We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding & Overnight Stay - September 2006” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wedding & Overnight Stay - September 2006”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been meaning to leave a review for this excellent place for many months, if not years. I hope that Mike & Julie will forgive the length of time it has taken me to leave a review………

Although late, my review & praise is certainly well deserved.

My wife and I decided to get married here in September 2006. It is local to our home and is intimate enough to have approximately 20-25 guests for a civil ceremony and a meal after. We met with Julie a few times in the lead up to our wedding day.

From the moment we decided to proceed, we were treated so well. All our concerns and questions were dealt with so professionally by Mike & Julie and, suffice to say, the day went so well. Our every need was catered for and nothing was too much trouble. All our guests commented on the lovely “secret garden” and how tasty the food was. We stayed overnight in one of the rooms overlooking the garden & it was fantastic. Breakfast the next morning was a delight.

We have returned to the West Lodge on one of our Anniversaries and were met by Julie who was happy for us to sit and have a coffee and reminisce.

To summarise, if you are looking for a wedding venue which is intimate and for immediate family & friends, this is a fantastic place. Very reasonably priced and the attention to detail is first class. They truly know the meaning of “treat a customer how you would like to be treated” !

As mentioned, I can only apologise for the length of time taken to review this place but felt that now was better late than never.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBall1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi, great to hear from you. Hope you are all well and many thanks for the kind comments. Very best regards Julie and mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    52
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
33
74
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable and we had a lovely stay and would definitely come back.
Fab cooked breakfast in delightful surroundings. The gaden was beautiful and very tranquil with garden furniture where you could sit and read the Sunday papers or have a coffee.

Room Tip: Garden rooms very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Manager at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback - it is always greatly appreciated and I'll pass your kind comments on to everyone involved. Best regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

From the first phone call to book and explain our requirements, the service was first class. Our rooms were light, bright, clean with thoughtful extras. Particularly handy was the 4 gang socket to charge everything! Food excellent with fresh berries at breakfast and the everything else from local suppliers. We will definitely try to stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oaptobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you - your kind feedback is much appreciated. Many thanks mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Have just returned from a three night stay, We were made very welcome, the rooms were perfect, beautifully dressed, clean and warm.
Breakfast and evening meal served in delightful surroundings, the food was beautifully presented, cooked to a high standard, local and delicious. All in all a great experience and I would not hesitate to recommend West Lodge and I look forward to repeating the experience in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you - we really enjoyed having you and your friends to stay and hope to see you again in the future! Very best regards mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as friend was having birthday party in Anthony hall which is stone throw away so perfect location. Welcome and general helpfulness if the owners can't be beaten. We had 4month baby with us so one issue we had was that the main bed was SO creaky that it woke the baby when we moved. For the cost of £85 I would have liked a more sturdy feeling bed.

Breakfast was excellent and even kept warm for me when I had to leave the dinning room due to baby crying. Bacon they use is best hubby or I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treacle1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi, thank you for your kind comments and i am so sorry to hear about the problems with the bed - a couple of screws needed tightening! Hope to see you all again soon. Very best regards mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very comfortable extremely clean and thoughtfully furnished.
marvellous breakfast in thoroughly delightful conservatory with very friendly and capably efficient service. I would thoroughly recommend this lovely small hotel, in reality more a very nice guest house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The feedback is always greatly appreciated and hope to see you again. Many thanks Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Have just returned from enjoying a few days break at this hotel. The welcome was very friendly, room comfortable with every amenity, overlooking garden. Breakfast all home produced and delicious, did not have the chance to enjoy their evening meal, but am sure it would be up to their usual standard. Would stay again if in the area and can recommend it wholeheartedly. BrendaW

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. It was a real pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us at West Lodge and hopefully we will see you again in the future. Very best regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aston Clinton
9.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#8 of 11 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Aylesbury
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Hotel

Property: West Lodge Hotel
Address: 45 London Road, Aston Clinton, Aylesbury HP22 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Hotel, near Aylesbury, was originally a 19th century Lodge House and part of the Rothschild Estate. Privately owned, West Lodge has been sympathetically restored with an eye for detail and comfort. An ideal location for small weddings, functions, private parties, business conferences or those guests attending local courses at ESRI, RAF Halton, Green Park, Aylesbury and Grendon Underwood Prison Training Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your West Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Aston Clinton
West Hotel Aylesbury
West Lodge Hotel Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing