We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
$207
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
$176
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$193
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
282
17
3
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
17
3
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshadrian's wallsoupstunning viewsperfect locationhomemade biscuitslounge areaguest loungefirst classstayed for nightsvisiting the areashort staygranolawarm welcomebeautiful roombreakfast was excellentlast weekan evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 310 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with a couple of friends in September. Although it is very isolated, there are plenty of places to get a evening meal with 8 mile radios. Lovely warm welcome, beautiful.l bedrooms with very comfy beds. The hosts did everything they could to make our stay pleasurable. Breakfast had so many choices and was beautifully cooked. I would highly recommend a stay at The Carraw.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin V, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip with friends. We hope the onward journey on leaving us went well and we look forward to seeing you again. Kevin and Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just had a 4 night stay at Carraw as part of our 10 day tour of Northumberland. It is a lovely former old farmhouse situated in an outstandingly beautiful area and perfectly situated for those walking or cycling the Hadrian's Wall Way.
We were touring and it is well situated for access to the wider area e.g. Kielder and Durham. The view from our bedroom window was a 180 degree panorama of fields, hills and valleys with the North Yorks moors away in the distance. Stunning!
We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and I would recommend, if staying for a few nights, then probably better to have one of the larger rooms. To be fair when we booked we were aware of that, but did struggle a bit to unpack everything in our cases but managed in the end. Our bed was very comfortable and the room and ensuite were spotlessly clean and well appointed.
The breakfasts were well cooked with a good choice and Leah's home baked bread was delicious. I really like that Kevin and Leah produce home made food or source everything locally if possible. They also try to be as environmentally responsible as possible with recycling and even have an electric point for hybrid cars!
Other reviewers have mentioned the road, but I do not think it is a problem. The road is not busy at any time of the day and the sound of the occasional vehicle did not disturb us.
We did not have an evening meal at Carraw, but you will need transport if you want to visit pubs and restaurants as they are a few miles away. Not a problem for us as we had a car and had some lovely evening meals in the area.
Leah and Kevin seem to cater well for the needs of walkers. Some of the other guests were walkers and had got soaked when the heavens opened! Leah quickly arranged to get their clothes dry.

Room Tip: Choose the larger Bricolitia or Chesters if staying for a few days.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramagar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin V, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent tour of Northumberland and you enjoyed the delights of our wonderful county. If you decide to venture north again we look forward to seeing you. Kevin and Leah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and two friends traveled from Canada for our first experience to Europe. This bed and breakfast was booked for us through British Tours. This had to be one of the nicest B & B's that we have ever stayed in. We were so welcomed by Leah that we felt like we walked into a family member's home. Lean went above and beyond for us and made us feel so welocme. The interior of the house was amazing and very clean and comforting. The grounds were very well kept and a pleasure to walk around. The breakfast was out of this world delicious and served with a smile. Just can't say enough about this place. Thanks for making our first trip to Europe such an amazing experience! Rob and Margarett Gillis, Canada.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poseydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin V, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent tour of Europe and that we were able to help in making your first trip to Europe a success. If you decide to come over again we look forward to seeing you.

Regards

Kevin and Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We don't mind paying extra for something special. We stayed in three B&Bs on this last holiday, all at the same price, and Carraw stands out head and shoulders above the other two. Indeed, it was better than anywhere we've stayed (we usually choose B&Bs from the Alistair Sawday listings). The attention to detail was astonishing. The whole house glowed with the care of Leah and Kevin. Leah even did a wash for us. Personally I wish we'd spent the whole holiday in this one place. Packed lunch is not to be missed.

B&B's provision of TV is often some decrepit old thing that barely picks up a signal. Here we had flat screen with freeview, sky and DVDs. Normally I'm not seduced by such things, but Kevin and Leah's DVD library is excellent, including several things of local interest. There is a really comfy lounge with a great range of natural history and walking books and maps. I was almost sorry that the weather was so good that we were rarely in!

It's really worth reading through the folder-full of notes to get the most from your stay.

The one negative thing was my husband being relegated to the car park to have a smoke, as if he'd committed some crime. A simple change from a notice saying 'It is illegal to smoke on these premises' to 'Please feel free to smoke in our car park, and here's a chair for you' would have made a great difference to his mood.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Chesters' - has a great view, and the bath has a great view, too. No noise from anywhere.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin V, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities on offer at Carraw. It was also nice to hear that we are on par with ones that you normally stay at in the Sawdays Guide.

We were sorry to read your comments about your husband being relegated to the car park for a smoke. It is not out intention but the signage we have on display are the ones that are required under the smoking ban. We have made enquiries in the past about "toning down" the wording but have been told we can't. Your husband would have been welcome to sit on the patio.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards

Kevin and Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Carraw Bed and Breakfast. Perfect bed and perfect breakfast. Very clean, very tidy. Leah is a lovely hostess. Perfect location for those walking Hadrian's wall. As cyclists midway through our Hadrian's cycleway trip we had under estimated the distance the Carraw was from the cycleway and turned up a bit later than anticipated (especially with the gradient on the road up!) however the pedalling effort was rewarded with a superb stopover. A large room, comfy bed and fantastic breakfast. If the museli is homemade I suggest the hosts package the stuff and retire on the profits, it was amazing. Perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin V, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay on your recent cycle tour along Hadrian's Cycleway. We hope you had a successful "down hill" journey into Newcastle, well fuelled with the home made museli and got home ok. We look forward to seeing you again so you can enjoy the facilities (and museli) for a little longer.

Regards

Kevin and Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews