We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back for Christmas”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of JR's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

JR's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Tel 613 256 2031
ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back for Christmas”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Posted about the great Thanksgiving buffet in October.We went back this past Sunday,for our family Christmas get - together,and the Christmas buffet was every bit as good as the Thanksgiving one.Attentive service,a great buffet selection, a really nice vibe,and well- priced.The new owners still seem to be doing their best to counter the bad publicity from the short- lived previous ownership,and folks should continue to give them a chance.All in all, a great time .
We do agree that the restaurant was too cool,however- might help if the gas fireplace in the room we were in could be fixed.
But not a big deal-We will go back!

Helpful?
Thank landpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stopped in on Saturday afternoon on our way through Almonte and was very glad we did. Food was fantastic and very plentiful. Service was quick and attentive. I wish we had JR's in London.
Keep it up. We will definetly be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Does not meet expectations”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Knowing this place is a local favourite, I thought I'd give it a try. Having heard that it was known for great food at a great price, I was surprised to see how little $20 will get me. Nearly everything seems to be overpriced for a restaurant which offers little in the way of ambiance.

The beef dip was okay, but the au jus was so salty I should have sent it back. The restaurant temperature was too cool and the wait staff was kind but seemingly too busy to tend to our needs very well. We waited a long time for dessert and my dining partner never got the drink he ordered with dessert.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank iLOVEspringROLLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving Buffet”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Our family hasn't been to JR's for quite a while. Despite the recent reviews, we decided to return on Thanksgiving Sunday. We were pleasantly surprised! The buffet was fine, the place was clean, the waitress was attentive and the turkey and trimmings were absolutely delicious. We are planning to have our Christmas dinner at JR's.

Helpful?
Thank landpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Change of management = changed review”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Since my 2011 review, I have changed my view. The restaurant now seems to be operated by friendly but inexperienced people. The food was not very good, no matter what we tried, and we had to wait a long time for it. The remark about oily french fries was right. It is too bad that this place went downhill so abruptly and thoroughly. Maybe with time and an experienced chef, things will improve.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmaFudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JR's Family Restaurant also viewed

Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing