We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful villa, amazing views, clean, spacious...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Plaka, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
1 review
“Wonderful villa, amazing views, clean, spacious & kind, welcoming family.”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Location : beautiful, top of mountain so views stunning
Amenities : villages near to buy provisions or tavernas
Owner & family - so kind, friendly and helpful
Villa : inside, modern, clean & spacious
Outside : with 6 of us everyone could sit in a beautiful seating area on their own if
they wanted to.
Beautiful pool surrounded by trees & scrubs

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andy42017
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Look No Further!”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a magical villa. Beautiful setting, we loved the gardens and the fact it is set up high means there is a nice breeze. The AC was excellent and the blackout blinds keep the noise from outside to a minimum, not that there was much. Some nearby villa owners like to leave their dogs in the garden when they are away so watch your ankles if you are walking down the road.... We were probably pretty annoying to others as we were a party of 7 and Plaka is pretty quiet but by far the prettiest town with best tavernas and friendliest people. We have stayed in many villas, especially in Asia and this comes out well on top. The owners could not be more helpful, kind and keen to please. They see to everything and are there to help with anything you need, just ask. Nearby Almarida is busier and more suited to the youngsters. You can hire a car there and its very reasonable. We got a transfer from the airport and I would recommend that if you land when its dark, the roads are pretty hairy if you are not used to them. Taxi service from Almarida is excellent. All the tavernas in Plaka are the best in the area, service and food, could not recommend enough. The villa has everything you need and loads of areas to chill out in. It is bigger than expected from pictures. But the gardens made it for us. If you like to shop go to Chania, it has a great market and lovely shops with small side streets selling lots of different goods and lovely wee restaurants. Loved our entire week there and very grateful to the owners for their patience and communications when we needed it. Beds were super comfy and everything was clean and of the best quality. So look no further, this villa will not disappoint in any way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lll0llla
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Living with the Gods”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Excellent villa with stunning and simply unique views. One of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen with also a great view on the white mountains. A culinary discovery with very healthy food around the small villages. Lots of stuff to do and discover in this beautiful area of Crete with also its 2 major Cities Chania and Rethymno.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun_Ski_T...
Columbia, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spectacular Sunset Views in this Beautiful and Functional Villa”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at Villa Daedalus and considered this villa to be one of the best we have experienced in our travels. It has beautiful gardens, several lovely outdoor dining and seating areas and a great pool for cooling off in the heat of the day. The mountain and sea views are fantastic and it felt like a secret hideaway perched at the top of the hill - very private. We were very happy to be near the small villages of Plaka and Almyrida with convenient tavernas, groceries and shopping. We had two lovely lunches at Thalimas on the water with the best octopus we have ever tried. But we really enjoyed just being able to cook in each night and watch the sunset from the front deck. We were able to travel to Chania and Rethymon very easily by car for day trips and we also were able to take a convenient and well-organized tour to the Samaria Gorge from Alymirida.

The villa was well equipped for cooking and appliances all worked well. The whole house was air conditioned and it was much appreciated in midday heat. Alex was great to work with.

We watched our last sunset in silence as we knew that this villa was a very special place that we will never forget.

If you choose this place, you will not be disappointed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you so much Laura for your nice words. You and your lovely family were great guests, very good and easy in communication and thank you very much for taking care the villa so well and left it clean and tidy.
Totally recommend you to other hosts.!
Best wishes and regards from all of us!
Bolarakis family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljnorris
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned home after a week in Villa Daedalos and I must say, what a fantastic villa! The views were amazing and the gardens well tended with an abundance of colour. The villa had everything we needed and the owners were very accommodating. Plaka itself is a lovely quiet village, but with plenty of places to eat. Our favourite was Taki's Taverna, with it's vast menu and very friendly staff. I would definitely return to Villa Daedalos and would definitely recommend both the villa and this area of Crete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: definately the views from the villa
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled here for a week of relaxation with my wife and two teenaged daughters, during a European trip last year. The villa is just as it looks in the pictures. The view is breathtaking and ever changing - as evidenced by the many photos I took at different times of the day and lighting conditions.

Everything was just as we hoped: Convenient location with a number of good walks in the vicinity; beautifully appointed villa; a choice of local eateries within walking distance; and a friendly local taxi service at good rates for trips further afield if we did not want to drive.

I recommend using the pizza oven at least once. We had one perfect evening making and cooking pizza and eating outdoors at the villa.

The owners were very helpful and although we did not need to contact them much (because we had everything we wanted) we were sure they would provide any help we wanted if we had asked.

Really, nothing negative to say - except I agree with the earler comment that the pool is very cold! No doubt that is great in mid-summer, but in autumn it was a bit too chilly.

We would love to return if we ever find ourselves in Crete again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The pool was very cold!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The view alone was worth it all! The owners were most accommodating and made sure we had everything needed to truly appreciate this immaculate villa. Our two young children enjoyed the play set, running around the property and of course the beautiful pool. If we never left the villa our vacation would have been wonderful. Nonetheless, the village (Plaka) was only 1 kilometer away and has some greater places for dinner. The beach was only an 8 minute drive and has great places for lunch and dinner that are right on the water. Villa Daedalos is truly paradise found in Crete!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Pool was a bit chilly
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing