We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daresbury Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Daresbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent. ”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

went to a wedding on the Sat. Hotel nice, wedding breakfast lovely. Drinks overpriced. £3.85 bottles of lager. Room had been refurbed and was lovely. Staff nice and polite. Breakfast rubbish. Booked on lastminute.com for £45.90 so no complaints. Had a good time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyboy19
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    624
    645
    490
    721
See reviews for
380
1,048
85
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Upon arrival:

No sign pointing to entrance which resulted in us walking around half the building (maze) to find the welcome desk, staff there were not helpful, just felt like we were in the way, poor attitude.

Upon arrival to room:

Arrived in room, as we entered it smelt smokey/dusty/moist, we then straight away opened the window, 1 pillow each on the bed, bed side lights were huge and didn't even look the same, bed side tables weren't the same, they had marks in them where heat or something made it look really old. Steam stains by the kettle next to the mirror, plugs had no date on them to indicate when they were last checked, bathroom was ok, mold stains though around the tub.

Dinner in the evening:

Very VERY disappointing, it was a carvery...surprise surprise, they had the 3 selections, also had a choice of a steak or chicken. No mash, no Yorkshires, No Stuffing, nothing... Veg soup for starters too which was nice, staff were nice I cant fault them on that, I think they understand how bad the place is though.

Following Morning:

All you can eat fry up, I cant fault them on this it was quite good, maybe the best bit of the stay, although they were serving chips with the breakfast but no hash browns? These were cold, black pudding was luke warm, I would actually suggest going out to maccys for your breakfast though for warmth in food.

Other things:

Gym was ok, full of pompous body building men, also seemed a spot for personal trainers (if you want water they had it in the gym, don't buy it from the counter which costs you a £1)

Upon exit:

Staff were the same as we checked in, miserable, it took her half a minute to clock on that I was standing there, no apology, just thanks when I give her the card key back, no questions about my stay.

Honestly, and I say this nicely

DO NOT STAY THERE BOOK A TRAVEL LODGE OR A PREMIER IN.

Nothing but a death feeling atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daresbury hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Has been a very good hotel in the past. Stayed the night. Accommodation was a building site with no prior warning given, even at reception. Walls very thin, you can hear conversations in the next room, corridor and even toilet use. Room and decoration tired and dated. Mould on bathroom ceiling and tile grouting. Staff friendly and helpful but management woeful, nobody knew what was going on. Well overpriced for facilities available. My advice look elsewhere unless you get a very good deal on the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtp8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Really struggling to put into words how awful this hotel is. I stayed there as part of a convention and had several problems during my stay. These include:
- a very surly welcome when checking in, made to feel like 'they' were doing 'me' a favour by even selling me a room
- no decaf finated coffee.....when my colleague requested some she was told they had run out the previous WEEKEND! (Presumably no catering suppliers in the Warrington area?)
- being told where we could and could not sit in the restaurant (unlike other 'non convention' guests who had the freedom to sit wherever and with whomever they choose).....'oh you can sit anywhere where there are no wine glasses on the tables'
- Carvery each night of our stay.....no Yorkshires with the Beef (they'd been burnt in the kitchen! Not possible to make some more?) No stuffing served with Roast Pork.
- The awkward moment when the restaurant staff realise that no provision had been made for the vegetarians in our party....
- Far too many items on the bar menu not available.....no ciabattas, no baguettes, no pizza.......you get to the point of saying 'what HAVE you got?'

However.....their finest hour had to be when I was treated like a 3 year old and publicly insulted in the restaurant by the restaurant manager at breakfast on the final morning. There was no excuse whatsoever for the way I was treated. I have tried to resolve the matter with the hotel General Manager who seemed to consider that a verbal apology is all that is needed for the problems I had all weekend. I disagree and requested reasonable compensation so, given that the General Manager was not amenable to my request, I am now taking this up with Britannia Hotels direct. So far 4 emails, including one to their Managing Director, have been ignored. I think that says it all really.....poor attitude and customer care from the top down, reflected in a poor attitude at hotel level. What kind of hotel ignores customer complaints?
Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Sixtimesinanaheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this as our first GroupOn promotion and were very worried when we read the reviews. However, I cannot say a bad word about it! Yes, they were having a refurb but we were informed of that. Room slightly dated but clean, spacious and very quiet! Food great, no issues getting in the restaurant at the requested time and breakfast very good too! Would go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially in dinning room. Room very big and nice and quiet, a bit grubby in places, good bathroom with bath and separate shower. The hotel is going through a refurbishment programme at the moment - didn't cause any disturbance. It's a bit of a maze of corridors to find your way around. Ok as it was only £71 bed and breakfast, dinner was £16 and very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - got upstairs at end of corridor - great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saz500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

... well , you could call it a nightmare ! I dreamt that I'd won second prize in a raffle. The first prize was a free night at this hotel .... the second prize was a whole weekend. Then I woke up and realised that it wasn't a nightmare at all , it had actually happened.

As I stood on the platform at Warrington station after checking out on the Monday , they announced that the train from Glasgow had been canceled due to an electrical failure. A wave of panic swept over me ... the thought that I may have to return to the Daresbury Park Hotel for another night.

From the stroppy welcome ( if you could call it that ) on arrival to the moment I finally made my escape on the Monday morning , I wondered how on earth the place survived. A few pointers if you're thinking of going ....

1. Bring sharp steak knife to cut through breakfast bacon , on the plus side , if you like cricket the croissants double up as cricket balls.
2. Don't expect there to be anything left on the bar menu by Sunday night
3. Refrain from slapping the restaurant staff who are the rudest on earth ( with the exception of one sweet girl who actually brought us a cup of coffee when we asked nicely .
4. Avoid the coffee - it's lukewarm and instant and will have been sitting on your breakfast table for a couple of hours in a grubby plastic flask.
5. Try not to look at the encroaching black stains on your bathroom roof , it's a little off-putting when you're trying to hose down the previous occupant's pubic hair from the plug-hole
6. Expect your toilet not to have been flushed when you first open its lid
7. Expect to be overcharged for a Sunday night and don't ever expect to be refunded
8. I could go on but you get the picture

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolate_ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daresbury
3.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daresbury Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daresbury Park Hotel

Property: Daresbury Park Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Daresbury WA4 4BB, England (Formerly De Vere Daresbury Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Daresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Daresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Daresbury Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daresbury Park Hotel & Spa is one of the best hotels in Warrington for price and facilities. Located just a 3 minute drive from the M56 and offering easy access to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester with the Peak District only 40 minutes away - the Daresbury Park is the perfect choice for short breaks, business travel, conferences and wedding receptions alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Daresbury Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Daresbury Park Hotel Daresbury
De Vere Daresbury Park Warrington
Daresbury Park Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing