We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To dive for”
Review of Agulhas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umkomaas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agulhas House
Ranked #1 of 10 Umkomaas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Thanks guys for making diving so easy. With all the effort you guys put in we as diver are left with what counts ....... just to dive. I would not stay at any other place on the Natal South Coast if I was to dive ....... in fact I would not stay any other place even if I was not diving :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARKVDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

we went to dive Aliwal Shoal and stayed at Agulhas House-- superb dive master and skippers who literally went the extra mile to make sure we dived at the best spots according to daily conditions -- in one day even taking us to dive south of the shoal at a seldom-dived reef called Cowrie where, as well as raggies we saw a tiger angelfish. Agulhas House itself has very comfortable rooms, each with its own bathroom, a pool and secure parking for vehicles. Plus free WiFI to keep in touch. When you get back from diving, they do a breakfast that is seriously delicious.
For skilled dive masters, brilliant skippers, delicious food and a very comfortable place to stay, Agulhas Lodge is the place to choose.

Room Tip: there are pool-facing rooms or rooms which look onto a fern garden at the back or rooms in the big h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seastung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We took a PADI open water dive course with Agulhas House and would recommend both the hotel and dive centre to everyone! The staff treated us like family and made us feel at home. The rooms, facilities, and grounds were always spotless.The staff were always friendly, accommodating, and helpful! Our PADI instructor (Vegard) and DMT (Alex) were both very knowledgeable, informative, and made us feel comfortable with the new sport. I was very nervous at the start and almost quit but with their reassuring assistance continued and was totally glad I finished the course! During the open water dives they were always looking out for us while showing us the amazing marine life Aliwal Shoal has to offer! We really appreciated the fresh baked muffins for those early mornings, the hot chocolate and sandwiches during the open water dives, and the hardy breakfasts after the dives!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CouandDrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Agulhas house and dive centre is a fantastic spot to stay while diving aliwal. The rooms are comfy and large - and beautiful wooden floors and windows make it feel more homely and less sterile than many dive places - while great staff and service ensure everything is clean and dry. The diving is very relaxed - no 50bar, 50min stuff - rather than rushing everything it was relaxed but efficient. The house a short drive to the dive launch site and every effort is made to get you and your gear to and from the boat as comfortably as possible. you are driven right onto the beach so no carrying dive gear around at all - mostly its put on the boat at the house. Light breakfast is provided before hand and the brunch after diving is just awesome. WOW. Tea and coffee in the rooms and available in the lounge as well as the ability to bring your own drinks and have braais around the lovely pools makes for an all round amazing place to spend a weekend or more. Organising rugby tickets for the weekend game was also a really nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Took a 4 day holiday to stay & dive Aliwal Shoals, and would definitely recommend this as the best accommodation and dive centre in the area (visited the other centres out of curiosity and took local diver feedback). Agulhas House is a great place to stay, rooms are top notch, house grounds are secluded, comfortable and very stylish. Works well as a dive centre, and as a great place to stay. You dont get a seaview, but this is easily outweighed by the quality of everything (incl breakfast), ambiance, proximity to village amenities and the welcome. Highly impressed by the experience of the rib drivers (very important here) and dive guides (I have done over 2000 dives). You will not have as good a dive or stay if you go elsewhere, Mikey is a great character and his team cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: Pool side with Terrace was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Staying at Agulhas House was lovely! The rooms are very comfortable, clean and fully equipped: coffee and tea, safe, hairdryer and aircon. The beds are comfortable which is very good after the "sporty" dives. I had a very nice bedroom by the pool, thank you Mickey!
Mickey and his whole team are always around to answer questions and pamper you! A nice tea and a freshly baked muffin just before the first dive, hmmm... After the dives, Mickey would prepare yummy continental or English breakfast. We really wanted to try the famous braai and had the opportunity to share it with the whole team and other guests: we felt at home! It was so good to stay around the pool area, chatting, reading or checking each others' pictures.
As far as diving is concerned, five stars are also well deserved! Everything is prepared by the diving team: gathering all your equipment, preparing the cylinders, taking you very safely to the diving spots, washing everything when we were back...
I really look forward to going back there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

A warm, freindly & totally professional establishment. No request too big or too demanding - every need from food, laundry, relaxing & especially diving was met with the utmost professionalism & with a big smile by all. Absolutely fabulous everything - thank you & hope to be there again soon!

Room Tip: Family rooms are available. Only a few have airconditioning otherwise there are ceiling fans in all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umkomaas hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
#1 of 11 in Umkomaas
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#4 of 10 in Umkomaas
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Park Guest House
Ocean Park Guest House
#2 of 10 in Umkomaas
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stroke One Inn
Stroke One Inn
#7 of 10 in Umkomaas
2 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vertical Blue
Vertical Blue
#4 of 11 in Umkomaas
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agulhas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agulhas House

Address: 30 Barrow Road, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umkomaas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Umkomaas
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set back from the road in tranquil grounds the renovated building offers 13 en-suite rooms and 2 en-suite family rooms, all finished to a high quality standard. All rooms have their own entrance from the main entrance hallway, 7 of which have private patio areas. All rooms have air-conditioning, fridges, TV (M-Net), and tea/coffee making. The property is security fenced, has an automated gate with secure parking and each room has an independent alarm system. FREE WIFI available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agulhas House Umkomaas, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing