We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised.”

Tretower Castle & Court
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tretower
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were staying nearby and this came up as a attraction to go and visit. To be hones I was not holding much out for this site as I thought we would only have a couple of things to see.

The place is lovely and perfect for picnics, as there is plenty of space. The house and castle itself is very nice and well presented and the staff were lovely.

I would recommend is if your nearby and have a hour or so to spare.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    39
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Visited on a lovely sunny day, did not expect to find such a gem. There is a ruined castle (within a castle) and a mediaeval court. The court was the real surprise with rooms on ground floor and first floor. A super atmosphere and giving a wonderful impression of what life would be like in mediaeval times. Visit if you can

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge on Wye
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in the world”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

All I can say is if you haven't been why not? Go NOW! We went a few years ago and have kept going back. It's just so special and very atmospheric. Take the kids or just go on your own for a think. Amazing Place we are lucky to have it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueEmmaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is well worth visiting if you are in South Wales. The castle is interesting and the house in very good condition , you can easily imagine how the past occupants lived. The garden is maintained and lovely to see in the warmer months.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BettySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, S Wales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hosting an american friend who enjoys castles we decided to visit Tretower. I must say I really enjoyed this venue - Great countryside, a lovely house and castle. Be warned you have to dodge some sheep to get to the castle but it was well worth it. The house is large and well preserved. The gardens are bursting with interesting fruits and flowers and I could have sat there all day. Well worth the entrance fee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Glamlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tretower Castle & Court also viewed

Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Tretower Castle & Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing