We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great B&B”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

we stayed at the stableyard for one night at the end of july as we were going to the race course that is a 20 min walk away.the rooms were quirky because of the age of the property but spotless with all mod cons and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patyju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at The Stableyard for 2 nights in the first week of July, 2012. We had read the feedback on Tripadvisor and were content with what was given. It was everything we expected. Very cute establishment in a quaint little town. Very quiet. Tucked in off the main roadway. The owners were trusting (although we offered, they didn´t want full payment until checkout). And they servered an adequate hearty breakfast. The hotels across the street offered amazing and tasty menus. So having a nearby place to enjoy dinner served as a bonus. The downside to the place was that we had booked a twin room with an en suite. Problem being that the `en suite´ was outside our room, across the hallway. AND there was was NO SHOWER. Just a bath. There was no wording indicating this in the accommodations details. I love my shower first thing in the morning. Even when I have a bath, I like to rinse off with a shower afterwards. So this was the only real let down. Apart from that I would highly reccommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZMARKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were late and looking for accomodation we arrived in bangor on dee due to sat nav, never heard of it before. Fortunately there was a cancellation and the stableyard he had a room, yes it is an old builiding but the room was nice, clean and comfortable. Would stay again. if you want food there are two pub/restaurants across the road.

Room Tip: We had room 6 this was ensuite, it appeared there were dedicated room bathrooms for some of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancsprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Stableyard is old but clean and comfortable, the room had all the amenities you would expect and the breakfast was one of the better ones we have experienced. We stayed two nights and had a very nice stay, on the slightly negative the place appears to be a little unloved.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Despite being a very old building, The Stableyard was clean and comfortable. The owners were friendly and helpful. Bangor On Dee is a cute little village. We loved being there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sroese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights in one of the self-catering cottages, and absolutley loved it, host and hostess couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Cottage very comfortable, ours has a queen sized bed and a single, and a well equipped kitchen. I also loved the village itself, plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. I was very pleased to have found it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constantvisitor02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Very pleasant old room with masses of character with a lovely comfortable brass bed with crisp cotton bedding.

Breakfast was really good, fresh fruit, yoghurts, large selection of cooked breakfast choices including smoked haddock.

Very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jebpgb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor On Dee
4.3 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
354 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
5.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
8.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages

Property: The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages
Address: High Street, Bangor On Dee, Wrexham LL13 0AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Bangor On Dee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor On Dee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1630, the oldest property in Bangor-on-Dee, with genuine oak beams. In the centre of the village, short walk to race course, close to river, fishing by arrangement, golf nearby. Convenient for Chester, Shrewsbury, Snowdonia. Bed & Breakfast or 4-star self-catering cottages. Accommodation for the business and leisure tourist. Telephone and internet access in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stableyard Guest Accommodation and S C Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing