We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, good service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a promotion stay and it was by far the best value for the buck. Normally the renting fees are so high they are out of our budget (but then so is every other decent cottage in southern ontario), but them participating in these promotions every now and then allowed the rest of the public to discover and enjoy the beauty of these cottages. The blackout rates meant the water/weather was a little chilly at times, but the quiet and tranquility is unmatched. The setting is perfect, in the middle of nowhere. Lake was also quiet during our stay (June). Cabins were as advertised on the site, very nice and clean which is all to be asked of. Good kitchen with everything you need to cook your stuff and lots of BBQs outside. Bringing food from home is a must! No restaurants within 15min of this place, and the closest you find are diners that are ok. Also bring DVDs from home as there are no tv channels. If you forget them, you can rent some for a fee from their store.

The service was top notch. Thank you for being friendly with us at all times (even when Poland didnt win their games), all questions answered with a friendly attitude. They even showed us how to properly clean the fish we caught in the fish cleaning hut (great addition btw). If you run low on supplies, grab a line and catch your dinner.

Their dog Jack was also great company, playing with everyone and bringing a smile to all of his new friends.

Room Tip: Choosing a lakeside cottage is best, but the other ones are very close by. The beach is right there...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Springwood Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 183 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had a great time last long weekend at Springwood. Our cottage was right beside the water with a dock extending to the water where we spent quite a bit of time fishing. Watching sunset from the dock was gorgeous too. Cezar was also very accommodating in letting us rent a fishing boat with motor removed instead of a canoe. The rooms were pretty cozy with floor and table fans supplied.

Being a 2 person business though, the owners were hardly ever at the office, but at least they made an effort to drive/walk back or answer the phone when we called. The walkie-talkie they hang in front of the office doesn't seem to work, so a cell phone is highly recommended here!

My only complaints are: 1) Internet was down and I was told it had been down for a whole month. This forced us to spend more time outdoors which is great, but I would have appreciated if we get notified beforehand. We brought computers there for nothing. 2) There were no channels on the tiny TV. They were nice enough to put a copy of Spiderman DVD there, but the nights became a little dull with no TV channels and no internet.

Nevertheless, we are looking forward to book additional stays here in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IvanCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I went to Springwood cottages for a weekend getaway and we can't stop raving about the place. Our cottage was immaculate, the grounds were well kept, and the attention to detail was enormous. I am now calling back tomorrow to book a stay for the family for a whole week. Caesar and Jola were friendly, accomodating, and often hilarious. I also recommend one of Caesar's boat tours, this was a great way to get to know more about the area and the lake itself as well as catch a few fish. Great place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We came here on for a 3-day weekend and it was great!

We stayed in cottage 12 which is a very comfortable 2-bedroom cottage with a really nice wrap-around deck. Everything was really clean and when we arrived. Cezar and Jola were really friendly and very accommodating. We had a great time and I'd recommend Springwood Cottages to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Cezar and Jola are very friendly, inviting and go above and beyond for their guests.
The scenery is gorgeous....the cabins are immaculate and provide everything you will need (except towels BUT if you do forget some as we did, they are happy to provide you with some :-))
I would recommend taking advantage of the wonderful extras that are also available as we went on the sunset tour (boat) and fishing trip....It was out of this world!!!!!!!....And Cezar is a knowledgeable, patient and entertaining guide!!!!!! :-D
It is apparent the MOMENT you drive onto the property, that no matter your reason for being there....You instantly relax and you are in for a good time!
THANK YOU SO MUCH CEZAR AND JOLA
We will be seeing you again!

Room Tip: No need to worry....EACH and EVERY cottage is beautifully done!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinemelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a very relaxing weekend at Springwood. Even as we arrived we noticed the attention to detail with the line of cedars that spanned along the roadway to the cottages. Our cottage was immaculate and we thoroughly enjoyed our private hot tub on our deck. It was as if we were miles away yet we only drove an hour from home. Although we came in mid March which is such an ugly time of year, the property was beautiful and I can only imagine how it shows in summer. Our hosts, Cezar and Jola, were wonderful and they truly have what it takes to make guests welcome and at home with beautiful surroundings, both inside and out. We had a little mishap during our departure, (totally self inflicted..) and Cezar definitely came to our rescue with his first aid skills! I will be telling friends about Springwood Cottages and also am thinking about a "girlie weekend".

Marion from Kingston

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36Marion36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Springwood cottages is one of those rare gems, not only due to the great accommodations, but the attention to detail from the resort owners, Jola and Cezar. The cottages were sparkling clean and included all the ammenties needed, including the big screen to watch the game at night. Our trip was based on an ice fishing weekend, and the fishing was awesome, right down to the fish fry on the ice prepared by Cezar, the boys are still talking about the fish fry.

We truly felt that we were in for something special from the moment we arrived, there was help from the staff to carry in our supplies to the cottage, to a full tour of the cottage, right down to the hot tub on the deck, ( this was a great way to relax after spending all day on this ice). The fishing expertise of Cezar (The Fish Whisperer) is a passion with him, and it shows with the catches we had. I can truly say that we will definately make this our annual winter trip location, as well as getting back to Springwood in the summer for a vacation as well, to spend time with our new friends, Yola and Cezar, Thank you again for such an amazing experience.

Ian from Ottawa

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwood Cottages

Address: 1018 Blue Heron Ridge Road | PO Box #59, Arden, Ontario K0H 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Arden
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Arden
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springwood Cottages, Is a four season cottage resort located in the picturesque Land O' Lakes region in southern Ontario on the southern most tip of the Canadian Shield. This affordable cottage resort is nestled beneath towering pines and situated along the shimmering shore of big, beautiful Kennebec Lake. This spectacular lake offers 19 miles of excellent fishing and boating as well as amazing views of rock formations and stunning sunsets. Springwood Cottages Resort offers: * two, three, four and five bedroom fully equipped cottages * private sandy beach * fishing, speed and pontoon boat rental * ATV or fishing guided tour * water skiing or tubing * sunset or speed boat tour ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springwood Cottages Arden, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing