We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be our first choice hereon!”
Review of West Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend 6 nights at this lovely hotel. Very homely and welcoming - definitely home from home. The owners are very friendly and we loved our room with its Laura Ashley style decor. The abundant cooked breakfast was a lovely treat every morning along with everything else that was on offer including fresh fruit in season. Our one regret was that we couldn't enjoy the garden more as it rained every single day throughout our stay. Looking forward to going back soon. Aldo & Charlotte

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schembri_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 200 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

What a relief to get to this country hotel after the rush of London! Great place, very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast, included in the very competetive price. Shame I could only stay for one night. Would definately go there again!

I was made aware of the local dining possibilities and chose the Bell. Good food and just over the road. The room was clean, and offered everything I needed: a bed. Wireless internet was included, and offered good speed as well.

Overall: this is a clean, pleasant, informal, friendly, inexpensive country hotel. Absolutely perfect if you are looking for an altnative to the standard and inpersonal chains.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We only stayed one night but would do so again. The owners are very welcoming and helpfully provided suggestions for eating out that evening. The breakfast was great with locally smoked bacon and free range eggs. Lots of choice and excellent service. The hotel is set in pretty gardens and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

good welcome, nice breakfast, lovely garden, location ok

Room Tip: the garden rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fullpelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times now, and whilst it may not be luxurious it does the job really well. The rooms are clean and roomy, the owners very friendly and helpful and the location works really well for a number of venues. I travel a great deal and this is now my preferred venue for this area. I eat out in the nearby Bell, which was very good and also in the Thai restaurant up the road, which was excellent. All in all a very good experience.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aluakea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife and 2 sisters - we chose the 3 garden rooms. West Lodge is hard to fault: Julie and Mike were very welcoming and helpful; the whole hotel was spotlessly clean; our rooms were large, quiet, warm and pleasantly decorated and furnished. There was a very good choice of food for breakfast and Julie helped us out with room service on our 1st night, as we arrived too late to get a light snack at the local pubs. It was also good to have an 11am checkout time (rather than the usual 10am). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed for one night whilst visiting relative. Found the hotel clean, comfortable and friendly. A charming and refreshing change from the usual budget hotels and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klondyke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aston Clinton
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
589 reviews
9.3 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
579 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#9 of 12 in Aylesbury
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
722 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
1.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Hotel

Address: 45 London Road, Aston Clinton, Aylesbury HP22 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Price Range: $116 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Hotel, near Aylesbury, was originally a 19th century Lodge House and part of the Rothschild Estate. Privately owned, West Lodge has been sympathetically restored with an eye for detail and comfort. An ideal location for small weddings, functions, private parties, business conferences or those guests attending local courses at ESRI, RAF Halton, Green Park, Aylesbury and Grendon Underwood Prison Training Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Aston Clinton
West Hotel Aylesbury
West Lodge Hotel Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing