We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay with exceptional food & wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Emerald
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plaka
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with exceptional food & wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Emerald Hotel is an outstanding location to enjoy the local life of Plaka, near Almyrida, Crete. We stayed here 12 years ago and came back in 2014. A lot has changed, particularly the restaurant, which is now open to non-residents. You won't be disappointed. The food and wine are of the highest quality and and the setting just amazing. Christos and the girls looked after us so nicely. Will definitely be back. The hotel is managed by the lovely Esmeralda, who met us 12 years ago and warmly invited us back in 2014. What hasn't changed is the wonderful pool and garden area. Simply a joy to swim and sun bath in.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robino_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We recently stayed near Plaka where we found a number of very good tavernas, but one day someone at a nearby winery mentioned the Emerald restaurant and we decided to venture in to give it a go. Wow, what a good decision that was! Down an uneven, steep track you suddenly come across the most picture-postcard terrace overlooking the bay, and then you are served the most exceptional fusion cuisine we had tasted in a long time. The menu is not that extensive, but what is on it is fabulous. We went back a few times to try and get through the whole menu! Greek salad on an altogether different level, pork belly that is best I have ever tasted, fish cooked to perfection. The new twist on boureki was particularly special. In fact all of the dishes we tried had that special twist and individulality to them which was just such a surprise. The wine list is incredible, with excellent guidance from staff who know what they are talking about! Working in customer service, I especiallly look out for good customer service and found it in abudnance in this wonderful little spot. Our whole family really enjoyed it and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were in need of some serious respite from busy working lives and thank goodness for tripadvisor as we found Emerald Hotel on it. If you are visiting the area this is the place to be. It's on the brink of becoming a boutique hotel without an air of pretension. The apartment was quiet, spacious, simple and clean with great views from both balconies. We could cook meals for our fussy 5yr old and then head off to the hotel's superb restaurant or one of the villages. The garden, while small is very cleverly laid out, beautifully planted and full of wildlife making it fascinating for children and adults alike. The pool was perfect for us all and there was always a nook to sit in a swing chair to while away the heat of the day with a good book. What makes the place so special is the staff who are so welcoming, informative, friendly and relaxed (whilst remaining professional) whose ways of being determine the atmosphere of the hotel. The restaurant's views are incredible and the food matches that, seriously great food with a modern twist...just divine!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDd05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Small apartment hotel with great views of the bay and sunset. Lovely pool area surrounded by pretty gardens. Apartments spacious and adequately furnished. Plaka village with places to eat is 5 minutes up the hill but the attached restaurant is way too good for eating anywhere else!

Room Tip: First floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leknes, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Me, my wife and my 3 children stayed in the emerald hotel for 5 nights and i must say, it was fabulous! The view from the balcony was stunning and the pool was perfect for the kids. The restaurant was lovely and had a beautiful view over the sea, and the staff were very nice. It was also beside a little village beside the sea. I would recommend this hotel to everyone staying in Plaka!

Room Tip: if you are going away with the family it would be a good idea to get a room with two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanPettersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Our house overlooks Emerald, and for 10 years we have only popped in for the odd evening drink.....until last Sunday. We had lunch there, wow, it was great, I had lamb, not something I would normally eat. Lamb has never tasted so good. My husband had belly pork and that too tasted heavenly. Impressed and I hadn't even thought about dessert which was equally impressive, a heavenly concoction of three kinds of chocolate. Not the regulation raki after either but a distillation of mastic, different and so nice. Will be going again and soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank janieChania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We chose this hotel for a four-night stay because it was competitively priced, looked gorgeous and the view - from the rooms and pool area is nothing short of sensational. Also, there's a fabulous restaurant attached, with an enchanting and romantic terrace area overlooking Almyrida and Souda Bay. From the moment we walked into the grounds, at night, we knew we'd made the right decision.

To be honest, the apartments don't quite live up to the outside areas as they're pretty basic. They could do with some updating, and there was no walk-in shower in ours - it was an over the bath job. Additionally, we were unlucky with the weather and were rather cold because the heaters didn't work. But on the plus side, the rooms are clean and functional, the beds were made and bins emptied every day and as soon as we stepped on to one of our two balconies (one got the morning and the other the afternoon sun) any minor gripes were forgotten. We had a one-bedroomed apartment and our two girls (11 and 14) slept on separate beds in the decently sized living room/kitchen space, and it was fine.

Actually, the hotel wasn't quite up to speed when we arrived in the week before Easter, so no music was playing by the pool, the restaurant wasn't yet open (so lovely Esmeralda, who greeted us, was unable to serve even a beer). There were tables but no chairs on the terrace restaurant's terrace, and nobody had told us there was a reception area where breakfast was served, so we only found it on our penultimate morning! In fact, we seemed to be the only guests for the first couple of days. That said, we enjoyed eating fresh bread and Greek honey and yoghurt on our balcony, so it really didn't matter.

However, in the last couple of days things started to happen, though it was still as relaxed as ever. White-washed chairs magically appeared in the restaurant area, planters were filled with flowers and cool jazz played gently in the background. It was fabulous, and even prettier than the photos on the hotel's website. But sadly, after one delicious and friendly dinner en famille in the surprisingly stylish restaurant (inside, sadly, as it was unseasonably cold and wet), it was also time for us to fly home.

Would be return? Absolutely.

Once it was properly open it was a wonderful and chilled place to stay as well as an excellent base for the area. It's five minutes' walk from Plaka Village with its restaurants and little supermarket and fifteen on foot to Almyrida and the beach. We'd also like to try the restaurant again - but next time we'll go in the summer and sit outside, watching the sunset over a glass or two of excellent wine....

Room Tip: The higher the better - we were in room 12 and apparently it has the best views of all! Glorious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulizizziloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plaka
0.6 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
1.8 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Studios Koukouros
#2 of 2 in Plaka
3.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Almyrida Residence
Almyrida Residence
#2 of 7 in Almyrida
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
86.5 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
0.1 mi away
Leste Luxury Homes
Leste Luxury Homes
#1 of 7 in Plaka
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emerald

Property: Hotel Emerald
Address: Plaka Apokoronou, Plaka, Crete 730 08, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Emerald 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald Hotel is set high up on the cliffside of Plaka village of Apokoronas in Chania – just a 25 minute drive from Chania centre and its must see old Venetian harbor. With 11 spacious apartments (each with a separate bedroom), a snack / cafe-bar-restaurant open terrace area with cretan creative cuisine and a large swimming pool (80sqm), Emerald Hotel is just the place to relax and unwind; open each year from 1 April to 31 October. The views from Emerald Hotel are both to the sea (to the village of Almyrida and beyond) and to the White Mountains – simply breathtaking. These same views can be enjoyed from the comfort of your own self-catering apartment. Equipped with a kitchen, the apartments are spacious, practical and perfectly functional. The large swimming pool also has a shallow section for children (0.80cm -2.4m depth). Trees, plants and flowers surround the hotel and give it a home-like feel to it. Focusing on families with children, Emerald Hotel has also a children’s playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emerald Crete/Plaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing