We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We didn't want to leave!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Bellegarde

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bellegarde-du-Razes, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sarahsmum...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the villa for 2 weeks in the middle of August as a family of 4, plus my mum for one of the weeks. It was fantastic and none of us wanted to leave! The villa is very spacious, with lovely modern design and well set out. Lots of double patio doors both front and back allows any breeze to keep it lovely and cool in very hot weather and air conditioning in the bedrooms meant the nights were very comfortable too. All the bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and good showers with plenty of towels provided. Well equipped in general - massive oven, dishwasher and washing machine, lots of cutlery and crockery etc. The wifi was fine and fast enough to allow video streaming of films on Netflix etc. The American style fridge was much appreciated - loads of freezer space for ice cream and an ice maker! The pool was really lovely with lots of sunbeds for lounging and kept my 2 daughters entertained for hours.
The surrounding area is very peaceful and completely in the countryside - very private and surrounded by vineyards and sunflower fields. It adds to a lovely sense of getting away from everything but there is a small village within 5 minutes drive for bakery, 8 til 8 etc and Limoux and Mirepoix, larger town within 20-30 minutes with great markets - particularly Mirepoix.

When you want a longer swim than the pool there is a lake called Lac Montbel about 25-30 minutes drive away on the outskirts of a town called Leran - it has a beach area with a great café - good meals and ice cream and the lake, although a bit muddy at the water's edge, is lovely for long swims and for children to mess about in - lifeguard there until 31st August with a cordoned off area for swimmers/young swimmers.

The town of Leran also is home to a great cycle hire place called Velomondo - run by Craig who was extremely helpful setting us up for a bike ride - and with 2 flagging children, me having completely misjudged how hot it actually was the day we cycled, came with his car and picked us and the bikes up from Mirepoix - fantastic service and bikes and would definitely recommend. There is a green, mostly road free route from Lac Montbel starting though the forest which was fun!

We would definitely come back to this villa if we have another French villa holiday, might consider flying to Toulouse and hiring a car next time as it was only an hour away. Thank you Fanny for a lovely stay!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrengil...
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely villa with good facilities in a secluded but convenient location perfect for noisy kids in a pool!”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Three families spent a wonderful August week in this lovely modern villa (built in a traditional Aude style) with great facilities and a contemporary interior. The house is not overlooked by anyone, kids can make as much noise as they like or with out youngsters you get perfect peace and quiet. You also get magnificent views of the stars at night and the beautiful surrounding countryside by day. Fanny the owner was most helpful before we arrived as was her property manager on arrival.
The swimming pool pump broke in the middle of the week and a new one was fitted with in 3 hours now thats how to keep guests kids happy and there parents!
The only tiny critic I would have is that the facilities state "Bicycles" for going to the local shops. There was one Bike with a puncture and one bike for a three year old with stabilisers. Did this spoil the stay at all, definitely not!
We all agreed that we would love to come stay again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2017
Dear Darren,
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome your party at the villa. Everyone is delighted that you and your family had a wonderful stay!
We will ensure that we check the bikes next time so they are ready to be used!
We would love to welcome you again next year.
Best wishes,
The team at Villa Bellegarde!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie F
1 review
“Fabulous house and location”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just returned from a week at this fabulous villa in the south of France. The setting is rural and quiet which we like. The nearby village (5 minutes away) had a fresh bakery, convenience store, post office, pharmacy and restaurant. We could get everything we needed. A larger supermarket is about 15 minutes away, but we took advantage of the local fresh food markets. We especially enjoyed the one at Mirepoix.

The house was comfortable and well laid out and well appointed. The kitchen had everything we needed. Large fridge/freezer and cupboard space. Everything is maintained to a high standard with clean bathrooms. The open showers were a bit of a challenge, but worked well with good water pressure and plenty of hot water for our group of 8.

We took day trips to Carcassonne (of course) and even to Andorra. The countryside is beautiful. Loads of historic sites and vineyards to feast your eyes on.

Enough to do and the opportunity to sit out and relax as well. Too cold for the pool but it looked like it would be tons of fun n warmer weather...we'll have to come back in the summer months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2016
Dear Julie,
Many thanks for your review! We enjoyed having you stay at Villa Bellegarde. We would love to welcome you any time in the year and especially in the summer when there is plenty of sunshine and heat to enjoy the pool!
Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinaSu
1 review
“The perfect getaway at Villa Bellagarde”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I just got back from a blissful yoga retreat at Villa Bellagarde. The villa is located in a scenic beautiful village of Bellegarde du Razes, which is in the famous Languedoc region of southern France. Surrounded by vineyards it is the perfect place to escape if you are looking for some down time. The villa itself is very well equipped with all the modern ameneanties and decorated to a high standard with a private pool and stunning gardens. I would definitely be back to stay again next summer,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpainMark
Province of Girona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous vineyard views”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This picturesque house is set in lovely, tranquil French countryside, surrounded by vineyards. We visited the surrounding towns less than expected, as it was so nice staying around the house and enjoying the property and the views. Within minutes of leaving the house we were cycling through vineyards or through the nearby forest. The spacious living/dining/kitchen area (which opens directly onto the terrace) was great for our group of friends. The house was as described, clean and had every convenience we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting/views
Liked least: Too early in the year to use the pool (this was explained to us before we arrived).
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a cycling trip for only a few days and wished we could have stayed for longer. The house is like something from a cheesy postcard it's so photogenic. The house is very large, very clean, and in a wonderful setting. I highly recommend it.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful house, great location.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing