We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Walwick Hall(Humshaugh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
280
17
3
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
17
3
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshadrian's wallb bsoupstunning viewsperfect locationhomemade biscuitslounge areaguest loungefirst classstayed for nightsvisiting the areashort staygranolawarm welcomebeautiful roombreakfast was excellentlast week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 308 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night last week. We were welcomed by Leah who is very friendly and showed us around before taking us to our room. There is a comfy guest sitting room, which we didn't need to use as our bedroom was enormous! There were three single beds, window seat, TV/DVD, home made biscuits on the tea tray with lots of different teas as well as coffee etc. We also had a very spacious bathroom with a shower over the bath and both rooms had gorgeous views over open country. Carraw is also licensed so we took a bottle of wine up to our room and had a drink while we watched the English Heritage Film about Hadrian's Wall to help us plan our few days away, as it was our first night.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious and plentiful for both myself and my friend who is a vegetarian, with fresh fruit and yoghurt to start and then the wonderful full English for me - yummy!!

Carraw is also built on top of Hadrian's Wall, so it couldn't be a more convenient locations for those walking or driving its length. I can't recommend it highly enough. The only slight problem is that it is not very near any evening eateries, but Leah provides a soup and ploughman's meal for those walkers who don't have transportation to the nearest pub, or don't want to get a taxi, as long as she has advance notice. This is just the price you pay for the glorious views and perfect Wall location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikifriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevig, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to hear the you enjoyed your stay at Carraw. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your time on Hadrian's Wall and hopefully see you in the future.

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

As hikers on the Hadrian's Wall Pathway, we were so surprised to find such fine accommodations and gourmet dining along the way. Kevin and Leah even managed to make the Full English Breakfast something special! Of all the B&B's we stayed at during our 3 week visit to the UK, which included 12 different places in Wales, England and Scotland, Carraw B&B easily tops the list for best rooms, best views, best food and friendliest hosts, plus best value overall!

If you are looking for a rustic farm or pub experience, best look elsewhere though. This is a quiet, historic country farm in the middle of Northumbria. If I were planning a special weekend with friends or as a couple, this would be a great place to base from on trips to nearby hikes or other historic sites.

Room Tip: We are a family of 3 and had the Chesters Room, which had a king bed and a single bed. Lots of room to stretch out, plus a really nice tub with a view out the window to the countryside.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyDarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevig, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Good Evening. Thank you for your review and your pictures. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Carraw. We hope that you had a good trip around the UK overall and a safe journey home. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kevin and Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Located on the trail, we stopped off at about half 1 and were greeted with a smile. We asked if we could drop a bag off and use the toilet, all ok, and we carried on walking. The kind lady recommended a taxi firm for us to get back, reliable firm :) arrived back at about 7pm, amazing facilities, had a lovely soak in the bath and used my bath robe which was provided! Ordered breakfast for the next day, what a delicious smoothie it was!!!
Checked out with no problems at all.
In hind sight, comparing it against other b&b's £98 does seem rather expensive, however it is located on the trail which makes it easier in the morning!!
Thank you :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire2792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevig, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time on visting the area and have passed your comments onto the taxi firm in question. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime

All the best

Kevin and Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed only one night at Carraw B&B. It is a perfect location to explore the Hadrian's Wall and its excavation sites.

Our room Brocolitia was spacious, very nice decorated and spotless clean. It is very calm and you have a wonderful scenic view from the window. The breakfast is plenty and has a good choice. We especially loved the fresh prepaired smoothie.

We would have loved to try the afternoon tea but stayed only one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liquiritia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevig, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review – we appreciate it! It was a shame that you could only enjoy our hospitality for one night but look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

All the best

Kevin and Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Too muche expensive for the bedroom (little) house (Noisy -road at back and house itself) and diner (very strange and not good).

During our trip we found B and B less expensive and more confortable...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mireille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevig, Owner at Carraw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the size of the room and location but feel that the information we have provided to Booking.com ie our location with a map and room details, which include the floor area would have assisted in making an informed decision in choosing to stay at Carraw B&B.
In relation to the supper we offer, we were sorry to hear that you felt it was strange and expensive. We believe that the supper represents good value for money as it consists of homemade soup and fresh local produce. As you know all our guests are made aware of the contents via the confirmation e mail that we provide on booking. Therefore we belived that you knew what you had booked when adding the supper to your reservation. I also understand that on arrival we did double check that you knew what it is. You informed us that you did as you had looked up the meaning in the dictionary. We don't pretend to advertise the supper as a dinner and believe the information we provide to our guests supports this and assist to make the decision to dine in or eat in.
We hope you had a good trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews