We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting”

Devil's Bridge Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited Devils Bridge Falls on a good day weather wise and were glad we did as I would imagine the paths and steps would be a little more difficult to negotiate in wet weather. With the steep steps both up and down this attraction is not suitable for those with walking difficulties, but if you are able bodied it's a great place to see. The waterfalls are quite spectacular and I would imagine that after heavy rain they would be more so. The only downside I would mention is that some of the viewing points are obscured by overgrown trees, not sure how this could be overcome as the gorges are very deep, perhaps a challenge for abseilers armed with electric saws, maybe not!!! Don't let that put you off though as the scenery is fabulous, don't forget your camera or better still cine camera. There is a car park opposite the entrance to the falls which is free and the site is well signposted along the road, entrance is reasonable £3.50 adults, £3.00 concession. There is also a wind up information unit which gives you the history of the bridge (Welsh folklore) beware the devil!!. Just up the road, about 150 yards, is a very nice tea room where you can get a lovely cup of tea, gorgeous cake or something hot. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would love to see the falls again in full flood.

1  Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina H, General Manager at Devil's Bridge Falls, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. I love the profile photo that you have used.
The waterfalls can become very full, very quickly after a heavy rainfall and they change dramatically. Last June, when Aberystwyth flooded, we had to close the viewing points that were close to the waterfalls as the water was too powerful and the spray was unbelievable. I try to keep visitors updated on the fullness of the waterfalls via our facebook page.( Devil's Bridge Waterfalls ) There is also a video on facebook showing the flooded falls and the damage it did to the railings on the punchbowl side.
Unfortunately due to the waterfalls being in a SSI location we are unable to cut back trees unless they are dangerous. However they do create a sense of depth and look amazing in the autumn when they change colour.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you are able to visit again sometime to see the falls in full flood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 620 of 715 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a wonderful place to visit, even if you aren't into history. Although the story related to Devil's Bridge and seeing all the different bridges built on top of each other over the years transports you to another time, this tourist spot provides you with wonderful scenery and the option of a challenging walk to the bottom of the falls.

We went on a rainy day, as it often is in Wales, and we paid the entry fee to go down the falls. It is a steep incline and due to deep puddles of water we had to walk along this very fragile ridge to bypass the water at one point. We didn't see anyone else the whole time and the atmosphere was really peaceful. When we reached the bottom we then realised there was no easy way out and we had to climb back up on the other side! Allow some time to enjoy this beautiful walk. It is well worth it and we had a lot of fun doing it.

Thank WelshMaiden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina H, General Manager at Devil's Bridge Falls, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Devil's Bridge is steeped with History and like you point out, even if you aren't into history in a big way it is still very interesting to see the three bridges built one on top of each other which shows the different road levels that was once used. The waterfalls was also once used to generate electricity for the Hafod Hotel which is located above the waterfalls on the road side. It would have been the only property for miles around with electricity in those days.

The walk is quite a challenge for some people but I'm glad that you had a fun experience and enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great adventure, stunning beauty.
Recommend sensible shoes and find your own pace, Jacobs ladder can be a little dangerous for little ones but with sensible caution the kids will have a great time exploring. If you can go with a group then even better you need eyes at the back of your head with all the hidden dangers.
The waterfalls wow absolutely mind blowing, lots of photos taken, we were staying on a camp site in Borth so quite a trek but well worth it.
Lots to see and plenty resting places for little ones to grab a drink.
Great place to explore.
Highly recommended.

Thank Rhiacrewe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina H, General Manager at Devil's Bridge Falls, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Devil's Bridge and your stay in Borth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a lot of steps but some of the best views in Wales. The waterfall was perfect and the staff were just brilliant. You need to come here

Thank Jmslc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina H, General Manager at Devil's Bridge Falls, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us a great review. There are a lot of steps ! but we are glad that you found it worth your while. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and it's nice of you to comment on our helpful staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Recommended attraction. Learnt of Devil's Bridge from our hosts at Sunny View B&B Machynlleth. Glad we did! Challenging walk for all ages and fitness levels. Sensible shoes needed! Personal opinion not for Children or Dogs. Jacob's ladder isn't for those who suffer with vertigo. Completed both walks Waterfalls/Nature Trail and Punchbowl. Spectacular views! Allow at least an hour. Small charge. Guide book only 50p. Will recommend to Family & Friends.

Thank Sarlitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina H, General Manager at Devil's Bridge Falls, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending us to your friends. I agree, it is a challenging walk and not for those who have a fear of steep steps. It sounds like you enjoyed your holiday in Machynlleth and I'm glad that you enjoyed your trip to Devil's Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Bridge Falls also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Devil's Bridge Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing