very handy for raf halton a 5 minute drive good pub over the road the bell for meals and a decent pint cheers

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeymoustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Its the second time we have stayed at West lodge Hotel and each occasion has been a delight. Julie and Mike are lovely people who can't do enough for you. When our plane to England was
held up on cold wet night it was wonderful to arrive to a hot roast dinner. Our rooms, in the old converted stables, were comfortable and cosy with lovely views over the garden. In the morning we were greeted by "Sparkie" the cat and then proceeded to a beautifully prepared cooked breakfast. The location is easy to drive to various sites of interest without getting caught up in traffic. Travelling with friends to discover the sites of Midsommer Murders, it was easy to find our way to various Buckinghamshire and Oxford villages and pubs from there. There are several eating places within walking distance. Lovely place to stay and will definely be back.

Room Tip: Stable rooms are our favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbCAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Used this hotel for a base with friends visiting attractions within the area, we received a very helpful and warm welcome.
The accomodation was of good quality with a high standard of cleanliness and comfort. The setting is delightful and we wished the English weather had been kind enough for us to enjoy the wonderful garden.
We had a very comprehensive breakfast each day and were rally spoilt for choice, food and service of a high standard. This is a delightful building and the owners could not have been more helpful with advice on local attractions.
Small English Hotel at its best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the feedback - I think this is a perfect summary of what we are all about at West Lodge. Hope to see you again in the future. Very best regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aston Clinton
9.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Hotel

Property: West Lodge Hotel
Address: 45 London Road, Aston Clinton HP22 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Hotel, near Aylesbury, was originally a 19th century Lodge House and part of the Rothschild Estate. Privately owned, West Lodge has been sympathetically restored with an eye for detail and comfort. An ideal location for small weddings, functions, private parties, business conferences or those guests attending local courses at ESRI, RAF Halton, Green Park, Aylesbury and Grendon Underwood Prison Training Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Aston Clinton
West Hotel Aylesbury
West Lodge Hotel Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing