We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch in a lovely little town”

Mill Street Crepe Company
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Almonte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: relatively new restaurant, opebed a few months back, see town listing at http://www.mississippimills.ca/tourism/articleListing.cfm?articleListingId=298
Ottawa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in a lovely little town”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband & I went to Almonte to escape the city heat & had a great lunch. I had the soup & salad, both were fresh & tasty & original; hubby had the smoked salmon which he also enjoyed, ingredients were fresh & prepared very nicely. We both ordered crepes for dessert...& maybe we shd have shared one ; ). portions were generous & the service prompt & helpful, all in all a very good lunch, we were pleased!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepper4prez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tiny space, Big flavour”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had a soup and salad combo, as this was the closest to vegan option available. Both were good. The other guests in my party enjoyed their crepes. It's a nice drive to Almonte from Ottawa and the view from the Mill Street Crepe Company is very scenic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“July 2012 Mill St Crepes”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

On a hot July 2012 day we decided to try the Crepes in Almonte for lunch and had a so so experience. First let me say that the service was very good. We were greeted promptly and seated quickly. The server gave us menus and came back to get our orders and we received our food in a very reasonable amount of time. The small restaurant was clean and tidy. All that was very good.

We ordered the Ham and Gruyere cheese crepe which was very tasty and also the Herbed Chicken Crepe which was a huge miss. The chicken used for the chicken crepe was very obviously a reheat and at least a couple of days old. The chicken was very hard, dry and chewy and not tasty at all. There was also too much liquid butter poured over the top of the crepe which made it very greasy and unapetizing. At $15.95 for a small side salad and a crepe, one should expect freshly cooked chicken not a reheat.

The side salad we ordered was an organic greens salad with a maple vinagrette and that was also very tasty and light.

I personally wouldn't go again, but it could be that the remainder of the crepes use fresh ingredients but the herbed chicken (which is also the most expensive crepe) does not.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“They do not want to work!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

My family and i decided to go yo Almonte have a crepe. As soon as we arrived, we noticed few tables available but the waitress asked us to come back 15 mns later to get the table ready.
Once we were ready to order, we asked a chocolate crepe for my daughter with nothing else. Believe it or not, the Chef refused to make it cause it wasn't on the menu.... We told the waitress how ludicrous the situation was because they had a crepe with chocolate and bananas, all he had to do was to take off the bananas, but he didn't want to hear anyrhing!!! Besides, the staff was not friendly and the cost for a crepe is very expensive. Good luck!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Frank2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

When we arrived, it took a long time to receive a "hello" from anyone! And they weren't even busy whatsoever (not a great sign). Anyway, we were finally seated and were excited for our crepes. Well, the server got our orders mixed up and forgot that 2 of us were having gluten-free crepes. Also, 2 of our crepes were over cooked and drastically under-seasoned. The salads had great flavour, yet the portions of the salad were small. The soup was good, but not very hot. For our dessert crepes, one was soggy and just not what we were expecting. All in all, not a positive experience. The server was friendly enough, but unfocused and under-trained and we could hear the staff having personal conversations, which was off-putting.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Street Crepe Company also viewed

Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 

Been to Mill Street Crepe Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing