We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

At the Robertsons Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umkomaas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At the Robertsons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Umkomaas B&B and Inns
Corbelin, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Thank you Sue for making our two days in Umkomaas that great !
We immediately felt extremely welcome at the Bed and Breakfast. The room was lovely (not to mention the view on the sea and nearby cliffs), the breakfast was excellent.
Sue provided us with excellent advices for local activities (including when we could not dive because of the weather) and we will remember her warm welcome above anything else.
We would love to come back (and of course stay at the Robertsons) and enjoy some more dives on the shoal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesCorbelinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Robertson's B&B on numerous occasions with the family when going down to the South Coast and find it highly recommendable!

Sue and Darryl are always willing to go the extra mile and the rooms are comfortable, and the scenery tranquil... excellent place to stay if you want to relax and get away and also enjoy some diving!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonovanWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

... the Robertsons deserve public praise and if that means the world finds out about their B&B, then be it.

The B&B is very well kept, the rooms are nice and comfortable and the hosts' care in making guests welcome is remarkable. Excellent place to relax and recharge.

If you're in Umkomaas for diving, even better since both Robertsons are divers and can share many stories and tips on diving in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iehuiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Robertsons for a few days last November and this was a very good experience. Sue is a very nice host, and makes the house feel like at home. The garden has a perfect view on the sea, as well as the terrasse, and the swimming pool is perfect for a little swim and a relaxing moment after diving. Definitely a very good address.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa_onholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I managed to secure a great price for a two day stay including breakfast for three of us including my 2 year old son At the Robertson's. When we arrived at the B&B and we where warmly greated by Sue and shown to our room. The property is beautifully kept and all facilities catered for. Sue is unbelievable accomodating and made our stay extremely pleasurable! Our little boy really loved the cat and dog that was around to entertain him too, LOL. A scrumptious breakfast is served outside on the pation in the morning with views of the coast. The patio and pool area is a perfect place to relax, read a book and just recharge. If you are in this area and you are tired of impersonal hotel's, this is a great place to sprend some time and I know that Sue and Darryll is sure to take care of you!!

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for the family room, Sue suggested it and It worked out great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed "At the Robertsons" for a week starting 11 - 18 August 2012. Getting there was 1 hour by the Airport taxi service.

Sue and Darryl were gracious, friendly hosts and never hesitated to go out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Service was always delivered with a smile.

The room we stayed in was extremely comfortable with a magnificent sea view. Our diving excursions were well planned by Sue and there was never an inconvenient or uncomfortable moment throughout our stay.

We most certainly will stay "at the Robertsons" again and recommend this B+B to anyone wishing to stay in Umkomaas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Sue was just an amazing host! Troughout the entire stay, it felt like I was at home. There were no awkward tip-toeing around the house and the room we stayed at was great! However I must truly say that it was Sue and Darryl's hospitality and kindness that really topped the place off.

We were in S Africa for the worldcup, and thought it be worthwhile to take a detour and dive at KwaZulu-Natal. Being avid divers themselves Sue and Darryl were full of information. They help us pick a local outfit that best fit our needs, made sure we woke up on time for the dive, prepared an appropriate amt of food for us in the AM, and even brought us there (for non-divers this is around 530AM) and picked us up after the dive. It was just amazing! We also met Sue's daughters and grandkids, who are absolutely adorable. It truly felt like home.

As for the venue itself, we stayed in the room upstairs, where we had our own private balcony that boast a lovely view of the ocean. Sunlight filled the room, and it felt serene. It was clean, fresh, and nicely heated. The bathroom was very roomy, and it had a separate bath tub.

The backyard is adorable and hosts a great view of the ocean as well. Though I would have loved to take a dip in the pool it was winter and too cold, but all in all the landscaping was tastefully decorated and definitely a great place to enjoy your breakfast/lunch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umkomaas
4.7 mi away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
#1 of 9 in Umkomaas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#4 of 8 in Umkomaas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Park Guest House
Ocean Park Guest House
#2 of 8 in Umkomaas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vertical Blue
Vertical Blue
#3 of 9 in Umkomaas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Robertsons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Robertsons Bed and Breakfast

Property: At the Robertsons Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Salisbury Road | Widenham, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umkomaas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Umkomaas
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
At The Robertsons Bed And Breakfast Umkomaas, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing