We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Harp Inn
Nearby Hotels
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metropole Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Usk Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
$112
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Commodore(Llandrindod Wells)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot Hotel(Leominster)
$110
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
89
16
7
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
16
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbeefwarm welcomelog fireeton messlong dayspuddingexcellent menufriendly localslovely foodlovely sunday lunchfish and chipscold winterscomfortable roomswonderful stayfull englishwell worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 118 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The Harp Inn is in a beautiful setting and clearly popular in good weather.

Our room was a little tired, especially the bathroom, but the bed was very comfortable, and I suppose that's the main priority. Perhaps it is still awaiting refurbishment.

Our experience of the food over three nights was that it was expensive in relation to its quality, which ranged between definitely average and fairly good, without hitting any great heights. In addition, the tables were very low, fine for sitting and having a drink, but not so good for enjoying a three course meal.

Having read earlier reviews, we were disappointed with the breakfast, where cereal was presented in its Tupperware containers and that was the only alternative to a full fried breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCandCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Harp is a small but comfortable traditional Welsh country pub which has 5 bedrooms. The food is excellent and good value for money.

It is a little out of the way but within reasonable distance of Leominster, Hereford and Hey-on-Wye.

We (3) stayed in a family room which was very comfortable and had wonderful views over the surrounding countryside. The room was very clean, well decorated and very spacious.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this friendly Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Im-away-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The Harp Inn is off the beaten track but that is it's beauty. An impossibly picturesque old stone building outside, clean warm and welcoming inside. Beautiful views over the Radnor hills at the front, and tables to sit outside in warmer weather.

I was the only person staying this midweek night, but there were perhaps a dozen other customers enjoying good quality wine and beer and confidently cooked food. A proper relaxed pub ambience - no TV or music - and a very relaxing atmosphere.

My room was spotless and cosy - the bathroom a little dated perhaps but clean and plenty of hot water, and being deep in the countryside i got a great night's sleep in complete silence.
In the morning, the best cooked breakfast I've had in ages, and a very reasonable bill - £75 for dinner B&B and a fair few pints. This was a business trip but I'd certainly return for a holiday to explore the gorgeous countryside round here.

Top class country inn, highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaronC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Have visited the Harp a couple of times over the last few years just for food and drink and have always had a great time - so thought it time to try out the accommodation. My wife and I spent just the one night there in mid February - and it was lovely! The welcome was very warm and friendly, the room was clean, tidy and full of character, with what looked like a very recently refurbished and modern ensuite shower room. The food was excellent - both the evening meal and the breakfast. We spent the following day rambling over the surrounding beautiful countryside, including a bracing hike along part of Offa's Dyke. All in all a really great place just to hide away from the world for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andybbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Three of us were cycling north --> south Wales & stayed our 2nd night in The Harp Inn @ Old Radnor. The location is beautiful and atmosphere is excellent, the beer very good and the new owners (only been there a week and not had time to do much) clearly have great plans.

The food was simple but well cooked and everyone extremely friendly.

Clearly there are some accomodation issues to sort out (the shower in one room didn't produce hot water and there was no bath cleaning kit in the shared bathroom - the floor baords could do with some nails but others would see that as character!) but overall the stay was a good experience.

I suspect in a couple of months (currently July '06) it will be a 4* above average or 5* excellent rating. 3*s this time as it certainly doesn't deserve 2*s and the potential with the new owners is high!

1  Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews