We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could score this place a 6, I would!”
Review of Linden House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humshaugh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linden House B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Humshaugh B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This b and b is the best you will ever find, anywhere. After a long walk along hadrians wall, it didn't matter that we had to walk one mile off the trail. We were welcomed, brought tea and biscuits (divine), everywhere was immaculately clean, bed so comfy, driven to the pub and back and brought the best breakfast in a lovely dining room. We will be back one day, it felt like we had won a competition, staying at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deejay153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We could not have asked for more from this marvellous B&B.

Just the one room with great views out the back of the old stone house. Large luxurious room, large luxurious bathroom, enormous very comfortable bed. The hosts, Sue and Dick, are extremely helpful and great hosts. We were overwhelmed by the extent of their help - driving us in the evening to and from a pub in a nearby village (as the local one wasn't serving food), and then, on the morning of our departure, driving us all the way to a cash machine in Hexham just because we'd been stupid enough to forget our chequebook. And this wasn't self-interest - we had enough cash to pay them OK - it was purely to save us worry on subsequent days of our walk along the Wall.

It almost goes without saying that tea and cake were provided on arrival as was a lovely breakfast the following morning.

And all this for a very reasonable £75.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tortoise_or_Hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

After having walked 15 miles from Heddon Area to Humshaugh, this B&B seemed like a palace to us. The room is truly luxurious and has a lot of space, same counts for the bathroom. Dick and Sue presented themselves as wonderful hosts, we were served tea and cake just after we had arrived and also the breakfast was incredibly rich and tasty. It has been a wonderful stay and it was a pleasure to meet them both. I would come back without hesitating.

Christina and Nikolai

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina_vg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Susan & Dick are wonderful hosts and provide a lovely room in their beautiful old stone home. Dick even drove us to a restaurant since the nearby pub kitchen was closed. Much appreciated after a long day walking Hadrian's wall. Loved the big soaker tub, king bed and beautifully presented and delicious breakfast. The grounds and garden are well maintained and the view from the bedroom window is a treat. The innkeepers obviously care about what they do and about the comfort of their guests.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

After a long hike along Hadrians Wall Path Dick and Susan welcomed us with tea and cake a comfortable and large room. The pub for dinner is just a few steps away and has nice meals. The breakfast in Linden Housen was delicious too. We enjoyed it very much there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at Linden House for one night while walking Hadrian's Wall. The room was lovely and spacious and the shower was delightful after a long days walking. Sue and Dick were great hosts, welcoming us with a cup of coffee and the best fruit cake. Sue gave us a lift to the pub (as the local pub was closed on Sundays) and picked us up later on which was most welcome. Breakfast was lovely and one of the best we had. The bed was really comfy which made for the best nights sleep of the walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We staggered across the threshold at Linden House after a gruelling 21 mile walk along Hadrian's wall to be met by Dick & Sue with glasses of ice cold water followed by tea, coffee and absolutely superb fruit cake.

The room is large, airy and with great views out over the countryside, whilst the bathroom was a thing of luxury!

Taking pity on our tired limbs, Sue drove us to the pub in the next village for dinner and collected us afterwards.

Breakfast the next morning was probably the best of the week.

We were made to feel like household guests rather than paying customers, which I think is what Dick & Sue are aiming for.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintsOnTour2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Linden House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House B&B

Address: Sue Hogarth | Linden House, Humshaugh, Hexham NE46 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Humshaugh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Humshaugh
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Linden House B&B Humshaugh, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing