We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming pretty cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Welcoming pretty cottage”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here, we had 2 double beds and one slept down on the couch. Spotlessly clean with a good sized kitchen. Had a lovely bath after a long trip, very welcoming. We went across the road to the Buck pub for dinner which served good food. There is also a dairy with bread/ milk etc directly across the road . Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robs014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Absolutely great little place, feels like your in a country pub! Room was v good, breakfast great and the lady who looked after us brill,the two pubs across the road are v good , had a great meal in the royal oak. The buck pub does a free bus to and throw to racecourse !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Enjoyed staying here. The staff were absolutely wonderful. They gave us loads of information about the City and local area. the price is very comparitive and the room was great. It was a traditional style room/hotel and the antique furniture made it feel like you stepped back into time. very tastfully done. Breakfast in the morning was quiet wonderful as well. I'd recommend this hotel to stay at to anyone.

Room Tip: There isn't a specific Car Park, but you can park in front of the hotel on the street with no ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

we went to Bangor on Dee races on saturday 18 May and stayed at the Stableyard.We found the proprietor very friendly and helpful,the room was quaint but very clean and comforable,the breakfast very enjoyable and the place was very convenient for the racetrack being about 20 minutes walk.We will definitely go again and can recommend it to anyone visiting this area

Room Tip: make sure you get en suite 1 room is not
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffandannsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The only 5 star rating I've given on trip advisor since I started posting, I've got to say it's just perfect. Cosy, clean tasteful rooms with pristine bedding and comfy plump beds.

Haddock in a pleasant sauce and poached egg for breakfast, very reasonably priced, can't fault it.

What I usually *can't stand* about B&B is the fact that it feels like you're in someone's house; but this feels like going upstairs from a cosy country pub, when you're not! I think it's on account of the fact that the property is big enough so that guests never enter the proprietors' own living areas.

There are 2 pubs within a matter of 200 metres, so it's all good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed there for one night. Great out of the way location. A warm welcome on our arrival and found the hotel spotless with all the trimmings in our room. The pubs over the road served the best vegetable soup I have tasted in a long time. Our room had what looked like the original wooden beams on the ceiling and within the walls which added to the ambiance . Great breakfast with attention to presentation. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 6 on the first floor. No noise could be heard from any where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Decided to stay over as had never been to the Bangor-on-Dee Races and was unsure what time it would finish. Price of an En-suite room seemed reasonable and in a decent spot. You can walk from the property to the Racecourse down a country road (about 1mile)

The Stableyard is on the 'main road' through to the Racecourse in the middle of the village - the road is not busy so no need to worry about noise and my car was fine parked outside all night.

The B&B is a twee olde worlde set up - low ceilings, beams and a sweet black cat curled up in reception. Our hosts were pleasant and on hand if needed.

The bedroom was well appointed - spotless carpets, comfy bed and warm. The bathroom was tiny - however considering the period of the property its part of its charm.

Sadly, got up too late to sample breakfast which is between 7am-9am but we did get a phone call at 8.55am to check if we were coming down.

Ate dinner in the pub accross the way - friendly little place and no one looked oddly at us Townies as we walked through the door! Had delicious Fish & Chips and spent a couple of hours drinking in there.

Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor On Dee
4.3 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
5.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
8.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages

Property: The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages
Address: High Street, Bangor On Dee, Wrexham LL13 0AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Bangor On Dee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor On Dee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1630, the oldest property in Bangor-on-Dee, with genuine oak beams. In the centre of the village, short walk to race course, close to river, fishing by arrangement, golf nearby. Convenient for Chester, Shrewsbury, Snowdonia. Bed & Breakfast or 4-star self-catering cottages. Accommodation for the business and leisure tourist. Telephone and internet access in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing