We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome diving!”
Review of Agulhas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umkomaas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agulhas House
Ranked #1 of 10 Umkomaas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Had a blast! We had an awesome diving experience with Brett and his team , Lauren , JODY and Jeff made us feel super welcome ... We dived with Agulhas house in December and will be going back to them on a regular basis..I ESPECIALLY LOVED YOUR POOL. thanks for a wonderful time guys , keep up the good work :)

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 143 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Agulhas House recognises that some divers prefer to have clean, comfortable, "up-market" accommodation. Rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, bedding is smart and clean and all the amenities (coffee and tea, TV, safes in rooms etc.) are present.

The booking process was efficient and effective. Mickey and I discussed dive and accommodation options via email and everything was booked and paid for before we arrived. Note that no credit card facilities are available at Agulhas House so any extras will need to be paid for in cash, or via Electronic Funds Transfer.

The accommodation and dive centre work seamlessly together - so bookings for dives, gear hire and accommodation are handled in one interaction. Similarly, meals and dive times are co-ordinated and the kitchen prepares snacks and drinks for the boat when back-to-back dives are done. This simplifies all the logistics around the dive planning. Agulhas House makes sure that your entire trip is as relaxing as possible. All dive gear is placed on the boat before each dive and removed, washed and hung out to dry at the end of every day. All you have to do on return is rinse your wetsuit and dive computer or camera, have a warm shower, and sit down to a super cooked breakfast.

Vegard, the resident dive master, is highly knowledgeable about the local dive sites and conditions and made sure that each dive was tailored to our requirements (weather and sea conditions permitting). We had some excellent dives on the Shoal and Nebo. Visibility on the Shoal was between 8-10m but we had 20m visibility on the Nebo wreck dive. This was despite it having rained for the previous three weeks, so we were expecting poor viz as a result of river runoff.

Bottom line - this is where I will be rebooking whenever I want to dive at Aliwal Shoal.

Room Tip: For families, there is an option of a family suite - two adjoining rooms with double bed in one and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeRogersZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This house is really amazing , we like rooms , it's very comfortable , your room is opening directly to the pool , everywhere is clean all the time , they get what u want in breakfast , the owner Mickey is very cute also , the best place in town we stayed here 5 nights

Stayed: December 2013
Thank dr_beryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

One of my more regular venues over the past 8 years. I would never stay anywhere else on the South Coast.
The people are friendly, and you always feel safe and welcome. Often leave my room open when going off diving and have never had a bad experience.
Mickeys breakfasts are legendary and rooms and bathrooms always spotless.
Vegard is an excellent dive master and the service from the dive staff is paralleled only by 5 star dive resorts in Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were booked to do dive training at Agulhas House. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Thanks to Mickey Lauren & Brett as well as the normal staff who catered to just about every need that we had or facilitated that our needs were met. The special Braai, the early breakfast and the support throughout the long days of learning as well as assistance with the correct cylinder fills with the diving. Thanks also to the dive leaders who made the dive experience unforgettable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHADC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been diving with Agulhas House for almost 2 years now. It is an awesome place to stay and enjoy the diving at Aliwal Shoal. Vegard is an amazing and exceptionally knowledgeable Dive Master. I feel incredibly safe with him leading the dives. The accommodation is very comfortable and the staff are really friendly. Mickey and Lauren are also very accommodating when booking with Agulhas House. I would recommend them as a destination when visiting Umkomaas.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Good accommodation and diving centre with very well prepared Dive Master Vegard. Be aware that credit cards are not accepted for payment hence you have to go there with a lot of cash in hand. And then the smart scam takes place. On the last day of our stay, cash was stolen from two out of three of our rooms, from wallets well hidden and locked away. To our great disappointment, no responsibility, action or support was given to us. Be aware: do not take much of value since the safes in the rooms are very small and are not big enough for not even a laptop or valuable photographic equipment. Good luck with tiger-shark spotting and don't go in November as it is not the right season!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett09, Owner at Agulhas House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We deeply regret that you feel we took no responsibility, action or support in terms of the alleged theft. From our perspective, we tell all guests to please use the safe for small valuables including cash. Accusing our staff of instigating a ‘smart scam’ because we have no credit card facilities is somewhat harsh. Your party were only informed on the last day that we had no card facility, when you tried to pay with one. Customers do not need to have large amounts of cash lying around – there are two banks with ATMs at the end of our drive which the vast majority of guests take advantage of when settling their bills. Once we became aware of your allegation, and sitting with you to write a formal statement, we contacted the local police as theft is not tolerated and is a dismissible offence for our staff. Please note you asked us not to open a case straight away but try and recover the money first when the staff member came back to work the next day. We informed you based on feedback from the police that they would need to raise a case so that they could investigate and if required prosecute until you opened a case with the police (we are not able to open a case on your behalf). A police case number would be needed for any insurance claim as well – so this was not an entirely unreasonable request from us. . You have not done so, after numerous requests, and have now stated that you will not do so. We are powerless to do anything further without you coming to the party and doing you part despite our best efforts. This is a serious allegation for us and not least our staff who potentially stand to lose their job and face having a criminal record after a jail sentence – we have to do right for all concerned. To say that we should pay for the alleged lose out of our own pockets without any proof or legal action on your part, is not tenable and frankly unreasonable. I would imagine most hotels would have a similar approach. Again we state our commitment to progress this, but we need their support in terms of following correct legal processes and helping us to report this to the appropriate authorities. We have at the time of writing contacted you on numerous occasions informing you of what we need. Even after repeatedly saying you will open a case that day you have failed to do so. I have to ask why?
BTW - Tiger Sharks at The Aliwal Shoal are seen all year round. FIVE were seen this Sunday on 2 separate dives. But like lions in the game parks not guaranteed. That you were able to dive with over 50 Blacktip Reef sharks over 2 dives within meters of you is an amazing dive in itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umkomaas hotels
0.6 mi away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#4 of 10 in Umkomaas
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Park Guest House
Ocean Park Guest House
#2 of 10 in Umkomaas
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
#1 of 11 in Umkomaas
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stroke One Inn
Stroke One Inn
#7 of 10 in Umkomaas
2 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vertical Blue
Vertical Blue
#4 of 11 in Umkomaas
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agulhas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agulhas House

Address: 30 Barrow Road, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umkomaas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Umkomaas
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set back from the road in tranquil grounds the renovated building offers 13 en-suite rooms and 2 en-suite family rooms, all finished to a high quality standard. All rooms have their own entrance from the main entrance hallway, 7 of which have private patio areas. All rooms have air-conditioning, fridges, TV (M-Net), and tea/coffee making. The property is security fenced, has an automated gate with secure parking and each room has an independent alarm system. FREE WIFI available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agulhas House Umkomaas, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing