We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as ever”

Heirloom Cafe Bistro
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Almonte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“As great as ever”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We've been several times over the years, and if anything, this restaurant is better than ever. And the ambiance - in an old stone woolen mill backing onto the falls that run through picturesque Almonte - is as delightful as ever.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    40
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Short Rib Poutine ----- Amazing !!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This our favourite place to eat in Almonte. Being locals we have tried all of the restaurants in the area and the Heirloom serves up the best food, ambience and service. My new favourite on the menu is the poutine. Rather than French Fries, the chef uses gnocchi. He fries it to gives it a crispy outside and then covers it with the most amazing sauce with short ribs and cheese curds. It is to die for. You will not be unhappy with any meal here. The bison burger is another favourite and the homemade soup is always excellent. The desserts are also all made in house and delicious. It can get busy, so a reservation may be a good idea.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
431 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Exceptional lunch in an old mill building”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The site is a mill building beside the Mississippi River (of the North). The river was in full spring flood and it was spectacular; even later in the summer it's a great view. The restaurant doubles as a small art gallery.

We had never been there before, and we were very pleased with the whole experience. We had a nice roast beef sandwich and a daily special of pizza on focaccia. That description really understates how good the food is: nice sauces, cheeses, garnishes, etc. all were in play. Other diners had ordered food that looked fabulous, too. Prices were very reasonable, and the service was super.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch once again is stunning.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Its not often that you can find a decent sit down lunch meal under 18 bucks, its rare that it is a brilliant culinary experience. After some morning appointments in town, my wife and I were able to sneak a weekday lunch date at the Heirloom Cafe Bistro in Almonte. We both had great but very different dishes.
Jennifer had the bison burger. They always seem to get the meat right on this burger. Its always cooked properly but not overcooked. The garnishes change every few months, and this month there was a nice chutney to accompany the chevre cheese. Very good and not greasy at all.
I had the Heirlooms twist on a Quebec classic. I had the Gnocchi & braised beef rib poutine with red wine reduced sauce. I know that sounds strange, but the combination of flavours with the braised beef rib was so unexpected but tasty. I guess it was called a Poutine to sell it, but in reality it was a pasta dish. But I am splitting hairs. What it really was is good. (and enough left over to take home)
I did not have the fish tacos today, but they are a perennial favourite with us. Check them out if you like that sort of thing.

Overall, for a quality, adventurous lunch that is top notch bang for the buck, you have to try this place.
Also, the deserts are great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Enjoying a meal in a heritage building can be a genuine pleasure, and the Heirloom does have charm and atmosphere, with an upper level devoted to gallery art.
The service tends to be friendly and casual, perhaps too casual at the times when you you do want pay some attention to your party. But the food offerings are imaginative and beautifully prepared.
At my most recent visit, I sampled the freshwater Perch tacos as a starter and they were scrumptious. As for the short-rib main course, it was excellent. A generous slow-cooked portion of the beef was removed from the ribs before serving — and it proved delicious and substantial. It was accompanied by a root-vegetable bread pudding which proved to be a worthwhile discovery. There was also an enticing selection of desserts.
The Heirloom can be pricey, which is further reason to expect more professional service.
Lunch is also worthwhile, with an interesting selection of sandwiches. Some may also consider the noon-hour menu to be better value over-all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heirloom Cafe Bistro also viewed

Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 

Been to Heirloom Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing