We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“stableyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

we went to Bangor on Dee races on saturday 18 May and stayed at the Stableyard.We found the proprietor very friendly and helpful,the room was quaint but very clean and comforable,the breakfast very enjoyable and the place was very convenient for the racetrack being about 20 minutes walk.We will definitely go again and can recommend it to anyone visiting this area

Room Tip: make sure you get en suite 1 room is not
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffandannsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The only 5 star rating I've given on trip advisor since I started posting, I've got to say it's just perfect. Cosy, clean tasteful rooms with pristine bedding and comfy plump beds.

Haddock in a pleasant sauce and poached egg for breakfast, very reasonably priced, can't fault it.

What I usually *can't stand* about B&B is the fact that it feels like you're in someone's house; but this feels like going upstairs from a cosy country pub, when you're not! I think it's on account of the fact that the property is big enough so that guests never enter the proprietors' own living areas.

There are 2 pubs within a matter of 200 metres, so it's all good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed there for one night. Great out of the way location. A warm welcome on our arrival and found the hotel spotless with all the trimmings in our room. The pubs over the road served the best vegetable soup I have tasted in a long time. Our room had what looked like the original wooden beams on the ceiling and within the walls which added to the ambiance . Great breakfast with attention to presentation. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 6 on the first floor. No noise could be heard from any where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Decided to stay over as had never been to the Bangor-on-Dee Races and was unsure what time it would finish. Price of an En-suite room seemed reasonable and in a decent spot. You can walk from the property to the Racecourse down a country road (about 1mile)

The Stableyard is on the 'main road' through to the Racecourse in the middle of the village - the road is not busy so no need to worry about noise and my car was fine parked outside all night.

The B&B is a twee olde worlde set up - low ceilings, beams and a sweet black cat curled up in reception. Our hosts were pleasant and on hand if needed.

The bedroom was well appointed - spotless carpets, comfy bed and warm. The bathroom was tiny - however considering the period of the property its part of its charm.

Sadly, got up too late to sample breakfast which is between 7am-9am but we did get a phone call at 8.55am to check if we were coming down.

Ate dinner in the pub accross the way - friendly little place and no one looked oddly at us Townies as we walked through the door! Had delicious Fish & Chips and spent a couple of hours drinking in there.

Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We took over 4 rooms at the stable yard on a self catering basis at the end of August/ beginning of September 2012.
The owners were lovely and nothing was a problem for them.
The rooms were clean and fresh although some were a little dark, but this is to be expected in an old low wooden beamed property.

The two pubs across the road were great when we didn't want to eat and both the little shop and the post office sold enough staples for breakfast.

Overall, a lovely little cottage.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mooresud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

we stayed at the stableyard for one night at the end of july as we were going to the race course that is a 20 min walk away.the rooms were quirky because of the age of the property but spotless with all mod cons and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patyju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at The Stableyard for 2 nights in the first week of July, 2012. We had read the feedback on Tripadvisor and were content with what was given. It was everything we expected. Very cute establishment in a quaint little town. Very quiet. Tucked in off the main roadway. The owners were trusting (although we offered, they didn´t want full payment until checkout). And they servered an adequate hearty breakfast. The hotels across the street offered amazing and tasty menus. So having a nearby place to enjoy dinner served as a bonus. The downside to the place was that we had booked a twin room with an en suite. Problem being that the `en suite´ was outside our room, across the hallway. AND there was was NO SHOWER. Just a bath. There was no wording indicating this in the accommodations details. I love my shower first thing in the morning. Even when I have a bath, I like to rinse off with a shower afterwards. So this was the only real let down. Apart from that I would highly reccommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OZMARKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor On Dee
4.7 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
8.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages

Property: The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages
Address: High Street, Bangor On Dee, Wrexham LL13 0AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Bangor On Dee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor On Dee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1630, the oldest property in Bangor-on-Dee, with genuine oak beams. In the centre of the village, short walk to race course, close to river, fishing by arrangement, golf nearby. Convenient for Chester, Shrewsbury, Snowdonia. Bed & Breakfast or 4-star self-catering cottages. Accommodation for the business and leisure tourist. Telephone and internet access in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing